Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 06, 2001 10:14 AM UIN: 16262997

For rookie Adam Ferri winning the All Canadian Championships a
Gasport Speedway must have felt like winning the Survivor Series. Ferri
claimed the 50 lap Sportsman marathon as part of the features only
events at gasport Sunday night. " My car ran out of fuel just as I
reached victory lane." " It sputtered on the final lap" Ferri survived
11 yellows and an opening red flag that would see Randy Chrysler barrel
rolling twice while splitting between Brad Rouse and Rob Pietz. With a
complete restart ordered Chrysler was allowed to go to a backup car that
was driven by teamate Keith Reynolds. Chrysler started tail on the
restart and with a sereis of yellows by lap 4 Chrysler cracked the 4th
spot. Adam Ferri took the lead from the start and did a masterful job of
holding of Rob Ledingham who drove from lap 7 thru the remainder with a
broken shock to pick up a fine runnerup position. Running next inline at
the finish was Chrysler, Jeff Leggett, and Jay Mallory. No heats were
run as Brad Rouse set fast time of 18:84.
The 30 lap Pro Stock event was led to the green by Chris Ellis
and Roger Chrysler with Chrysler taking the lead bt the first of 3
yellows as Ellis came to a halt in turn 3. Chrysler pitted and would be
along evening for him. Kenny Sargent was the new leader and did a nice
job of holding off the "orange attack" of Danny Gilbert and Danny Mayer.
Lap 11 Mayer took over the 2nd spot and Dan Schulz was third. Seasoned
vet Steve Devos was lighting fast all thru the 30 lap main and gave
Sargent fits. At the end Sargent was the winner holding off Devos,
Mayer, Schulz and Gilbert. Sargent set the fast time of 20:09.
Aaron Vasas and visitor John Van Tyle led the 30 lap Street
Stocks to the green with Vasas taking the lead and showing he was the
man to beat Vasas did a great job of holding off Mark Loveland who has
dominated this season. Vasas and Loveland traded the lead in a geat side
by side race but proved way to strong in picking up his first ever
Gasport victory. yellows slowed the pace. Loveland was the runerup
followed by Bernard Nieberg, Nick Micallef and The "Candyman" Mike
Dooley. Fast time was set by Dave Vogt with 20:87 and Greg Ayres and
Bernard Nieberg won the consi events.
A field of 24 Mini Stocks took the green with Loren Collings and
Jamie Gilbert leading the 20 lap main event. Collings took the lead from
the start and doing a great job of holding back the charges of Gilbert,
Kelly Hallett, Mike Baxter. Collings was challenged several times but
the race was mainly for 2nd between Mark and Gilbert and Hallett. At the
checkered flag Collings picked up his first win ever and thanked his son
Blair as they have traded the driving duties all season. Next in line
were Mark, Hallett, Gilbert and Baxter. Gilbert set fast time of 21:43.
Brian Lawrie and Mike "Pinball" Giberson won the consi events.
RACE NOTES: 32 Mini Stocks, 34 Street Stocks, 14 Pro Stocks and 22
Sportsman made up the fields for the day long classic that began with
time trials Sunday Morning. Sunday was sweltering hot and let to super
soakers being the afternoon entertainment in the pit area to remain
comfortable. All top 3 drivers in all classes received Gold, Silver and
Bronze Medals with feature winners receiving a bottle of Bubbly for
their victories. All fast qualifiers picked up a bonus payoff. Mini
Stocks, Street Stocks, Pro Stocks fast times picked up $50. The
Sportsman fast time was worth $100. The top 5 fast times in each class
redrew on the front stretch and autographed frisbees or the crowd.
Championship points in all classes were awarded. Richard Longfellow of
Longfellow Electric rewarded Sportsman winner Adam Ferri with a $500
bonus to his payoff. Next up at Gasport on August 12th will be Caninet
Communications Night and it will be a regular program plus a full size
car Demo derby and Double points for all classes. Pit gates open at 4:30
with grandstands at 5:00 and racing at 6:30. For more info call Gasport
at (905)834-4797 or visit te internet at:
SPORTSMAN FINISH: ADAM FERRI, Rob Ledingham, Randy Chrysler, Jeff
Leggett, Jay Mallory, Darrell Ebersole, Greg Wilson, Brian Elliottson,
Paul Gaboury, Kevin Sharpe, Guy Bougie, Dave Flannigan, Rob Pietz, Greg
Rauscher, Tim Zack, Dwayne Winfield, Jason Pietz, Kenny Winfield, Keith
Reynolds, Dennis Giancola, Brian Page and Brad Rouse.

Back to the Archives