Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 06, 2001 12:37 AM UIN: 16262997

Darren Miller took home his second NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model trophy of the season at the Dubuque Speedway on Sunday August 5th, putting the final touch on a fast night of racing that concluded at 8:40 pm when only 4 total caution flags flew during the five feature events.

Miller took the point from his outside front row starting postion, but was forced to defend his ranking at the leader almost every lap, first dueling with Luke Merfeld and later in the race with points leader Gary Webb. Merfeld put his car high and low throughout the first seven laps in search of the lead, pulling alongside several times but unable to complete the pass before the yellow flag slowed the action. That caution allowed Webb to pull even with Merfeld on the restart, after battling up from the eleventh starting spot into a distant third when the racing was paused. Webb took advantage of his good fortune, by disposing of Merfeld on the restart and working his way underneath Miller by the tenth lap. Undaunted, Miller battled back staying alongside Webb until the event's only other caution on lap twelve. Fiercely protecting the bottom of the racetrack on the restart, Webb was able to hold off Miller only until lap fifteen when he left just enough room on the bottom of the track for Miller to make the pass. Webb instantly started searching for a better line around the high banked clay track, staying with Miller by using the cushion until late in the race, when lapped traffic became a factor. Miller found the easier line through the traffic and cruised to the 8 car length lead ahead of Webb, Merfeld, Denny Eckrich and Darren Mish

Jason Schueller inherited his fourth Modified feature win of the season when early leader Scott Nesteby retired with engine problems at the midpoint of the 20 lap, caution-free race. Schueller worked his way up from eleventh on the start into the second spot by lap three, but was unable to catch Nesteby until misfortune struck. Ron Barker wound up second ahead of points leader Ryan Dolan, Scott Olson and Cory Hallahan. Dan Shelliam chased down early leader Dan Welp to take home his sixth Pro Stock victory, denying Rookie Welp his first win after leading thirteen of the fifteen scheduled laps. A lap eight caution aided Shelliam's efforts by erasing Welp's huge lead, facilitating his pass for the lead with less than two laps to go. Jim Brokus also got past Welp on the last lap to finish second, with Jeff Kennedy and Jeff Tharp rounding out the top five. Mark Massey scored his first Hobby Stock trophy of the year by leading all ten laps with heavy pressure from Jeff Reinert. Unable to pass for the win, Rienert settled for second place ahead of Larry Benn, Scott Riechers and points leader Jerry Merkes. Lance Mish scored his second straight Fun Car feature win ahead of Ray Fawcett and Terry Turpin.

Racing action continues at the Dubuque Speedway with only four events left in the 2001 season. This Sunday, August 12th will be Kids Back to School Night at the races with a nickel scamble and a bicycle to be given away to the youngsters, as well as back to school supplies. Hot Laps are scheduled for 6 pm with racing to follow. Raceday information and instant results can be found on your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory categories #3741 and 3740. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at

1. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
2. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
3. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
4. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
5. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
6. 12n Terry Neal Ely
7. 95 Ed Sanger Postville
8. b56 Brian Webb Davenport
9. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
10. 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
11. 6 Mark Curwen Hazel Green WI
12. 27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI
13. 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
14. 37 Rollie Frink Davenport
15. b27 Bob Silaggi Freeport IL
16. 15 Cam Granger West Union
17. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
18. 17 Marty Scheckel Bellevue
19. 78x Scott Schurbon Maquoketa
20. 1b Kevin Miller Freeport IL
21. 51 Mel Abels Freeport IL
22. 11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
23. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche

1. 3 Jason Schueller Dubuque
2. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque
3. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
4. 63 Scott Olson Preston
5. 00 Cory Hallahan Dubuque
6. 14 Tim Nesteby Dubuque
7. 15 Sean Rupp Dubuque
8. 33w Steve Wetter Platteville WI
9. 27 Mark Schulte Delhi
10. 11 Mike Burbridge Delhi
11. 1d Mel Saffran Dubuque
12. 4 Jerry Miles Dubuque
13. 5d Bob Dominacki Bettendorf
14. 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
15. 20 Cory Burmeister Glen Haven WI

10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI

1. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
2. 35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
3. 21 Dan Welp East Dubuque IL
4. 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
5. 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
6. 75 Duane Wagner Dickeyville WI
7. 71 Bruce VanGordon Dubuque
8. 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
9. 22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
10. 4 Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL
11. 71s Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
12. 13 Dennis Pergande Dubuque
13. 18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
14. 20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
15. 78 Bobby Goerdt Dubuque
16. 88 Duane Roth Dubuque

1. 30 Mark Massey Farley
2. 97 Jeff Reinert Farley
3. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
4. 61 Scott Reichers Belmont WI
5. 8k Terry Merkes Farley
6. 98 Duane Ahmann Epworth
7. 81 KC Ansel Dubuque
8. 59 Mike Hughes Galena IL
9. 52 Pat Coleman Dubuque
10. 20x Jarvis Eastlick Platteville WI
11. 28 Ed McIntyre Delhi

33 Jim Turpin Shullsberg WI
77 Jon Gulick

1. 70 Lance Mish Cassville WI
2. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
3. 98 Terry Turpin Platteville WI
4. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
5. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque
6. 6 Todd Moore Dubuque
7. 11p Tom Pluemer
8. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque
9. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
10. 00 Brian Hubbard
11. 20 Mike Wild Dubuque
12. 11 Ann Brown Dubuque

Back to the Archives