Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 05, 2001 02:26 PM UIN: 16262997

After being shut out for three weeks, points leader Jeff Aikey returned to victory lane, notching his seventh NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature win of the season.

Matt Furman took the lead following a lap two restart that saw leaders Ace Ihm and Brandon Hennick tangle in the first corner, allowing Furman to advance from fifth on the opening lap. Furman held on through several early cautions that allowed Aikey to march through the field. Furman found himself cutting through lapped traffic when Aikey and Terry Neal closed in around lap eight. Successfully fending off Neal for one lap, Furman was unable to turn back Aikey as he dove his car three wide into the third corner, slicing around traffic to take the lead. Neal used the same traffic to pick his way around Furman one lap later. Although Neal was able to stay close to Aikey during the last fifteen laps, not even a late race caution could help him take a shot at the lead. Denny Eckrich clawed his way into third after starting seventeenth, finishing ahead of Luke Merfeld in fourth while Furman held on to the fifth spot.

Russ Olson topped the Modifiedís when a late race caution erased Rich Smithís huge lead. Smith took advantage of his pole position to open up the large margin, staying well ahead while Scott Nesteby, Larry Herring and Olson duked it out for the runner up spot. The eventís only caution on lap sixteen erased Smithís lead and allowed Olson to sweep underneath to his fourth win of the season. Herring also found a way past Smith to take home the second spot, with Nesteby and points leader Ryan Dolan rounding out the top five. Ty Kleiner dominated Pro Stock action for his second win of the season, holding off John Maher throughout several restarts. Jim Brokus finished a distant third after a late race battle with Steve Hunter while Brian Culbertson rounded out the top five. TJ Leslein emerged in front after a frantic scramble during the opening lap of the Hobby Stock main event, and went on to lead every lap enroute to his fifth win of the season. Mark Massey, Duane Ahmann, Kory Haverly and Larry Benn rounded out the top five. Chad Hallahan emerged as the winner after an exciting Fun Car feature, with the top four cars diving into the final corner of the race in four abreast formation. Tood Moore led every lap up until that point, with Hallahan passing three cars at once on the top of the racetrack to take the win ahead of Russ Yonkovic, Brian Strang, Moore and Chris Hinrichs.

Double Late Model Features are on tap for Race Fans this Friday, August 10th as the 2001 season winds down. Hot laps are scheduled for 7 pm with racing to follow. For more information contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at For raceday updates and quick results afterwards, call your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory, category 3740 and 3741

Late Models
77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls
12n Terry Neal Ely
50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
51 Matt Furman Iowa City
56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
3 Josh McGowan Vinton
77j Steve Johnson Camanche
8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
33 Dan Galant Clinton
27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI
44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
15 Cam Granger West Union
61r John Rogers Freeport IL
98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
78x Scott Schurbon Maquoketa
28c Brad Coin Davenport
21x Michael Recker Waterloo
4 Jim Aschenbrenner Waterloo
78 Rick Wendling Hazelton
11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
4r Rick Dralle Waterloo
58 Dave Eckrich Coralville
79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
77x Ryan Dolan Lisbon
70 Brandon Hennick Central City
6 Mark Curwen Hazel Green WI

02 Robert Hillyer Wellman

b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
d1 Rich Smith Davenport
74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
37b Ron Barker Dubuque
5d Bob Dominacki Bettendorf
1 Dan Chapman Clarence
33 Steve Wetter Platteville WI
d55 Scott Lemke Davis Junction IL
27 Mark Schulte Delhi
11 Mike Burbridge Delhi
24 Randy Less Hopkinton
54 Doug Picray Monticello
10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
57 Dennis Betzer Central City

20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
69 John Maher West Branch
35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
s1 Steve Hunter Hopkinton
18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
71 Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
25x Chad Simpson Marion
4 Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL
22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
32 Chris Simpson Marion
23 Jim Amos Peosta
5 Larry McCall Mechcanicsville
03 Don Hughes Monticello

Bo Richard Platteville
5 Mike Fryer Freeport IL

38 TJ Leslein Dubuque
30 Mark Massey Farley
98 Duane Ahmann Epworth
44 Kory Haverly Anamosa
13 Larry Benn Dyersville
8k Jerry Merkes Farley
97 Jeff Rienert Farley
28 Ed McIntyre Delhi
23 Dennis Etten
83 Rob Petsche Asbury
72 Doug Yates Monticello
22 Cory Bauer Manchester
1 Tom Boyes Dubuque
11a Drew Arensdorf Dubuque
81 KC Ansel Dubuque

7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
38 Russ Yonkovic Dubuque
26 Brian Strang Dubuque
6 Todd Moore Dubuque
6c Chris Hinrichs Monticello
44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
b4jr Brian Diercks Anamosa
66 Brad Strang Dubuque
89 Kelly Welter Farley

Back to the Archives