Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 05, 2001 12:16 PM UIN: 16262997

Todd Davis topped the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature event at the West Liberty Raceway on Saturday August 4th, his second trip in three events to victory lane.

Jeff Aikey took the early lead from the front row, opening up a comfortable margin over Brian Harris and Davis before the events first caution slowed action on lap eight. Harris battled with Davis on the restart, but eventually broke free on lap eleven and closed in on Aikey for the lead. Lap twelve through fifteen saw Aikey put his car high on the cushion with Harris flanking on the bottom of the track as the two orbited the flat half mile in a virtual dead heat. Only the yellow flag was able to separate the leaders, with Harris a nose ahead when caution slowed the action on the fifteenth circuit. The race turned into a four horse shootout on the restart when points leader Denny Eckrich joined the fun near the leaders, putting his car underneath Davis and Aikey's on the restart, making a three wide battle into the third corner as Harris stayed one car length ahead of the scramble. The top proved to be the place to be as Davis rocketed around Aikey and Eckrich as the cars completed the sixteenth lap and Harris for the lead one lap later. Harris stayed committed to the bottom of the racetrack as Davis sped away, allowing both Aikey and Eckrich to get past during the closing laps but holding on to fourth at the checkers ahead of Skip Frey.

Bret Frieden also picked up his second win of the season, hunting down early leader Terry Walker and taking the lead at the midpoint of the twenty lap Miller Time Modified feature event. Walker jumped into the lead by beating fellow front row starter Richard Steadman into the first turn, but was immediately forced to defend the spot as Frieden followed suit. After spending the first five laps glued to Walkers rear bumper, Frieden backed off and studied Walkers line carefully for two laps. Diamonding off the corners caught Frieden back up to Walker and allowed him to make the pass on lap ten. Frieden pulled away from the pack for the remainder of the event, not allowing a lap fifteen caution to bother him as he cruised to the easy win. Larry Herring benefited from the late race yellow to slip past Walker for second with Russ Olson and Scott Megonigle rounding out the top five.

Andy Eckrich notched his third victory of his rookie season; extending his Pro Stock points lead. Gary Beuter took the early lead of the fifteen-lap affair, before Jason Gingrich and Eckrich shot past on the sixth lap. Taking two complete laps to decide the leader amongst themselves, Eckrich eventually slipped underneath Gingrich and into the point just prior to a lap nine caution. Challenging only briefly on the restart, Gingrich settled into second place ahead of Darren Plett, Dale Franklin and Tom Struve at the checkers.
Stan O'Brien was the third driver to earn his second trip to victory lane, running down early leader Robert Barnes and surviving a scramble to the checkers that saw five cars fighting for the lead on the last lap. Barnes made the most of his front row start by staying ahead of a big lap two pileup, leading the event until O'Brien took the lead as the pair raced under the white flag. Behind them, Jason Erwin, Todd Hansen and Jarrod Collins were jockeying for a shot at the lead. O'Brien led the pack into the third corner, with Hansen diving low from fifth place to make it three wide, getting up to the leader before running out of steam and falling a half a car length behind. Collins held his ground in the middle of the track to take home the third spot while Erwin crossed under the checkers fourth, ahead of Barnes.

Point's battles are heating up as the season is winding down with only four nights left of NASCAR Weekly Racing series action in 2001. Hot laps are scheduled for 6:30 each race nite with racing to follow. For more information, please contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or on the internet at For raceday updates and instant results upon completion please call your local McLeod USA InTouch directory category #3740 or #3741.

Late Models
1. 3t Todd Davis Iowa City
2. 77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls
3. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
4. 21h Brian Harris Davenport
5. 3x Skip Frey Ely
6. 45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch
7. 77 Kurt Kile West Liberty
8. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
9. 2 Monte Ohrt West Branch
10. 18z Rusty Zook Riverside
11. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville
12. 88 Kevin Kile West Liberty
13. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City
14. 32 Tom Cannon Iowa City
15. 32c Chad Holliday Wilton
16. 13k Denny Petersen Tipton
17. 66 Fred Remely Blue Grass
18. 26b Wayne Brau Annawan IL
19. 8m Mark Ward Muscatine
20. 28 Jeff Bair Solon
21. 4 Bobby Sexton West Branch
22. 23d Dana Wells Moscow
23. ez33 Nick Marolf Moscow
24. 12 Ray Guss Jr Milan IL
25. 57 Tom Christensen West Liberty
26. 33 Kurt Stewart Ainsworth
27. 74 Ron Boyse Kalona
28. 31 Brian Morgan Muscatine
29. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche

7 Andy Nezworski Davenport
37 Rollie Frink Davenport
30 Dan Brockert Muscatine
63 Rob Kirchner Donnellson
m32 Marty Beckler Hills
17 Clayton Jensen Iowa City

1. 64 Bret Frieden Cedar Rapids
2. 96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
3. 12 Terry Walker Riverside
4. b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
5. m2 Scott Megonigle Cedar Rapids
6. 45 Steve Kohli Iowa City
7. 71z Ramon Partida West Liberty
8. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
9. 19 Terry Lawson New Liberty
10. 9 Richard Steadman Hiawatha
11. 55 Scott Stecher Muscatine
12. 42 John Brumely Muscatine
13. 17 Steve Stewart Washington
14. 25 Dustin Lovell Rochester
15. 007 Brian Sexton Lone Tree
16. 22 Darrall Brick West Branch
17. 60 Robbie Verbeck Annawan IL
18. 56 Bob Fier Davenport
19. 18 Matt Ruess West Liberty

1 Dan Chapman Clarence
7 Mike Thomas West Branch

1. 56 Andy Eckrich Cosgrove
2. 36 Jason Gingrich West Liberty
3. 77 Darrin Plett Davenport
4. 7 Dale Franklin Marion
5. 44 Tom Struve Palo
6. 32 Chris Simpson Marion
7. 69 John Maher West Branch
8. 29 Bruce Miller West Liberty
9. 11 Troy Philpot Muscatine
10. 60 Matt Brockert Muscatine
11. 17 Gary Beuter Tipton
12. 24 Monte Hayden Wilton
13. 25 Chad Simpson Marion
14. 00 Jerome Gray Muscatine
15. 34 Ken Hansen Vinton
16. 30 Matt Gilchrist Grandview
17. 42 Larry Pearson North Liberty
18. 21 Brian VanDusen Atalissa
19. 2r Rusty Daufeldt Blue Grass
20. 9z Dan Werner Muscatine

62 Norman Bean Muscatine

1. 0 Stan O'Brien Muscatine
2. 21 Todd Hansen Muscatine
3. 15 Jarrod Collins West Liberty
4. 66 Jason Erwin Muscatine
5. 97 Robert Barnes Letts
6. d2 Matt Fulton Blue Grass
7. 92 Tim Zeman Fruitland
8. 1 Orlen Stark West Liberty
9. 94 Jason Lange Muscatine
10. 0b Matt Bodman Muscatine
11. 57j Jeremy Thompson Ainsworth
12. 11 Chris Maurer West Liberty
13. 20 Dan Albright Lisbon
14. 72 Doug Yates Monticello
15. 9 Dave Elliot Muscatine
16. 99 CJ Ormsby West Liberty
17. 2b Bill Butteris Lisbon
00 Michael Dominuguez West Liberty

Back to the Archives