Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River (TN) Speedway, race results from August 4, 2001
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 05, 2001 12:06 PM UIN: 16262997
Duck River (TN) Speedway, race results from August 4, 2001

Florence, Alabama's Bill Robertson Jr. turned in a quick time of
13.007 in time trials then picked up his first victory of 2001 at Duck
River Speedway in the main event by beating Shannon Davis and last weeks
winner Jimmy Nowlin. First time competitors Butch Spears and Mike Hines
were fourth and fifth.
Late Models
1 Bill Robertson Jr.
2 Shannon Davis
3 Jimmy Nowlin
4 Butch Spears
5 Mike Hines
6 David Sells
7 Bo Judge
8 John David Todd
9 David Gentry
Lewisburg, Tennessee's David Gentry had problems again in the Late
Model division but was flawless in Open Wheel competition picking up his
10th main event win of the season in that class. Estill Spring's Shannon
Davis settled for a runner-up finish while Mr. Pepsi Cola, Sam Range had a
strong effort to nab the third spot in front of Tommy Davis and "Dash"
winner Mark Barnes.
Open Wheel
1 David Gentry
2 Shannon Davis
3 Sam Range
4 Tommy Davis
5 Mark Barnes
6 Bob Jarrett
7 Shawn Mitchell
8 Dwayne Waid
9 Ken Martin
10 Bryan Reed
After several second place finishes, Fayetteville, Tennessee's Rick
Curren finally garnered a much deserved victory in the new two barrel Late
Model division. Two time winner Tim Smith was the runner-up with Jason
Gregg taking the third spot. Eight time feature winner David Seibers won
the heat race.
2-Barrell Late Model
1 Rick Curren
2 Tim Smith
3 Jason Gregg
4 Billy Barnett
5 Charlie Cates
6 Josh Lunsford
7 David Seibers
Mopar driving, crowd favorite, Rudder Harper was victorious in
another exciting Super Stock feature event. Harper edged out last week's
winner Jeff McPeak (Two runner-up finishes and a win in the last three
weeks) and Donald Davis. Tash and Clyde Bruce were fourth and fifth in
their Mopars to give Chrysler Corporation three of the Top 5 spots. Gus
Bruce, Butch Pruitt and Harper were all heat winners.
Super Stock
1 Rudder Harper
2 Jeff McPeak
3 Donald Davis
4 Tash Bruce
5 Clyde Bruce
6 Chad Williams
7 Larry Landers
8 Troy Bonesteel
9 Farris Lovett
10 Clint Alexander
Fairview, Tennessee's Gwinn Jones beat heat race winner Jimmy Dale
to take his second Outlaw Pony win of the year with Points leader Steve
Kennedy and ten time feature winner Johnny Crowell in third and fourth. Bo
Owens was fifth.
Outlaw Pony
1 Gwinn Jones
2 Jimmy Dale
3 Steve Kennedy
4 Johnny Crowell
5 Bo Owens
6 Clay Lawrence
7 Dion Gordon
8 Jason Coggins
9 Dirk Owens
Michael Chumbley continues to show the rear deck lid of his Mustang
to the Pure Pony contingent as the Columbia native took win number
thirteen over David Wallace and Anthony Dodson. Wallace and Stanley James
were the heat race victors.
Pure Pony
1 Michael Chumbley
2 David Wallace
3 Anthony Dodson
4 Stanley James
5 John David Todd
6 Tony Gentry
7 Andy Rogers
8 Billy Farless
9 Doug Chumbley
10 Jimmy Calahan
Chad Green will join the Pure Pony crowd next week as they all chase
Michael Chumbley because Green won his second feature in two weeks and
third of the season(You must move out of the "Rookie" Pony division after
three victories). Chance Rogers was the Place finisher with Heat winner
Dean Rogers in the Show spot. Green also won his heat race.
Rookie Mini Stock
1 Chad Green
2 Chance Rogers
3 Dean Rader
4 Lee Farless
5 Joshua Nichols

Racing continues every Saturday evening at Duck River
Speedway with gates opening at 3:00 PM and Drivers Meeting followed by Hot
laps and races at 6:00 PM.
Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives