Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted August 05, 2001 10:29 AM UIN: 16262997


IMPERIAL, PA…They say dreams are made to come true, and that certainly was
the case Saturday at Pittsburgh' s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. In 1979 Nick
Garin realized his life-long dream when he opened Dirt's Monster Half Mile.
Five years ago, the Geesey Brothers did the same when they started the Mid
Atlantic Championship Late Model Series. Before a great crowd, the Nick
Garin Memorial served as the MACS "Centurion" event with Castle Shannon's
Doug Crawford snaring the 40-lap feature.
Crawford found himself on the pole for the MACS/Nick Garin Memorial and
wasted no time in taking command at the drop of the green. Third starting
Brian Ruhlman quickly unseated Tom Myers for second. Crawford set a
blistering pace and started to lap cars by lap ten. Ruhlman stayed in
striking distance while Myers and Lynn Geisler battled for third. Meanwhile,
sixth starting John Flinner, and a host of others, were working their way to
the front. Flinner took fourth from Geisler on lap fourteen, with Crawford
and Ruhlman still showing the way. Following a lap fifteen caution, Crawford
was strong on the restart with Ruhlman, Flinner, and Myers in hot pursuit.
Flinner took third from Myers on lap 19, and set his sights on leaders,
Crawford, and Ruhlman. As lapped traffic intensified in the middle stages of
the race, Crawford had his hands full with both Ruhlman and Flinner. Geisler
had moved to fourth with T. Myers fifth, D.J. Myers sixth, Ed Ferree seventh,
Jeremy Miller eighth, Keith Barbara ninth and Mike Johnson tenth. Miller
and Ferree brought out the caution on lap 30 when they tangled in turns three
and four. D.J. Myers would head to the pits shortly thereafter with a flat
tire. When the race restarted, Ruhlman got into Crawford in turn three,
sending him sideways. Flinner was on the gas on the bottom and tried to
blast his way to lead only to meet Crawford along the way. With sheet metal
flying between the leaders, the caution waved again for Matt Urban on the
backstretch. With clear racetrack, Crawford was dialed in on the restart and
collected his third career Late Model win, and his first MACS win. Ruhlman
was second, Flinner third, Johnson put a great late race charge on to claim
fourth with T. Myers fifth. Ferree charged back to sixth, ahead of Geisler,
Keith Barbara, David Scott and D.J. Myers. Tom Myers, Flinner, and Crawford
won the heat races. The B-Main went to Ben Miley. Mike Johnson, who started
17th, was the Carrera/Monarch Oil Hard Charger.
"Pittsburgh" Pete Loria led wire to wire in the Limited Late Models.
Tom Schirnhofer continued to apply pressure to the leader, but settled for
second. George Kowatic, Tony Musolino and Gary Cellone completed the top
five. Six through ten were: Mike Morgan, Al Atallah, Bob Damron, Wayne
Tessean and Kirk Young. Monarch Oil Hard Charger Brian Laraway and Atallah
won the preliminaries.
Calcutta, OH's Larry Kugel turned in a dominating effort in claiming his
fifth straight E-Modified feature. D.J. Miller was second, Vince Laboon
third, Scott Gunn fourth and Kurt Halbedl fifth. Monarch Oil Hard Charger
Kugel and Gunn captured the heat races.
Rich Apolito of Carnegie tied Al Atallah's single season record by
winning his tenth Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stock feature of the year. Early
leader, Craig Kamicker, was second, Frankie Schneider third, Neal Isiminger
fourth and Doug Foster fifth. Darryl Robison, Dave Beck, Charlie DiLoreto,
Brian Scheller and Wayne Johnson rounded out the top ten. Jimmy Arnold and
Apolito won the heat races. DiLoreto was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.
This Saturday, August 4th, the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks will run
their annual "Pure Stock 20" special race. The QPI Tools Late Models,
Limited Late Models, and E-Modifieds and Amateur Stocks are also on the card.
In addition, the Racers for Tots 80 Mile Motorcycle Run and Classic Car
Cruise, which is open to the public, will depart from the speedway grounds at
1pm and return to the track for the evenings racing program. . Gates open
for at 5pm with racing at 7:30pm. For more information call the business
office at (724) 853-RACE, or visit our website at

Macs Late Model Heat Race Winners: Tom Myers, John Flinner, Doug Crawford
B-Main Winner: Ben Miley
Provisionals: Mike Blose, Mark Moats
Feature (40 Laps): 1) Doug Crawford, Castle Shannon 2) Brian Ruhlman,
Toledo, 3) John Flinner, Cranberry Twp. 4) Mike Johnson, Imperial 5) Tom
Myers, Greencastle 6) Ed Ferree 7) Lynn Geisler 8) Keith Barbara 9) David
Scott 10) DJ Myers 11) Dave Wade 12) Jim Lepro 13) Jim Zarin 14) Ben
Miley 15) Mike Blose 16) Bill Knepper 17) Glenn Ray 18) Jeremy Miller
19) Mark Banal 20) Matt Urban 21) Jim Yoder 22) Mark Moats 23) Joe
Johnson 24) Lou Bradich DNQ: Andy Fries, Bob Moskey, Bill Adler, Brad
Goff, Rick Heim, Larry Wright, Ralph Hysong, Brian Durig, Jim Armbruster,
George Kowatic

Limited Late Model Heat Race Winners: Al Atallah, Brian Laraway
Feature (20 Laps): 1) Pete Loria, Pittsburgh 2) Tom Schirnhofer, Emsworth
3) George Kowatic, Moon Twp. 4) Tony Musolino, Scott Twp. 5) Gary Cellone,
Bridgeville 6) Mike Morgan 7) Al Atallah 8) Bob Damron, 9) Wayne Tessean
10) Kirk Young 11) Brian Laraway 12) Jon Hodgkiss 13) Jim Stephans 14)
Bobby Castelveter 15) Louie Bradich 16) Jessie Burroughs 17) Danny Rich
18) John Pavlick 19) Vince Teatino (DNS) 20) Tom Bateman (DNS)

E-Mod Heat Race Winners: Larry Kugel, Scott Gunn
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Larry Kugel, Calcutta OH 2) DJ Miller, Hookstown
3) Vince Laboon, Pleasant Hills 4) Scott Gunn, West Mifflin 5) Kurt
Halbedl, Imperial 6) Stush Sadowski 7) Herm Myers 8) Bobby Bongiorni 9)
Mike Anderson 10) Jeff Broniszewski 11) Matt Smith 12) Andy Diamond 13)
Jeff Bametzrider 14) Joe Brown

Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stock Heat Race Winners: Jimmy Arnold, Rich Apolito
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Rich Apolito, Carnegie 2) Craig Kamicker, Hopewell
3) Frankie Schneider, Pittsburgh 4) Neal Isiminger, Washington 5) Doug
Foster, Kennedy Twp. 6) Darryl Robison 7) Dave Beck 8) Charlie DiLoreto
9) Brian Scheller 10) Wayne Johnson 11) Joe Anthony 12) Shawn Bryan 13)
Mark Jaworski 14) Ryan Marks 15) Joe Hogg 16) Bob Betz 17) Jimmy Arnold
18) Stacie White (DNS)

Back to the Archives