Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Auto Tire and Parts Racepark Benton, MO
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 30, 2001 08:11 AM UIN: 16262997
Auto Tire and Parts Racepark Benton, MO

Press Release Saturday July 28, 2001

Contact: Jeff W. Thornbrough 143 Lakeside Drive Sikeston, Mo.

Montgomery dominates Winged Sprint feature; Another Griffin in victory lane

Joey Montgomery of Fredericktown, Mo. nailed down the Winged Sprint feature win at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark Saturday night. Desoto Dwarf driver John Griffin earned the feature win in the Southern Missouri Dwarf Car race, while Robert Powers took the Open-Wheel main, Jared Wagster scored the Pure Street win, Joseph and Lowell Calder earned the Cruiser main.

Montgomery is no stranger to victory lane at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark. The last time he visited the track he picked up his first win in only his second appearance at the track. The third visit to the track was more than charm.

The 21c sprinter of Montgomery’s started on the pole for the feature after winning the first heat race. Steve Short of Farmington, shared the front-row with Montgomery after winning the second heat race.

At the start of the raced Montgomery jumped out front with Short, Lee Dunn, Robbie Standridge and Jim Moughan following behind the leader.

On the fifth lap Joey’s older brother Tim made contact with the frontstretch wall, sending him sideways across to the track toward the infield. Tim’s sprinter came to rest in the infield. The 32 car would be out of action for the remainder of the evening.

The field would take the green for the restart and complete only one lap before the caution flag waved again for debris on the track. The caution would be the last time the field would stop for the remainder of the event.

When the field came around turn four looking for the green flag restart Montgomery was in command with Short, Moughan, Dunn and Tommy Worley Jr. making up the top-five.

Montgomery would go unchallenged for the final nineteen laps of the feature winning the race by comfortable advantage.

Short earned his career best finish at the racepark with a second. Short closed in on Montgomery in the first few laps of the race but could never complete the pass for the lead.

After starting fifth in the feature Moughan moved to third in the final tally. The third heat race winner, Dunn, finished the night in fourth. Standridge started fourth after winning the fourth heat race and finished one spot back in fifth.

The Open-Wheel Modified event saw six caution flags throughout the 20-lap event, which saw a fresh face in victory lane.

Pole sitter Robert Powers jumped out front on the first lap and led the entire 20-lap distance holding off charges from Greg Gross and a late race caution, which found Joe Geisler close in on his bumper.

Gross shared the front-row with Powers and followed behind the leader for 19 ½ laps before the caution flew for fire underneath the hood of his car. The caution moved him from second to 12th in the final rundown.

The last race caution benefited Geisler by moving him from third to second in the final order. Danny Sissom held on for fourth while Gary Geiler maintained fifth.

The Southern Missouri Dwarf Cars made their second visit to the racepark and saw another Griffin in victory lane. On the last visit to the track Tim Griffin of Desoto picked up the win in the Dwarf division. This time it was Tim’s father John who held off Tim and his brother Robert for the win.

Tim jumped out to the lead at the start of the race with John and Robert in tow. On the sixth lap John made the move around his son for the lead. John went on to lead final nine laps to earn his second win on the weekend. John won the Friday night event at Malden Speedway. Tim finished second with Robert securing third, Ron Wick finished fourth and Mike Province finished fifth.

Jared Wagster was once again the winner in the Pure Street division picking up his third win of the year.

Cline Myers Jr. jumped out to the lead at the start of the race and lead the first eight laps before getting passed by the eventual winner Wagster. Wagster maintained the advantage for the final seven laps.

Last weeks feature winner Johnny Houart finished third while Tim Gage ended the night in fourth and Dietrich Bollinger was fifth.

The Cruiser car division just might be the most competitive class at the racepark with Joseph and Lowell Calder scoring the win becoming the seventh different winner in seven races.

The 74 car of Calder and Calder jumped out in front on the first lap and led the first lap before getting passed by Paul VanPool and Brian Hahs on the second circuit. On the fourth lap Calder and Calder returned the favor to VanPool and Hahs dropping them back to second.

Calder and Calder led the remainder of the event with the team of Moll and Short finished in second. Borgfield and Besher completed the top three with Davis/Wright finishing fourth and the team of Hurst/Bowen finishing fifth.

Winged Sprint Results

Joey Montgomery (21c) Fredericktown, MO
Steve Short (8) Farmington, MO
Jim Moughan (1m) Springfield, Ill
Lee Dunn (66) East Prairie, MO
Robbie Standridge (12x) Springfield, Ill
Tommy Worley Jr. (97) Bismark, MO
Steve Zelch Jr. (z34) Perryville, MO
Jeff Hart (33) Pittsburgh, Ill
Chris Urish (77u) Elkhart, Ill
Jay Lundolt (25j) Wood River, Ill
Open-Wheel Modifieds

Robert Powers (02) Campbell, MO
Joseph Geisler (85g) St. Mary, MO
Shawn Haynes (21) Malden, MO
Danny Sissom (95) Cape Girardeau, MO
Greg Geilser (88) Fenton, MO
Terry Baker (10) Scott City, MO
Danny Resinger (15) Farmington, MO
Matt James (55) Jackson, MO
Jeff Parmer (5p) Fenton, MO
Perry Beier (1ab) Perryville, MO
Pure Streets

Jared Wagster (oo7) Portagville, MO
Cline Myers Jr. (01) Scott City, MO
Johnny Houart (34) Gideon, MO
Tim Gage (51g) Malden, MO
Dietrich Bollinger (8) Benton, MO
Billy Hopkins (c23) Caruthersville, MO
Patrick Naeger (155) Perryville, MO
Dennis Shelby (s3) Chaffee, MO
Doug Neuhalfen (r38) Sikeston, MO
Kenny Kennedy (6k) Ste. Genevieve, MO
Southern Missouri Dwarf Cars

John Griffin (41) Desoto, Mo.
Tim Griffin (141) Desoto, Mo.
Robert Griffin (411) Desoto, Mo.
Ron Wick (69) Marine, Ill
Mike Province (14) Belleview, Mo.
Todd Williams (98)
Dennis Martin (4) Springfield, Ill
Jeff Morgan (31) House Springs, Mo.
Rick Shetley (56)
Scott Jackson (33) Farmington, Mo.


Joseph Calder/Lowell Calder (74) Clarkton, Mo.
Garrett Moll/Wesley Short (18L) Scott City, Mo.
Al Borgfield/Tim Besher (100) Jackson, Mo.
Fonz Wright/Billy Davis (13) Benton, Mo.
Rodney Hurst/Bowen (77) Millersville, Mo.
Mark Burns/Jeff Beeson (591) Benton, Mo.
Michael Smith/Tim Adams (39) Wickliffe, Ky
Jill Davis/Robinson (777) Pittsburgh, Ill
Darrin McFall/Travis McFall (911) Scott City, Mo.
Paul VanPool/Brian Hahs (111) Benton, Mo.

Back to the Archives