Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Slingshots and Legends Steal Path Valley Sprint Show
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 30, 2001 08:04 AM UIN: 16262997
Slingshots and Legends Steal Path Valley Sprint Show

Spring Run, PA—The Slingshots and Legends Cars stole the show at the Path Valley All-Sprint Saturday Night races July 28 with two fast and thrilling extra laps features.

The 30-lap Legends feature was a qualifier for the INEX sanctioned Legends Grand National Championship race in October at Lowe’s Motor Speedway in Charlotte. The Legends also race every Friday night at Path Valley.

Winner Butch Brough of Newville qualified to race in the Legends master’s division at the Grand Nationals. Tim Tomson of Kutztown qualified to race in the Pro division, and Rodney Kistler of Reading qualified to race in the semi-pro national championship event. All three will have provisional starting spots in the main event even if they don’t qualify in the preliminaries.

All of those who raced Saturday are now eligible to qualify for the Legends Nationals through the heat races and consolation rounds, C Main, and B Main. The front five finishers in the field of 17 were Brough, Kistler, Harry Garber, Tim Tomson, and Donnie Potts. Heat winners were Brough and Kistler.

The first Slingshot winner ever at Path Valley is Rob Alexander of Lansdale. He started fourth in the 25-lap feature and won by several lengths ahead of Ryan Smith. The front five were Alexander, Smith, Jeff Hartman, Scott Washburn and Scott Pettis. Alexander and Brian Wawroski won the first set of heats and Washburn and Jeff Hartman won the second set of Slingshot heats.

Jim Callahan Jr. of McVeytown won his first feature ever in the 600cc Sprints. Callahan is the defending champion in the Friday night 270 Sprints at Path Valley. The top five in 600cc action were Callahan, Rick Stief, Terry Peters, Tim Grzelak and Kyle Purks, who also won the heat race.

Brad McClelland, who started third, won the 270 Sprints feature. McClelland and Josh Weller were the heat winners and the top five finishers were McClelland, Rodney Glass who won the night before, Mike King, Jim Myers and Randy Baughman.

Randy Baughman won the 250cc water cooled Sportsman Sprint heat and feature. The 250 water cooled Sportsman Sprints raced with the water cooled ones and Josh Watkins was the heat and feature winner in that class. The top five finishers in the 250 water-cooled class were Baughman, Randy Pitt, Kevin Wise, Chris Heckendorn and John Feather. No 125cc Sprints wanted to race.

Crime Scene Clean Up, Ridgeway Industries and North American Plastics sponsor slingshot winner Rob Alexander. After his win he gave special thanks to S&S Speedways and Randy Smith for their support, and he told promoter Ken Geesey he thoroughly enjoyed racing at Path Valley because the banks were “great” and it’s the widest track he’s ever raced a Slingshot on.

The Slingshot division was launched by Tobias Speed Equipment in 1999 and now extends to five states. The theory behind the mini-modified racers is to involve more people in auto racing without a huge investment. The 58-inch wheel base racer features a V-twin power plant capable of more than 70 mph. They are self-starting and designed for a 1/8 to 1/4 mile speedway.

Next Saturday evening Sprints and Legends racing continues on the Path Valley clay quarter mile. Saturday afternoon’s kart and four-wheeler racing features a motor race. Friday night stock car and sprint racing features the 358 Limited Late Models next week. Gates open Friday at 5 p.m. Gates open Saturday for the kart racing at 11 a.m. and again for the All-Sprint Saturday night at 5 p.m.

The Path Valley Speedway Park is located in Spring Run PA a mile north on PA Route
641 from the intersection with PA Route 75, halfway between Port Royal and
Hagerstown. It is five miles east from the Willow Hill Exit 14 of the PA Turnpike
off Route 75.

For information on the 2001 schedule and track, race teams can call the owners at
717-426-4756 or 717-426-2910, consult the website at, or they
can email them at The new phone number at the track for
promoter Ken Geesey is 717-349-7111.


Legends Cars – Butch Brough, Rodney Kistler, Harry Garber, Tim Tomson, Donnie Potts, Ray Swank, Allen Felix, Greg Burd, George Craker, Todd Spahr, Randy Fetterolf, Denny Rothermal, Ed Wentz, Scott Houdeshell, Bob Murray, Bill Harris, Jim Black.

Slingshots – Robert Alexander, Ryan Smith, Jeff Hartman, Scott Washburn, Scott Pettis, Brian Wawroski, Dan Galbraith, Sean Merkel, Brian Hartman, Brian Amey, Tony Scerbo, Sylvia Alexander, Tim Carter, Tom Lynch, Jay Hartman, Cavian Heimpel, Scott Ambruster

600cc Sprints – Jim Callahan Jr., Rick Stief, Terry Peters, Tim Grzelak, Kyle Purks, Josh Weller, Dave Emory, Rich Gilmore

270cc Sprints – Brad McClelland, Rodney Glass, Mike King, Jim Myers, Randy Baughman, Josh Weller, John Moore, Craig Shaw, Phillip Glacken, Randy Pitt, Danny Crum, Kevin Wise.

250 Sportsman Sprints (W/C) – Randy Baughman, Randy Pitt, Kevin Wise, Chris Heckendorn, John Feature, Jim Moffett, Kelly Hall, Rich O’Neal, Craig Shaw, Dave Emory

250 Sportsman Sprints (A/C) – Randy Hake, Josh Watkins.


PVSwc1Brough – Legends National Qualifier winner Butch Brough of Newville.

PVSwc2Alexander – Historic first Slingshot feature winner Rob Alexander of Lansdale.

PVSwc3Callahan – Jim Callahan Jr. and his father and crew chief after his first 600 Sprint win Saturday at the Path Valley Speedway Park.

PVSwc**cClelland – Brad McClelland won the 270 Sprint feature, his first of the season at Path Valley.

PVSwc6Baughman – Randy Baughman won his fifth feature of the season in the 250 Sportsman Sprint feature.

Back to the Archives