Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River Speedway Results Friday, July 28
Dirt Freak

Total posts: 253
posted July 29, 2001 07:35 PM
Duck River Speedway Results Friday, July 28
Four decades of winning races in middle Tennessee and many at Duck
River Speedway has made Jimmy Nowlin a veritable legend to local dirt
racing fans and Jimmy continued to add to his victory total Saturday
night as the Shelbyville native turned in a blistering lap of 13.290 to
set quick time then led 24 of 25 laps in the main event to garner his
third win of the year. Shannon Davis challenged Nowlin the entire
distance and in fact stuck his nose in front on lap eleven but could not
stay in front and had to settle for the runner-up position. Bo Judge,
David Sells and Tony Morris were third through fifth.
Late Model
1) Jimmy Nowlin
2) Shannon Davis
3) Bo Judge
4) David Sells
5) Tony Morris
6) Tom Higgens
7) John David Todd
8) Henry Hanger (DNS)
9) David Gentry (DNS)
David Gentry had mechanical problems with his late model then had his
stubborn teammate give him problems early on in the feature event but
once out front Gentry soundly defeated an excellent field of Open Wheels
to garner his ninth Open Wheel and fifteenth overall victory of the
season at the "Duck". Gentry and Tommy Davis were the heat winners
Open Wheel
1) David Gentry
2) Tommy Davis
3) John Schetrompf
4) Junior Daniels
5) Bob Jarrett
6) Mark Haddon
7) Eric Pirtle
8) Bryan Reed
9) Jason Maurer
10) Carl Crowell
In the two barrell Late Model class, David Seibers picked up win number
eight and in doing so relegated Fayetteville's Rick Curren to yet
another runner-up finish. Points leader Josh Lunsford was third. Seibers
also won the heat race
2-BBL Late Model
1) David Seibers
2) Rick Curren
3) Josh Lunsford
4) Billy Barnett
5) Charlie Cates
6) Brandon Scott
7) Jason Gregg
After coming up one position short last week, Jeff McPeak made a
statement to the Super Stock class as McPeak won his heat race and led
start to finish in a class that is noted for lead changes. Jaybird
Marlin, Mike Johnson and upstart Dwayne Whitman pushed the winner hard
but Jeff would not be denied his first win of the year at Duck River.
Marlin and Whitman were also heat race winners.
Super Stock
1) Jeff McPeak
2) Jaybird Marlin
3) Mike Johnson
4) Dwayne Whitman
5) Donald Davis
6) Clyde Bruce
7) Clint Alexander
8) Chad Williams
9) Farris Lovett
10) Donnie Gibson
Another racer who has been winning races at Duck River Speedway for
more years than most in attendance can even remember is Johnny Crowell
and Saturday night Crowell rolled up win number ten of the current
campaign, by besting Gwen Jones and points leader Steve Kennedy in
Outlaw Pony action. Jason Coggins and Crowell were the heat winners.
Outlaw Pony
1) Johnny Crowell
2) Gwen Jones
3) Steve Kennedy
4) Jeff Crowell
5) Jamie Spry
6) Jeff Roberson
7) Clay Lawrence
8) Bo Owens
9) Jimmy Dale
10) Dion Gordon
The Mini Stock contingent would like to see Michael Chumbley take a
long vacation and give them all a break as the Columbia chauffuer
continues to dominate the class by grabbing win number 13 of 2001. Tony
Patterson and David Wallace both started on Row 5 and made terrific runs
through the field to finish second and third. Three time Rookie Pony
feature winner, Andy Rogers and Jimmy Calahan were the heat race
Mini Stock
1) Michael Chumbley
2) Tony Patterson
3) David Wallace
4) Jimmy Calahan
5) Stanley James
6) Anthony Dodson
7) Dudley Rogers
8) Allen Rogers
9) Doug Chumbley
10) Roy Newsom
Chad Green won his second Rookie Pony feature Saturday night as Mike
Scruggs and Miss Tiffany Jones nabbed the Place and Show spots. Warren
Brent and Travis Lester rounded out the Top 5. Clint Crowell and Charles
Brewer were the heat winners.
Rookie Pony
1) Chad Green
2) Mike Scruggs
3) Tiffany Jones
4) Warren Brent
5) Travis Lester
Racing continues each and every Saturday night at Duck River Speedway
in Wheel, Tennessee, through the first weekend in October.
Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives