Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 29, 2001 03:51 PM UIN: 16262997

Denny Eckrich padded his points lead by taking home his fifth NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model Feature win of the season at the West Liberty Raceway on Saturday July 28th.

Brian Harris took the point from his pole position, setting a torrid pace over Tom Cannon and Matt Furman on the extremely tacky racetrack while Eckrich began working his way to the front from his twelfth place starting spot. Harris's incredible pace put him in lapped traffic by the seventh circuit, eventually lapping half the field by the time the first caution came out on lap nineteen. Extremely heavy lapped traffic allowed Furman to shoot past Cannon for second on the ninth lap and close in on the leader while an intense battle raged behind him between Eckrich, Gary Webb, Cannon, Jeff Aikey and Mike Klinkkammer. Furman eventually used lapped traffic to take the lead away from Harris on the eighteenth lap, just as Eckrich was able to nose past Cannon into the third position, a full straightaway behind the leaders. Disaster struck for Furman as the car circulated under the lap nineteen caution when his car dropped out of the lead with a broken fuel pump. Eckrich made the most of both pieces of luck to shoot past Harris into the lead on the restart, finishing the 25 lap event unchallenged while his brother Dave Eckrich used the cushion to rocket past Harris into second at the checkers, with Todd Davis advancing from 21st at the start into fourth by passing Webb on the final lap.

Robbie Verbeck put his recent bad luck behind him Miller Time Modified action by dominating the twenty lap event after starting on the front row. The race was marred on the original start when a ten car pileup just past the flagstand sent Gus Hughes tumbling. Hughes was treated and released from a local hospital with only minor injuries. Verbeck checked out on the field when racing resumed, lapping slower cars by the twelfth pass under the flagstand and leading Bret Frieden, Scott Megonigle, Dan Chapman and Russ Olson underneath the checkers.

Gary Beuter notched his first Pro Stock feature win of the year by surviving very heavy pressure from Matt Gilchrist throughout the event. Beuter took the lead from the second row, but had to deal with Gilchrist's challenge one lap later. Mirroring his every move, Gilchrist kept the pressure on for the remaining thirteen laps, diving underneath at least once to take the lead on lap five but coming up short when Beuter was able to keep his momentum up on the top of the track to retake the lead before the next corner. Norman Bean finished a distant third, leading Chris Simpson and John Maher across the stripe.

Dave Wada was in complete control of the Hobby Stock feature until a quarter mile from the finish when his car slowed with a broken axle halfway through the final lap. Points leader Jeremy Thompson, Bub Erwin and CJ Ormsby caught Wada as he was entering the third corner, diving high and low around his car in a mad scramble to the checkers. Thompson emerged victorious on the top of the track, edging out Ormsby and Erwin in a blanket finish under the checkers.

Drivers will again do battle this Saturday night, August 4th as the 2001 season enters it's final month of competition. Hot Laps are scheduled for 6:30 pm with racing to follow. For more information, please contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or on the internet at For raceday updates and instant results upon completion please call your local McLeod USA InTouch directory category #3740 or #3741.

Late Models
1. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
2. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville
3. 21h Brian Harris Davenport
4. 3t Todd Davis Iowa City
5. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
6. 32 Tom Cannon Iowa City
7. 77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls
8. 45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch
9. 57 Tom Christensen West Liberty
10. 13k Denny Petersen Tipton
11. 66 Fred Remely Blue Grass
12. 28 Jeff Bair Solon
13. 18z Rusty Zook Riverside
14. 26b Wayne Brau Annawan IL
15. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
16. 4 Bobby Sexton West Branch
17. 32c Chad Holliday Wilton
18. 31 Brian Morgan Muscatine
19. 33 Kurt Stewart Ainsworth
20. 8m Mark Ward Muscatine
21. 30 Dan Brockert Muscatine
22. 63 Rob Kirchner Donnellson
23. ez33 Nick Marolf Moscow
24. 7 Andy Nezworski Davenport
25. 77 Kurt Kile West Liberty
26. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City
27. m32 Marty Beckler Hills
28. 12 Ray Guss Jr Milan IL

2 Monte Ohrt West Branch
74 Ron Boyse Kalona
23d Dana Wells Moscow
02 Robert Hillyer Wellman
17 Clayton Jensen Iowa City
88 Kevin Kile West Liberty
17s Marty Scheckel Bellevue

1. 60 Robbie Verbeck Annawan IL
2. 64 Bret Frieden Cedar Rapids
3. m2 Scott Megonigle Cedar Rapids
4. 1 Dan Chapman Clarence
5. b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
6. 2h Rick Hixson Orion IL
7. 22 Darrall Brick West Branch
8. 72 Rich Lewis Kewaupee IL
9. 45 Steve Kohli Iowa City
10. 19 Terry Lawson New Liberty
11. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
12. 71z Ramon Partida West Liberty
13. 96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
14. 34 David Hemsted Lone Tree
15. 9 Richard Steadman Hiawatha
16. 25 Dustin Lovell Rochester
17. 55 Scott Stecher Muscatine
18. 7 Mike Thomas West Branch
19. 18 Matt Ruess West Liberty
20. 007 Brian Sexton Lone Tree
21. 2 Jim Vest Wellman
22. 12 Terry Walker Riverside
23. 17 Steve Stewart Washington
24. 42 John Brumely Muscatine
25. 30 Gus Hughes Monticello

1. 17 Gary Beuter Tipton
2. 1 Matt Gilchrist Grandview
3. 62 Norman Bean Muscatine
4. 32 Chris Simpson Marion
5. 69 John Maher West Branch
6. 77 Darrin Plett Davenport
7. 60 Matt Brockert Muscatine
8. 9z Dan Werner Muscatine
9. 5 Larry McCall Mechanicsville
10. 21 Brian VanDusen Atalissa
11. 03 Don Hughes Monticello
12. 36 Jason Gingrich West Liberty
13. 56 Andy Eckrich Cosgrove
14. 42 Larry Pearson North Liberty
15. 24 Monte Hayden Wilton
16. 44 Tom Struve Palo
17. 34 Ken Hansen Vinton
18. 2r Rusty Daufeldt Blue Grass
19. 30 Dan Brockert Muscatine
20. 29 Bruce Miller West Liberty
21. 7 Dale Franklin Marion

25 Chad Simpson Marion

1. 57j Jeremy Thompson Ainsworth
2. 99 CJ Ormsby West Liberty
3. 66 Jason Erwin Muscatine
4. 21 Todd Hansen Muscatine
5. 0 Stan O'Brien Muscatine
6. 97 Robert Barnes Letts
7. 0b Matt Bodman Muscatine
8. 42v Darrin Voss Wilton
9. 15 Jarrod Collins West Liberty
10. d2 Matt Fulton Blue Grass
11. 94 Jason Lange Muscatine
12. 9 Dave Elliot Muscatine
13. 11 Chris Maurer West Liberty
14. 20 Dan Albright Lisbon
15. 40 James Rock Muscatine
16. 72 Doug Yates Monticello
17. 29 Dave Wada Muscatine
18. 23 Matt Dunkel
19. 1 Orlen Stark West Liberty

Back to the Archives