Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 28, 2001 04:50 PM UIN: 16262997


Hartford(OH)…Jeff Schrum returned to victory lane for the first time this
season and believe it or not it was almost a year since his last victory here
at Sharon. Not only that, it happened as the same sponsors where on hand, M.
V. G. Auto Parts of Youngstown along with ABC Supply. Darrell Moody in his
rookie season captured his first ever Stock Car feature win. Russ Dunn
captured his third in a row and his fifth out of the last six outings with
Jim Weller returning to victory lane since opening night. Our guest division
winner, Steve Young, was not to be out done as he has made two visits,
topping the field on both occasions.

When the Sunburst Environmental Sprints took to the track, pole setters
Deana Barbara and Jamie McKinney paced the field. With the drop of the green
Barbara took command for the first 6 laps surviving a first lap red for Gary
McCollum. By lap 7 Jeff Schrum, from seventh starting spot, raced by Barbara
into the lead and began to lengthen his advantage to the checker. McKinney
garnered the runner up spot with Marty Ling coming from 16th to the third
position finish, point leader Jarod Larson fourth with last weeks winner Mike
Kekich rounding out the top five. Heat winners: Larson, Edwards.

The Gibson-Governor Insurance V-8 Modifieds came to the line with Rob
Kristyak and John Braymer bringing the ground pounders under the green.
Braymer and Kristyak raced into the first turn with Braymer coming out of two
with the lead for the first three laps. Third position starter Jim Weller
raced his way past Braymer by lap four going on the capture his second win of
the season. Braymer finished a distant second with Lou Blaney coming from the
12th hole to a very close third. Kristyak came across fourth with Steve Young
who was pulling double duty in fifth. Heat winners: Young, King. Rays Racing
Specialties dash went to Lou Blaney.

The Coy Bros. Trucking E-Mods. showed that last week was no fluke as they
made a full feature for 2 weeks in a row. When the starting green fell it was
Scott Stiffler and Russ Dunn showing the way into turn one with Dunn going
into the lead only to lose it by lap two as Mark Willison with lap three
being led by Scott Jones. As lap 4 came to the line Dunn regaining the top
spot with Jones in hot pursuit for the remaining 11 laps with Dunn emerging
as the victor. Jones followed to second, Willison 3rd , Jeff Rudrick fourth
and Paul Phillips topping the top five. Heat winners: Jones, Dunn

Bringing the Burghill Auto Salvage Stock Cars to the start found Todd
Titus and Bobby Whitling at the point positions. By completions of lap one
Whitling had moved to the front of the caution filled event which eventually
ended with time running out with only 8 laps completed. By lap 7 Jeff Moody
had moved past Whitling as the final caution flew with time expiring. Moody
captured his first ever Stock Car Feature with Whitling second. Steve
D'Apolito 3rd, Russ Kapalin 4th and Gary Robinson 5th . Heat winners:
Ferringer , Clay, Willoughby.

The guest division of the evening was the 358 Sportsman Modifieds, When
the green flag fell it was outside pole setter Jerry Bruce gaining control
for the first 3 circuits with eventual second time winner Steve Young moving
by on lap 4. Bruce not one to give up raced Young for the entire feature side
by side only to fall short at the finish. Pole setter Billy Adams came across
third with Chanda Reitz fourth and Rob Kristyak also pulling double duty
fifth. Heat winners: Preist, Buchanan

Joining us next week will be our Friday Night's Mightiest and Sharon's
racing legends, Dave Yobe, Jack Pears, Charlie Davis, Frank Ferry, Bill
Gabrielson, Chuck Harshman, Greg Cizmar, Skip Evans, Don Williams, Bobby
Johnson, Gary Laurie, and Putzy Kekich, to list a few that have

Coming to the Speedway on September 1st and 2nd will be the 21st Annual
Sharon Nationals with All Star Sprints, V-8 Modifieds and Stock Cars. Lap
sponsors are available by calling the track office at 330-772-5481 or Fran
Harshman at 330-898-6492

Feature Finishes:
Sprints: 1)Schrum,2)McKinney, 3)Ling, 4)Larson, 5)M. Kekich, 6)Simeling,
7)Barbara, 8)Ripper, 9)Hartzell, 10)Etzel, 11)Harshman, 12)O'Malley,
13)Cochran, 14)Barris, 15)Edwards. DNF D. Kekich, McCollum, Priest, DNS.
Schuller, Deihl

Modifieds: 1)Weller, 2)Braymer, 3)Blaney, 4)Kristyak, 5)Young, 6)K. Hoffman,
7)Michaels, 8)Rasey, 9)Dorman, 10)Weller III, 11)Moore, 12)Kuchta, 13)M.
Curtison, 14)Chronister, 15)J. Hoffman, 16)Crawford, DNS King, Boyer

E-Mods: 1)Dunn, 2)Jones, 3)Willison, 4)Rudrick, 5)Phillips, 6) Robinson,
7)Ron Jaeger, 8)Myers, 9)Diver, 10)Coy, 11)Shingledecker 12)Sharp, 13)Lesky,
14)Rich Jaeger, 15)Stiffler, 16)Domhoff, 17)Johnson, 18) White, 19)Mechling,
DNS Ruth

Stock Cars: 1)Moody, 2)Whitling, 3)D'Apolito, 4)Kapalin, 5)Robinson,
6)Cornell, 7)Ferringer, 8)Titus, 9)Miller, 10)Carothers, 11)Hooks, 12)Porter,
13)Flavell, 14)Waldele, 15)Davis, 16)Wheat, 17)Haas, 18)Stambaugh, 19)Dillon,
20)Willoughby, 21)Kennedy, 22)Clay, 23)Babos, 24)Williams, 25)Pupino,
26)Felicetty, 27)Burk, 28)Hudzik, 29)Roth, 30)Amato

358 Modifieds: 1)Young, 2)Bruce, 3)Adams, 4)Reitz, 5)Kristyak, 6)Mattocks,
7)Buchanan, 8)Ryder, 9)Rodemoyer, 10)Bollinger, 11)Moran, 12)Priester,
13)Priest, 14)Johnson, DNS Eperthener

For the first time, Sharon Speedway is offering a discount general
admission ticket to groups of 25 people. For more information on the group
rates, call Linda McMillin at 724-283-4445.

Admission prices for Friday Night's Mightiest shows with the Grandstand
Adult ticket of $10.00, Juniors (13-16) $5.00, Kids 12 and under FREE!, and
with FAMILY PASS consisting of 2 adults and up to 4 children (16 and under)
for $25.00. Pit Gate admission remains at $20.00. Regular shows only. Gates
open at 5:30 with racing at 7:30.

For information or a schedule of events at Sharon Speedway call the track
office at 330-772-5481 or 724-287-4938 or visit our web site at www.
Sharonspeedway. com. Sharon Speedway is located 1mile east of route 7 on
route 305 then south on Custer-Orangeville Rd.

Back to the Archives