Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 22, 2001 11:12 PM UIN: 16262997
For Immediate Release July 20, 2001

STRONGSTOWN, PA - Sam Stile of Charleroi won his first #1 Cochran Late Model
feature of the season Friday at Dog Hollow Speedway. Rick Kreasko of Windber
won his first pure stock main of the year, and first ever feature at the
Repeat winners included: Shawn "Sheets" McGarvey of Coalport in the Hugill
Sanitation Limited Late Models, Lou Gentile of Hubbard, OH in the small
block/six cylinder modifieds and Jim Boyer of Indiana in the street stocks.
Paul Michny led the late model field into the first turn at the start and
was holding off all challengers. Michny was holding off every effort thrown
at him by Andy Fries, Kevin Peterman, Sam Stile and Rodney Phillips, but
working lap 11, Stile surged out front to take the lead and the eventual
win. It was his first win of the season at DHS. Michny, Blose, Phillips
Peterman completed the top five. Heat wins went to Jason Carnahan, Tom Myers
and Dave Satterlee.
For eleven laps it looked as though Bill Krause was going to take his first
career win at Dog Hollow in the limited late models, but Shawn McGarvey was
working his way to the front from his 8th starting spot. McGarvey used the
advantage of a lap ten caution to move by Krause and into the lead. As
usual, once out front McGarvey was un-challenged and picked up his fifth win
of the year. Krause held on to second, with Jerry Timchak, Denny Petyak and
Tom Shaffer completing the top five. Jerry Lower and McGarvey won the
Bob Garvey led the modified feature for two circuits before George Sankey
came from sixth to the lead on lap three. His time at the front was short
lived as Lou Gentile took the lead and held Mike Stine at bay the rest of
the way. The top five were: Gentile, Stine, Sankey, Chetter Johnson and Red
Fordyce. Heat wins went to Stine and Gentile.
Bill Lyons was looking to win his first street stock feature of the season
as he took the lead at the start from Jim Boyer and was well on his way to
the win, but Boyer was not to be denied as he fought back and tried the
inside and outside before finally taking the lead when Lyons blow steam from
the engine ending his night and giving the lead to Boyer who took his second
win of the year. Mike Laughard, Bill Pluta, Tom Truxell and Eddie Hugill
completed the top five. Preliminaries went to: Jim Kirsch, Bill Pluta and
Mike Laughard, while Leroy Pershing won the consy.
Josh Jacoby beat Matt Summers into the first turn and led the way for six
laps, looking for his first career win. Rick Kreasko took the lead from
Jacoby and then had to hold off Ron Hanna who made his way into second. The
top five at the checkered were: Kreasko, Hanna, Jacoby, Bill Sigafoes and
Neil Berndt. Kreasko and John Kuzemchak won the Heats.
DOG TRACKS: 106 cars filled the pits including22 late models, 20 limited
late models, 14 modifieds, 28 street stocks and 22 pure stocks.John
Replogle, the DHS Flagman who was seriously injured in a motorcycle accident
one year ago visited the speedway Friday and threw the green flag to start
the street stock main.The Thunder Dog Challenge will be held this weekend
and coming up on August 10 the first ever visit by the Renegade STARS Late
Models will visit the Strongstown oval.For more information visit the web
site at


#1 COCHRAN LATE MODELS: 1. Sam Stile, Charleroi; 2. Paul Michny, Pine
Flats; 3. Mike Blose Dayton; 4. Rodney Phillips, Punxsutawney; 5. Dave
Peterman, Indiana; 6. Andy Fries, Mercersburg; 7. D.J. Troutman; 8. Matt
Gaston, Indiana; 9. John Yamrick, Clymer; 10. Rick Strong, Chambersville;

Krause, Houtzdale; 3. Jerry Timchak, Houtzdale; 4. Denny Petyak, Gallitzen;
5. Tom Shaffer, Punxsutawney; 6. Bob Kelly, East Freedom; 7. Larry Sell,
Claysburg; 8. Ray Sgro, Indiana; 9. Duane Bash, Clymer; 10. Dan Lee,

MODIFIEDS: 1. Lou Gentile, Hubbard, Ohio; 2. Mike Stine, Smithmill; 3.
George Sankey, Osceola Mills; 4. Chetter Johnson, Penn Run; 5. Red Fordyce,
Strongstown; 6. Bob Garvey, Allport; 7. Jerry Bowser, Punxsutawney; 8. Bob
Gaston, Hillburn, New York; 9. Ron Butterworth, Osceola Mills; 10. Marvin
Williams, Tyrone;

STREET STOCKS: 1. Jim Boyer, Indiana; 2. Mike Laughard, Strongstown; 3. Bill
Pluta Jr., Carinbrook; 4. Tom Truxell, Plum Boro; 5. Eddie Hugill, New
Washington; 6. Shawn Mogle, Ernest; 7. Chuck Cook, Authman; 8. Ron Lute,
Loretto; 9. #40F, Youngstown; 10. Leroy Pershing, Cookport;

PURE STOCKS: 1.Rick Kreasko, Windber; 2. Ron Hanna, Mundy's Corner; 3. Josh
Jacoby, Fernwood; 4. Bill Sigafoes, Blairsville; 5. Neil Berndt, Northern
Cambria; 6. Dave McClellan, Bolivar; 7. John Mazey, Bolivar; 8. Matt Luther,
Ebensburg; 9. Doug Reed, Cresson; 10. Tim Laughard, Strongstown;

Back to the Archives