Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Auto Tire and Parts Racepark Benton, MO
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 22, 2001 11:06 PM UIN: 16262997
Auto Tire and Parts Racepark

Benton, MO

Press Release

Saturday July 21, 2001

Contact: Jeff W. Thornbrough

143 Lakeside Drive

Sikeston, Mo

(573) 481-1015

Standridge bags fourth win in Sprints; Johnson takes first in Open-Wheel

After five inches of rain and torrential flash floods throughout the area on Thursday the Auto Tire and Parts Racepark was able to pull off a fantastic night of racing. Springfield, Ill driver Robbie Standridge, picked up the Winged Sprint car feature checkered flag. The all-time feature winner at the racepark, Terry Johnson, earned his first Open-Wheel Modified feature win. Johnny Houart picked up pure Street honors and Terry James claimed the Limited Late Model checkers.

Last weeks Winged Sprint feature winner Alex Shanks started from the pole position with Andy Holden also sharing the front row for the 25-lap event. Shanks and Holden won their heat races, qualifying them for the front row starting positions.

Shanks jumped past Holden on the start taking the advantage. Todd Rowland quickly took over second while Holden fell back to third. Fifth starting Chris Urish attempted a move around Holden for third when contact was made between the cars sending the 77u car of Urish’s into a spin after being airborne briefly. The 3h car of Holden was able to keep moving while Urish stopped on the track. The mishap brought out the first caution of evening.

A complete restart was in order since the field didn’t complete one lap under the green flag. That would be the last time the field would see the caution or green flag, as the remainder of the race went green-white-checkered.

When the green flag fell once again Shanks again quickly again jumped out to the lead. Holden held onto to second for one lap before abruptly dropping back to fifth as Standridge, Todd Rowland and Steve Short passed the front row starter.

Standridge moved into second after the pass on Holden with Rowland just behind him pressuring for the position. Rowland made the move around Standridge on the third circuit taking. Two laps later Rowland would move into the top position passing Shanks for the lead on lap six.

Rowland and Standridge put on a classic side-by-side battle for the next four laps with Rowland maintaining the high line with Standridge gripping the bottom.

Sliding around Rowland on the 12th circuit Standridge picked up the lead. The leaders were encountering heavy lapped traffic with varying track conditions making the race even more difficult.

The semi-dry front straight wore down on Shanks causing him to begin to slip back. Short, who had been running in fourth for 16 laps, made the move around Shanks for third.

The pressure wasn’t over for Shanks as eighth starter Jeff Davis began to battle with Shanks for the fourth position. Three laps later the polesitter dropped back one more position.

By the 22nd lap Standridge and Rowland has put over a half-lap on the entire field.

Standridge maintained the lead for the final 13 laps of the race holding off final charges from Rowland to earn he fourth win of the year. Rowland was regulated to second with Short finishing third, Davis fourth and 10th starting Keith Burch finished fifth.

The Open-Wheel Modified main event saw Danny Sissom jump out to the lead on the first lap and maintain the position for six laps before Robert Powers took over the spot.

Powers maintained the lead for the next three laps and looked to be the fastest car when a caution flag flew for Eric Franklin. The 02 car of Powers had a left-front flat tire and left the track for the tire-change on the ninth lap. Sissom inherited the lead.

Sissom led for the next eight laps before pulling out the track with mechanical problems, handing the lead to Terry Johnson.

Johnson held off charges from Chris Hall for the final three laps winning his first Open-Wheel main event of his career. Joseph Geisler finished third, Jeff Parmer and Robert Powers rounded out the top-five positions.

The Pure Street checkered flag feature was picked up by Johnny Houart with Cline Myers Jr. finishing second. Billy Hopkins finished third, Dietrich Bollinger was fourth and Dennis Shelby finished fifth.

Terry James earned his second Limited Late Model win on the year. Charlie Savage finished second, Henry Nash, Scott Gibbs and Jason Estes rounded out the top-five.

Next week the Thunder continues at Auto Tire and Parts Racepark with the Southern Missouri Dwarfs cars making there second appearance of the year.

The Results

July 21, 2001

Saturday Night

Winged Sprints

Finish-Driver Name-Car #- Hometown

Robbie Standridge (12) Springfield, Ill
Todd Rowland (14r) Jackson, Mo.
Steve Short (8) Farmington, Mo.
Jeff Davis (33) Pittsburgh, Ill
Keith Burch (24) Farmington, Mo.
Alex Shanks (1c) Marion, Ill
Shawn King (9) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Chris Urish (77u) Elkhart, Ill
Andy Holden (3h) Dudley, Mo.
Bob Thoman (7c) Higginsville, Mo.
Open-Wheel Modifieds

Terry Johnson (1j) Benton, Mo.
Chris Hall (66) Sikeston, Mo.
Joe Geisler (85g) St. Mary, Mo.
Jeff Parmer (5p) Fenton, Mo.
Robert Powers (02) Campbell, Mo.
Terry Baker (10) Scott City, Mo.
Jonathon Hall (99) Bertrand, Mo.
Eric Franklin (45) Barnhart, Mo.
Danny Sissom (95s) Cape Girardeau, Mo.
Mark Warren (33) Bertrand, Mo.
Limited Late Models

Terry James (19) Jackson, Mo.
Charlie Savage (13) Annapolis, Mo.
Henry Nash (99) Middlebrook, Mo.
Scott Gibbs (34) Bloomfield, Mo.
Jason Estes (18) Dielstadt, Mo.
Leo Kiefer (62) Perryville, Mo.
Jeff Sloan (11) West Frankfort, Ill
Gary Kinder (50) Jonesboro, Ill
Kent Nations (28) Farmington, Mo.
Jeff Asher (zip6) Middlebrook, Mo.
Pure Streets

Johnny Houart (34) Gideon, Mo.
Cline Myers Jr. (01) Scott City, Mo.
Billy Hopkins (c23) Caruthersville, Mo.
Dietrich Bollinger (8) Benton, Mo.
Dennis Shelby (s3) Bell City, Mo.
Tim Cater (c4) Manilla, Ark.
Jerry Bennett (74b) Dexter, Mo.
Pat Davidson (51) Jackson, Mo.
Patrick Naeger (155) Perryville, Mo.
Greg Casey (55) Sikeston, Mo.
End of Results (07-21-01)

Back to the Archives