Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Rex Richey Wins S.A.S. Jean Johnson Memorial
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 22, 2001 11:06 PM UIN: 16262997
Rex Richey Wins S.A.S. Jean Johnson Memorial

After the fireworks were through lighting up the sky as a salute to the late first lady of the Cleveland Speedway Jean Johnson, it was Rex Richey of Ringgold Georgia standing alone taking the $5,000 first place prize of the 11th annual Southern All-Star, Budweiser sponsored event. Richey took he lead from pole sitter Jamie Perry with a outside pass on lap 22 of the 60 lap “A” Main feature and built up a unrelinquishable lead despite the feverish efforts by defending race champion John Jones. “It’s really great to come back home here and win Jean’s race. I thought the world of her and together the Johnson’s help bring the racing in to what it is today.” stated Richey after climbing outta his # 87 “Underground Plumbing & Service, Dewayne’s Directional Drilling” GRT Chevrolet Monte Carlo racecar.

Forty-One (41) Super Late Models signed to attempt to qualify for the event. Local (Brute Squad) SLM racer Dewayne Smith of Cleveland set the president early in time trials turning a 14:625 second lap. That time seemed to stand good until another Brute Squad member Kent Hicks took to the track. Hicks clocked a 14:595 lap only to have it demolished a few minutes later when 1999 S.A.S. champion and now local racer Jamie Perry routed a 14:220 time. Perry’s time would stand tall even as Richey qualified moments later turning a 14:527 to lock down the third starting position behind Hicks. Rounding out the top five qualifiers was De. Smith and current Cleveland Speedway points leader David Smith, with a 14:672 lap.

In the first of two last chance consi’s. transferring the top three finishers to the feature, Bryon Michaels of Florence AL raced to victory from the pole position. Jones and Paul Tims finished behind Michaels for transfer positions. Mike Tinker and Cleveland Speedway 2000 rookie of the year weren’t so lucky despite finishing fourth and fifth. In the second consi. it became survival of the fittest after early race leader Patrick Duggan spun in turn four. Jason Welshan inherited the lead and held off eighth starting Carnell Parker for the win. Local racer Tim Richardson also earned a transfer spot finishing third ahead of Cleveland Speedway rookie racer Chris Beavers and Gabe Wilson. Two S.A.S. series provisional went to Patrick Duggan and John Llewellyn to complete the 24 car starting field.

As a tribute to the late Mrs. Johnson the SLM field roared by with a four wide salute to the fans before taking the green flag for the feature. >From the pole Perry raced into the lead with Hicks, Da. Smith, De. Smith and Richey following. Richey raced back around both Smith’s to secure again the third place spot before the first caution appeared on lap 7 as Chad Ogle got bit by what would become the turn four “monster”. Tims and Richardson were caught up in the incident also only suffering minor damage. Lamar Scoggins jumped to the outside after the restart a began his quest by De. Smith in efforts to crack the top five. Da. Smith lost control next in turn four stacking the field behind his machine. The most controversial caution flew next on lap 15 as Bryon Michaels drifted under and into Scott Randolph and Mark Martin racing for position, resulting in Martin going for a ride in turn four. The two Nashville area racers went at it head to head as Martin intentionally rammed Randolph under caution pitting the pair for the night, along with an ill fated Patrick Duggan. After the lengthy yellow period Richey worked past second place Hicks on the high side before De. Smith got bit by turn four trying to get back by Scoggins in fifth, solo spinning his mount. On the restart Richey began working on Perry as the two swapped momentary positions until lap 22 when Richey gained control from the high side. Scoggins worked by Hicks for third as Jones began making his presence felt racing towards the top five by reigning track champion Andy Dill. Hicks fine run ended with thirteen laps remaining as again the turn four “monster” grabbed hold of the fourth place racer. Jones cracked the top three on the restart making quick work of Scoggins before going after Perry. Jones and Perry went side by side with Jones prevailing with under ten to go. By his time Richey had built up enough lead to take the win despite back marker traffic at the races end. Scoggins worked past Perry for third with three laps remaining leaving Andy Dill to wrap up the top five.

Official Results:
1.Rex Richey (# 87) of Ringgold GA
2.John Jones (# J1) of Rock Springs GA
3.Lama Scoggins (# 32) of Georgetown TN
4.Jamie Perry (# P4) of Ringgold GA
5.Andy Dill (# 39) of Georgetown TN
6.Shane Tankersly (# T31) of Morganton GA
7.Todd Morrow (# T1) of Old Fort TN
8.Randy Burrows (# 95) of Chattanooga TN
9.Kevin Gibson (# M45) of Ringgold GA
10.John Llewellyn (# T3) of Knoxville TN
11.Byron Michaels (# B17) of Florence AL
12.Carnell Parker (# 75) of Clarksville TN
13.Tim Richardson (# 01) of Chattanooga TN
14.Jason Welshan (# 29) of Maryville TN
15.James Gamble (# 27) of Ooltewah TN
16.Kent Hicks (# 15) of Cleveland TN
17.Dewayne Smith (# 21) of Cleveland TN
18.David Smith (# 22D) of Chattanooga TN
19.Patrick Duggan (# 15) of Lenior City TN
20.Scott Randolph (# 37) of Baxter TN
21.Paul Tims (# 84) of Georgetown TN
22.Mark Martin (# 90) of Baxter TN
23.Chad Ogle (# 10) of Sevierville TN
24.Ricky Holland (# 42) of Ooltewah TN

Claimer Late Models: Winner -- Mark Cross (# 3) of Cleveland (1ST Career LM Type Racecar Win)
2.Bobby Doss (# 28), 3.Chris Powell (# P9), 4.David Gamble (# 20), 5.Charlie Hatler (# H22)

Hobby: Winner – Doug Works (# 35) of Cleveland
2.Richard Dixon (# 3), 3.Ken Muse (# 40), 4.Shawn Reese (# 16), 5.Stephanie Yancy (# Y7)

Pony Stock: Winner – Justin Winters (# J1) of Benton
2.Jason Spraker (# 25), 3.Wendall Ingram (# 24), 4.Tim Duggard (# 12), 5.Lindsay Doss (# 00)

Street: Winner – Donald Forgey (# 71) of Cleveland
2.Anthony Hawkins (# 3), 3.Herbert Chambers (# 31), 4.Roy Nichols (# 00), 5.John Chambers (# 47)

Back to the Archives