Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Dedwylder Wins an All Out War at Columbus Speedway!
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 22, 2001 05:34 PM UIN: 16262997
Dedwylder Wins an All Out War at Columbus Speedway!

Columbus, Mississippi-Once again the car count in the pits closed in on the
century mark as the largest weekly racing event crowd of the season was
treated to perhaps the best race of the year at Johnny Stokes' Columbus
Speedway. The new racing format also produced a lightning quick racing
program with all racing concluded at 10:40 pm. Needless to say, it was a
very fan friendly program to the delight of all in attendance.

Action got underway in the Super Late Model division with the "Raging Rebel"
David Breazeale of Four Corners, Mississippi setting fast time during Pole Qualifying over the 21 car field. Breazeale would
draw the dreaded number six to invert the field, putting Scott Dedwylder and
Joe D Hollis on the front row for the 30 lap main event. The feature would
begin with the drivers fanning out three and four wide all around the
exciting 3/10's mile high banked clay oval. David Breazeale began a fierce
charge to the front using the extreme bottom side of the speedway taking
seventh place starter Mike Boland along with him on the hub. While the
action unfolded, Dedwylder was showing the way in the lead on the top side
of the speedway with Steve Russell applying heavy pressure for the top spot.

The caution flag would be thrown on lap nine as Breazeale's night would come
to an abrupt end as he would retire for the evening after a flat tire caused
him to go over the turn one banking. The remainder of the 30 lap event would
see a torrid pace with Mike Boland working his way into the top three
setting the stages for some of the most exciting laps of racing ever
witnessed at Columbus Speedway.

Fans at the speedway were treated to a three wide battle for the lead that
began on lap nineteen. Scott Dedwylder was leading using the top line of the
track; Steve Russell and Mike Boland were using the bottom of the track with
Boland almost in the infield. The three drivers would go three wide, racing
inches apart, battling for the lead lap after the lap to the delight of the
cheering fans. All three drivers would have opportunities to take the win as
they weaved their way through lapped traffic. Boland would actually lead on
lap twenty eight as he had passed Russell for second and was threatening to
take the win. The white flag would wave with Dedwylder and Boland side by
side and lapped traffic ahead. Dedwylder would stay high as Boland ducked
low under a lapped car as the three crossed the finish line three wide with
Dedwylder taking the win by half a car length over Boland. Dedwylder of
Vossburg, Mississippi was driving his Mind Bender New Media sponsored Robert
Brown powered GRT Grand Prix. Mike Boland of Cuba, Alabama finished second
followed by Pontotoc's Steve Russell, with Columbus drivers Joe D Hollis and
Rick Rickman rounding out the top five. Completing the top ten were current
points leader Shawn Edwards of Louisville, followed by Danny Hayes, Terry
Wilson, Tony Gray, and Josh Fuller.

The co main event of the evening was for the Mississippi Modified's Summer
Championship. The fans would see Columbus driver Brian Rickman take his
first ever Modified win and the Championship trophy. Brian Hollis of
Columbus was second followed by Meridian's Traci Hudnall in a rare Columbus
appearance, Dr, David Eaton of Northport and David Griffin. Perennial
Modified winner Jason Hollis lost a motor during qualifying and did not
compete in the main event.

Bill Sudduth layed claim to being the hottest Pro Street driver in 2001 at
Columbus as the Millport, Alabama driver won another Pro Street main event.
Tupelo's Paul Robinson was second followed by Detroit, Alabama's Frank Cox,
Rusty Duncan, and Todd Graham.

The Street Stock division once again had a full field of entrants but the
man with the bounty, Lee Ray of Columbus picked up yet another win. The
bounty will be $400 on Ray when racing returns to Columbus Speedway on
August 4th, plus the $500 to win Summer Slam 20 for the Street Stocks and
contingencies could make a win over Ray worth $975 for some lucky driver.
Jonathan Edwards of Vernon, Alabama was second followed by Andrew Fortner,
Bruce Myers of Columbus, and Danny Gabel.

The Mini Stock win went to Buddy Glover of Vernon, Alabama as the top three
cars ran nose to tail for the majority of the event until Glover separated
himself from Scott Gable and Amory driver Tim Ritter to take the win. Joel
Hamner was fourth and Jeff Massey was fifth. Alabama's Tommy Brasher claimed
the Pro 4 win over Jimmy Beachler of Carrolton, James Blakney, David Goins,
and Steve Lowe.

Columbus Speedway will be closed this coming Saturday night July 28th and
will return to action on August 4th for the Street Stock "Summer Slam 20"
plus a Full racing Program. The Mississippi State Championship Challenge
Series for the Super Late Models will be at Columbus Speedway on August 11th
for the running of the 3rd Annual James Nickoles Memorial along with world
famous stuntman Kenny Powers performing automobile stunts. For more
information please visit or call the Columbus
Speedway event hotline at 662-241-5004.

Picture: Mississippi Modified Winner Brian Rickman of Columbus.

Back to the Archives