Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 22, 2001 12:07 PM UIN: 16262997

Media Contact: Judy Gower (724) 853-RACE/

IMPERIAL, PA…Keith Barbara of South Park made an exciting charge to his
fourth QPI Tools Late Model feature of the season Saturday at Pittsburgh's
Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. The victory on WPTT-AM 1360 night also moved
last year's rookie of the year into the points lead by two markers over
defending track champion, Mark Banal.

Irwin's Brian Laraway made it two for #2 as he claimed his second Limited
Late Model main event. Calcutta, OH's Larry Kugel won his third straight
E-Modified feature. Neal Isiminger of Washington became a three-time winner
in the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and Oakdale's Joshua Langer drove to
his sixth Amateur Stock feature victory.

Mark Moats jumped to the lead at the start of the QPI Tools Late Model
feature. Lou Bradich had taken second from Jason Cisson on lap two and set
his sights on the leader. Moats maintained a steady lead with Bradich trying
to close the gap. On lap seven, seventh starting Keith Barbara rolled to
third, and began to track down Moats and Bradich. As the leaders caught the
back of the field with less than five laps to go, Moats' lead was shrinking
as Bradich and Barbara turned up the heat. Barbara dove low in three and
four to take second from Bradich completing lap twenty-two, and then quickly
blew by Moats on the next circuit for the lead. Moats, Bradich, Joe Johnson
and Ed Ferree followed him to the finish. Ben Miley, Dave Wade, Cisson, Bill
Adler and Jim Zarin completed the to ten. Barbara was also the Monarch Oil
Hard Charger.

Despite some late race cautions, Brian Laraway was smooth from start to
finish in the Limited Late Model feature. Eighth starting George Kowatic
rallied to second. Bobby Castelveter, Gary Cellone, and sixteenth starting
Tony Musolino rounded out the top five. Six through ten were: Danny Rich,
Tom Schirnhofer, Wayne Tessean, Pete Loria and Bob Damron. Rich and Kowatic
won the preliminaries. Musolino was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

Mike Anderson set the pace for the first four laps of the E-Modified feature
before problems under the hood ended his night. Matt Smith inherited the
lead on the restart, but Larry Kugel had the lead by the end of the fifth lap
and was never headed in taking the win. Ralph Hysong Jr, Jeff Broniszewski,
Kurt Halbedl and Smith completed the top five. Next in line were: Scott
Gunn, Herm Myers, Fred Varney, and Anderson. Halbedl won the heat. Kugel
was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

Neal Isiminger moved ahead of A.J. Poljak for the lead on lap three of the
Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stock feature. Isiminger then had to withstand the
late race charge of Rich Apolito for the victory. Bob Heim was third, Craig
Kamicker fourth and Dave Beck fifth. Jimmy Arnold, Charlie DiLoreto, Joe
Anthony, Shawn Bryan and Bob Betz rounded out the top ten. Apolito and Gary
Smith were the heat race winners. Kamicker was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.

The Amateur Stock feature saw Joshua Langer lead wire to wire. John Cain was
the runner-up, ahead of Ian Tomei, Bobby Siemon and Butch Levandosky.

This Saturday, July 28th, will find the QPI Tools Late Models, Limited Lates,
E-Modifieds, Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks and Amateur Stocks all in
action, plus a
Demolition derby. Gates open at 5pm with the starting time being pushed back
one-half hour to 7:30. It's also "Christmas in July - Racers for Tots" night
sponsored by Medical Center Brace Company, and Bill Kell Racing Engines.
Anyone donating a new, unwrapped, toy or monetary donation to "Racers for
Tots", which benefits the Marine Corp Reserves "Toys for Tots" program, will
receive a $2 coupon good for any future event this season at PPMS.

Heat Race Winners: Ed Ferree, Keith Barbara
Feature (25 Laps): 1) Keith Barbara, South Park 2) Mark Moats, Hookstown
3) Lou Bradich, Chester WV 4) Joe Johnson, Monaca 5) Ed Ferree, Saxonburg
6) Ben Miley 7) Dave Wade 8) Jason Cisson 9) Bill Adler 10) Jim Zarin
11) Mark Banal 12) Jim Lepro 13) Rick Heim 14) Bob Williams 15) Steve Fife
16) DJ Miller

Heat Race Winners: Danny Rich, George Kowatic
Feature (20 Laps): 1) Brian Laraway, Irwin 2) George Kowatic, Moon Twp. 3)
Bobby Castelveter, Moon Twp. 4) Gary Cellone, Bridgeville 5) Tony Musolino
6) Danny Rich 7) Tom Schirnhofer 8) Wayne Tessean 9) Pete Loria 10) Bob
Damron 11) Al Atallah 12) Tom Duratz 13) Vince Teatino 14) Mark Kelly
15) Jim Stephans 16) Louie Bradich 17) Jon Hodgkiss 18) Mike Morgan 19)
Jeffrey Schall (DNS)

Heat Race Winner: Kurt Halbedl Feature (15 Laps): 1) Larry Kugel,
Calcutta OH
2) Ralph Hysong, Shippenport 3) Jeff Broniszewski, Coraopolis 4) Kurt
Halbedl, Imperial 5) Matt Smith, Charleroi 6) Scott Gunn 7) Herm Myers 8)
Fred Varney 9) Mike Anderson 10) Vince Laboon (DNS) 11) Joe Brown (DNS)

Heat Race Winners: Rich Apolito, Gary Smith
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Neal Isiminger, Washington 2) Rich Apolito, Carnegie
3) Bob Heim, N. Hills 4) Craig Kamicker, Hopewell 5) Dave Beck, Imperial
6) Jimmy Arnold 7) Charlie DiLoreto 8) Joe Anthony 9) Shawn Bryan 10) Bob
Betz 11) Wayne Johnson 12) Doug Foster 13) Darryl Robison 14) AJ Poljak
15) Gary Rodgers 16) Mark Jaworski 17) Stacie White 18) Brian Scheller
19) Ryan Marks 20) Gary Smith 21) Mike McCord (DNS)

Feature (12 Laps) 1) Joshua Langer, Oakdale 2) John Cain, Pittsburgh 3)
Ian Tomei, Stowe Twp. 4) Bobby Siemon, Castle Shannon 5) Butch Levandosky,
Finleyville 6) Aaron Fraser 7) Harry Wieland 8) Jerry Nation 9) Davy Lee
10) Gabe Hahka 11) Steve Levandosky 12) Glenn Knopp Jr.

Back to the Archives