Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River Speedway, July 21 race results
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 22, 2001 11:55 AM UIN: 16262997
Duck River Speedway, July 21 race results

The addition of some 50 truck loads of clay on the ¼ mile surface made for a very fast track Saturday night and Lewisburg’s David Gentry took advantage of the new surface by turning a 13.157 during time trials to earn the pole position for the feature event. The pole position was short lived as Jimmy Nowlin jumped out front and led the first eleven laps before Gentry slipped by for the lead. Once in front Gentry drove to his sixth Late Model victory of the year with Nowlin holding on to a strong second. Shannon Davis was shaking down a new GRT chassis and finished third ahead of first time competitor Stewart Mayes. David Sells rounded out the Top 5 with his best run of the year at Duck River.
Late Models
1) David Gentry
2) Jimmy Nowlin
3) Shannon Davis
4) Stewart Mayes
5) David Sells
6) James Breeden
7) Todd Minor
8) John David Todd
9) Tom Higgins
The 2 barrel Late Model feature was a great battle with heat winner Rick Curren and Tim Smith swapping the lead on several occasions before Smith finally secured the win. Curren had another strong run to nab second with points leader Josh Lunsford getting by David Seibers in the waning laps for third. Billy Barnett rounded out the top 5.
2-Barrell Late Models
1) Tim Smith
2) Rick Curren
3) Josh Lunsford
4) David Seibers
5) Billy Barnett
6) Brandon Scott
7) Allen Carter
The Open Wheel feature was a barnburner with David Gentry picking up his eighth victory of the season (14th overall!) by coming from the rear and taking the lead with seven laps remaining after early leader Mark Haddon had a tire go down. Haddon’s flat tire deprived the fans of a terrific battle between Gentry and Haddon for the win. Shannon Davis led briefly before a near spin in turn two deprived the Estill Springs racer of his shot at victory. Davis held on to second with Bob Jarrett finishing a close second ahead of Junior Daniels. John Schetrompf won his heat race then spun early in the feature and finally came from the back to grab a fine fifth place finish. Haddon won the other heat race.
Open Wheel
1) David Gentry
2) Shannon Davis
3) Bob Jarrett
4) Junior Daniels
5) John Schetrompf
6) Dwayne Waid
7) Mark Haddon
8) Mark Pirtle
9) Ken Martin
10) Bryan Reed
The Super Stocks put on their usual display of close competition and excitement with Larry Landers taking a close win over a hard charging Jeff McPeak. Mike Johnson was third ahead of Farris Lovett and Clyde Bruce. Landers and Jay George were the heat race winners.
Super Stock
1) Larry Landers
2) Jeff McPeak
3) Mike Johnson
4) Farris Lovett
5) Clyde Bruce
6) Dean Travis
7) Tash Bruce
8) Greg Curl
9) Jeff Shields
10) Clint Alexander
Steve Kennedy stayed atop the Outlaw Pony point standings by topping Johnny Crowell and Jeff Roberson. Keith Layne and 14 year old Clay Lawrence were fourth and fifth. Crowell and 14 year old Blake Carter were the heat winners. The youngsters are coming!
Outlaw Pony
1) Steve Kennedy
2) Johnny Crowell
3) Jeff Roberson
4) Keith Layne
5) Clay Lawrence
6) Anthony Dodson
7) Bo Owens
8) Terry Whitley
9) Blake Carter
10) Jimmy Dale
Michael Chumbley continued his domination of the Pure Pony division by beating heat winner early leader Anthony Seibers and Billy Davidson for the win. Anthony Dodson won the other heat race.
Mini Stock
1) Michael Chumbley
2) Anthony Seibers
3) Billy Davidson
4) Jimmy Calahan
5) Joseph Storey
6) David Wallace
7) Gary Reed
8) Tony Patterson
9) Dudley Rogers
10) Andy Rogers
Chad Green was impressive in the "Rookie" Pony feature as he bested heat winners Chance Rogers and Earl Dodd for his first win of the season.
"Rookie" Pony
1) Chad Green
2) Chance Rogers
3) Earl Dodd

Racing continues this Saturday night July 28.
Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives