Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 16, 2001 12:34 PM UIN: 16262997

July 16, 2001 - Greenwood, NE - A thrilling night of NASCAR Weekly Racing
Series action wrapped up with a familiar name in victory lane as Ed Kosiski
drove to his second victory of the season in the Super Late Model division
at Nebraska Raceway Park. Kosiski joined his brother, Joe, as the season's
only two-time winners in a highly competitive Super Late Model division.

Kosiski, who won the track's inaugural Super Late Model A feature back in
April, was thrilled to be in victory lane once again. Kosiski ended a
drought of nearly three months at NRP by overtaking Mark Wyman with two laps
remaining to win the Super Late Model feature before a season-best crowd of
3,790 on Sunday night.

Wyman looked to be on his way to victory for most of the race, but Kosiski
found his rhythm behind the wheel started to close the gap when a caution
flag set up a shootout over the final eight laps of the 25-lap feature.
After the restart, Kosiski used the low side of the track to dive underneath
Wyman and take the lead with just two laps remaining. Kosiski prevailed by
just over a car length over Wyman. Points leader Joe Kosiski finished

"The caution didn't help me," Ed Kosiski said. "I had just caught Mark when
the caution came out and I lost all that momentum. After the caution, it
took me six laps to get my momentum going again." Kosiski added, "There are
20 guys who can win out here on any given night."

Rick Stolley worked his way through the field and eventually grabbed the
lead with four laps remaining to claim his first win of the season in the
Walker Uniform Rental Grand National division. Stolley was glued to the low
side of the track for the entire race, nearly touching the inside guardrail
as he went through the turns. Stolley used the low line following a restart
in the closing laps of the race to take the lead from David Jorgensen Jr. in
the 20-lap race. Jorgensen finished in second with Brian Kenkel in third.

In the O'Reilly Auto Parts Pro-Am A feature, Scott Carlson won his fifth
race of the season with some good driving and a little help from the yellow
flag. Rick Negrete took an early lead and pulled away from the field in the
following laps. But a caution flag late in the race brought Scott Carlson
and the rest of the field back within striking distance. Following the
restart, Negrete could not hold off the hard-charging Carlson who took the
lead with two laps remaining. Negrete finished second with points leader
Scott Anderson in third.

"That yellow flag really helped me out," Carlson said. "Rick had a really
fast car tonight. I wouldn't have been able to catch him without the

Tom Myers was thrilled to visit victory lane as he won his first race of the
season in the Jasper Engines and Transmissions Hobby Stock A feature. Myers
used a late surge to edge points leader Joe Feyen and David Christensen at
the checkered flag. Following a restart with four laps left remaining,
Myers made his move on the low side of the track and surged into the lead
with just two laps remaining.

After the racing action, fans stayed in their seats for the smashing action
of the second demoliton derby of the season. After the smoke cleared, Mark
Pafford was declared the winner.

Racing continues next Sunday as Max I. Walker Uniform Rental presents Walker
Weekend with the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series and Kid's Money Grab. All four
divisions will be in action including double Super Late Model A features.
During intermission kids will take to the track as thousands of coins will
be thrown out for them to gather. Prizes, race car rides, music and more
will just be a part of the fun. Adults $11, Senior Citizens, $9 and kids12
and under will be admitted free with a paid adult. Gates open at 4:30 with
racing at 6.

Sunday night's results:

A-Feature #1: 1. Ed Kosiski, 2. Mark Wyman, 3. Joe Kosiski, 4. Jason
Hobscheidt, 5. Al Zeitner, 6. John Hampel, 7. Todd McKee, 8. Scott
Koskovich, 9. Leon Zeitner, 10. Davy Nall, 11. Mike Nanfito, 12. Jim
Jorgensen, 13. Mel Zeitner, 14. Terry Buresh, 15. Bill Mlnarik, 16. Vic
Lovejoy, 17. Rob Wagner, 18. Jay Cooper Jr., 19. Ross Evans, 20. Chad
Inserra, 21. Donnie McClellan, 22. Landon Smith

Heat Race Winners: Todd McKee, Scott Koskovich

Points Leaders: 1. Joe Kosiski 412, 2. Ed Kosiski 376, 3. Scott Koskovich,

A-Feature #1: 1. Rick Stolley, 2. Dave Jorgensen Jr., 3. Brian Kenkel, 4.
Craig Preble, 5. Mike Collins, 6. Ron Dake, 7. Jody Krug, 8. Dave Cook, 9.
Kevin Hamele, 10. Bill Leighton, 11. Mike Wallace, 12. John Kinney Jr., 13.
Pat Krug, 14. Russ Hadan, 15. Gary Leapley, 16. Jeff Tilley, 17. Ron Tilley,
18. Curt Pritchard, 19. Dave Jorgensen Sr., 20. Jason Waite, 21. Butch
Levell, 22. Tyler Lee Ray, 23. Matt Myers, 24. Rick Havenridge, 25. Mike
Meyer, 26. Scott Waldron

B-Feature #1: 1. Jeff Tilley, 2. Bill Leighton, 3. Ron Tilley, 4. Mike
Meyer, 5. Rick Havenridge, 6. Dennis Smith, 7. Clint Benson, 8. Gary Joens
Jr. 9. Brian Barrett, 10. Kathy Cook, 11. Corey Zeitner, 12. Marty Steinbach

B-Feature #2: 1. Curt Pritchard, 2. Jason Waite, 3. Butch Levell, 4. Russ
Hadan, 5. Scott Waldron, 6. Mike Danburg, 7. Dave Doll, 8. Harry Nixon, 9.
Jeff Coe, 10. Doug Newcomer

Heat Race Winners: John Kinney Jr., Tyler Lee Ray, Jody Krug, Mike Wallace

Points Leaders: 1. Mike Wallace 348, 2. Rick Stolley 340, 3. Mike Collins

A-Feature: 1. Scott Carlson, 2. Rick Negrete, 3. Scott Anderson, 4. Mark
Day, 5. Curt Drake, 6. Chuck Dillon, 7. Brian Scott, 8. Jeff Bonney, 9. Matt
Patak, 10. Alan Schmitt, 11. Larry Robinson Sr. 12. Dan Jackson, 13. Jerry
Turek, 14. Ron Tex Jr., 15. Larry Robinson Jr., 16. Kevin Gigax, 17. Nick
Hermsen, 18. Dan Vincent, 19. Doug Stevenson, 20. Dan Hall, 21. Don Mohr,
22. Russ Joons, 23. Steve Peoples

B-Feature #1: 1. Ron Tex Jr., 2. Nick Hermsen, 3. Alan Schmitt, 4. Don
Mohr, 5. Dan/Rich Steier, 6. Bob Wallace, 7. Tim Moore, 8. Jerry Benedict,
9. Andy Thompsen, 10. Jason Longmeyer, 11. Jason Heiman, 12. Terry
Cleveland, 13. Ray Dessel, 14. Rick Feldman

B-Feature #2: 1. Dan Jackson, 2. Steve Peoples, 3. Kevin Gigax, 4. Todd
Schmitt, 5. Bob Tanner, 6. Todd Remmereid, 7. Gary Vincent, 8. Denny
Berghahn, 9. Les Andersen, 10. Louis Lerette, 11. Scott Gourley, 12. Denny
Haukaas, 13. Nick Steier, 14. Marty Steinbach

Heat Race Winners: Jeff Bonney, Scott Carlson, Matt Patak, Scott Anderson

Points Leaders: 1. Scott Anderson 1659, 2. Mark Day 1588, 3. Scott Carlson


A-Feature: 1. Tom Myers, 2. Joe Feyen, 3. David Christensen, 4. Jeremy
Moss, 5. Ben Heyne, 6. Eric Hanson, 7. Travis Alley, 8. Mike Hansen, 9. Greg
Houdesheldt, 10. Herbie Ziemann, 11. Kurt Mackie, 12. John Austin, 13. Tim
Terry, 14. Chris Earith, 15. Tony Pavic, 16. Dan Simmerman, 17. Adam Von
Busch, 18. Jesse McNeal, 19. Marc Vinkenberg, 20. Ron Allen, 21. Tim
Pritchett Jr.

Heat Race Winners: Adam Von Busch, Travis Alley

Points Leaders: 1. Joe Feyen 1461, 2. Travis Alley 1403, 3. Tony Pavic 1396

Back to the Archives