Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 16, 2001 06:49 AM UIN: 16262997
For Immediate Release July 14, 2001

CLEARFIELD, PA - Beech Creek driver George Fultz exploded into victory lane
for the $2,000 Independence Day Explosion Sids Subs Late Model feature win
Saturday night at Hidden Valley Speedway on Reed Cabling and VCR Repair
Trophy night.
Derek Rodkey of Osceola Mills defeated the four cylinders for his first
career win and Mike Stine of Smithmill picked up his first Kneppy's
Fireworks Small Block Modified feature of the season. Frank Little of
Woodland added his name to the list of non-repeat winners in the Northwest
Bae Kennel Pure Stocks and Dan Smeal of Ramey won the 84 Lumber Street Stock
Bobby Stocks and Tony Lombardi lead the late models to the green flag, with
Stokes going around in turn two to halt the action immediately. He tailed
the field and Lombardi took the lead on the restart, and looked to be headed
for his first HVS win in nine years, but George Fultz had other plans, using
the low groove to his advantage and taking the lead on lap 17. Once in the
lead, Fultz began to open up a sizeable lead. Luke Hoffner and Keith
Crossley found their way into the second and third positions and set their
sites on the leader.
Hoffner tried every groove imaginable but he could not find the right line
or the right power, as Fultz held tough and took the win. Hoffner, Crossley,
Stokes and Rusty Whitmore completed the top five. Stokes and Lombardi won
the preliminaries.
George Sankey and Mike Stine led the small block modifieds to the start,
but Sankey lost the handle exiting turn for at the start and spun in front
of the field. Sankey was collected by several cars, and was done for the
night. The restart saw Stine lead the first lap, before Spencer Husted moved
into the lead. Husted and Stine began pulling away from the field holding
their own race, when Stine moved to the inside and regained the lead from
Husted on lap ten. Once out front, Stine never relinquished the spot, taking
his first win of the season. Husted held on for second, with Faye Lumadue,
Marvin Williams and Bob Garvey completing the top five. Heat wins for the 22
mods went to Chetter Johnson, Faye Lumadue and Spencer Husted.
From green to checkered it was all Dan Smeal and Kip Charles in the street
stock feature as the two ran nose to tail the entire race. Charles did
everything short of spinning the leader to get the lead, but came home as
the runner up once again. Doug Tibbens and Tom Williams also battled for the
lead, but they too came home short. The top five at the end were: Smeal,
Charles, Tibbens, Ray Billotte and Aaron Casher. Heats wins went to Tibbens
and Smeal.
In the four-cylinder feature, Derek Rodkey was the lone leader in the four
cylinder feature, beating Shawn Luzier into the first turn and never gave up
the position. Rodkey went to get his first career feature win by keeping
Cecilia Olson and Joe Leigey at bay. When Randy Neepers checkered flag fell
it was Rodkey, Olson, Leigey, Steve Flannigan and Chris Farrell completing
the top five. The heats were won by Leigey and Flannigan.
Frank Little went from fourth to first in once lap taking the lead from
Harvey Wallbanger and Lester Hudson. Little then had to hold off his son,
Gary and Gary McElheny to get his first victory of the season. With the win,
Little became the sixth different winner in the class. The top five were:
Frank Little, Gary Little, McElheny, Rick Hemphill and Hudson. Heat wins
went to McElheny and Hudson.
HVS PIT NOTES: 85 cars filled the pits including: 14 Late Models, 22
modifieds, 14 street stocks, 13 four cylinder and 22 pure stocks.Pat Carfley
was noticeably missing from the action. His son, Pat Jr. was critically
injured in a motorcycle accident earlier in the week and is fighting for his
life in a Pittsburgh Hospital. Our prayers and thoughts are with the
family.The Enduro race was cancelled on Sunday due to a lack of interest.
Another area speedway had scheduled the same type of event for the same day.
A special feature only will be run for the cars soon during intermission.The
double points event will be held this Saturday at 7 p.m. for the late
models, small block modifieds, street stocks, pure stocks and four
cylinders. The rescheduled Dale Earnhardt night will also be held. Adult
fans wearing Dale Earnhardt apparel will receive $1 off general admission
and there are a number of Earnhardt items to be given away.Coming on August
11th is Fan Appreciation night a regular show plus a demo derby will be
held.For more information check out the web site at hope to see you at the speedway the really is
hidden.Hidden Valley.


Sid's Subs Late Models: 1. George Fultz, Beech Creek; 2. Luke Hoffner,
Turbotville; 3. Keith Crossley; 4. Bobby Stokes, Milton; 5. Rusty Whitmore,
Franklin; 6. Kevin Zimmerman, Reynoldsville; 7. Duane Stiner, Houtzdale; 8.
Cody Schultz, Hyde; 9. Dan Chappel, Danville; 10.John Brady, Clearfield.

Kneppy's Fireworks Small Block Modifieds: 1. Mike Stine, Smithmill; 2.
Spencer Husted, West Decatur; 3. Faye Lumadue, Spring Valley; 4. Marvin
Williams, Tyrone; 5. Bob Garvey, Allport; 6. Darrell Rhine, Anneville; 7.
Craig Casher, Mineral Springs; 8. Tom Holden, Tiona; 9. Chris Henry,
Clearfield; 10. Bobby Roos, Hyde.

84 Lumber Street Stocks: 1. Dan Smeal, Ramey; 2. Kip Charles, Clearfield; 3.
Doug Tibbens; 4. Ray Billott, Mineral Springs; 5. Aaron Casher, Mineral
Springs; 6. Denny Schmoke, Morrisdale; 7. Todd Mathews, Sanborn; 8. Bobby
Hamer, Port Matilda; 9. Tom Williams, Tyrone; 10. George Baney, Clearfield.

Four Cylinders: 1. Derek Rodkey, Osceola Mills; 2. Cecilia Olsen,
Clearfield; 3. Joe Leigey, Mt. Zion; 4. Steve Flannigan, Clearfield; 5.
Chris Farrell, Clearfield; 6. Dave Farrell, Clearfield; 7. Adam Nixon,
Grampian; 8. Randy Luzier, Clearfield; 9. Shawn Luzier, Clearfield; 10. Mark
Hummel, West Desatur.

Northwest Bae Kennels Pure Stocks: 1. Frank Little, Woodland; 2. Gary
Little, Woodland; 3. Gary McElheny, Blandburg; 4. Rick Hemphill, Osceola
Mills; 5. Lester Hudson, Clearfield; 6. Bob Bowery, Clearfield; 7. Sheddy
Graham III, Clearfield; 8. Don Geer Jr., Clearfield; 9. Jim Davis,
Philipsburg; 10. Rob Bailey, Clearfield.

Back to the Archives