Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 16, 2001 06:44 AM UIN: 16262997

Denny Eckrich proved he is still in the points race at the Dubuque Speedway by notching his third NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature of the season. The win is one below defending National Champion Gary Webb’s total of four victories and tightens the season-long battle to only 26 points separating the two drivers.

Starting the race ninth, Eckrich made a quick charge to the front, overtaking early leader Jon Rogers on the third lap. Eckrich checked out from there, opening up a full straightaway lead in the 25 lap caution-free race. Webb’s dash to the front was a tougher challenge, advancing from twelfth on the start into third by lap six. Webb battled side by side with Rogers for the next eleven laps before securing the second spot, unable to run down the leader in the final eight laps. Steve Johnson advanced into third at the checkers after Rogers got hung up in slower traffic on the final lap.

Scott Olson posted his first modified feature win of the season after taking the lead away from Tim Nesteby following the events only caution period on lap three. Olson benefited from a torrid battle between Bob Bollen and Ron Barker by opening up a huge lead, only to have it shrink during the closing laps after Ryan Dolan got around the pair on lap fifteen. Dolan was able to run down Olson during the final five circuits, but failed in his only attempt to pass for the lead as the cars exited the final corner of the race. Dolan’s finish was his seventh straight top ten effort, with two wins and three seconds in the last six events. Jason Schueller improved his twelfth place start to third at the checkers, with Barker and Bollon rounding out the top five.

Jim Brokus took home his second Pro Stock feature win of the season by passing leader Jeff Valentine on lap six and watching a torrid battle for second in his rearview mirror. Valentine inherited the point after early leader Kevin Schroeder slipped off of the backstretch on the second lap. Once getting passed for the lead, Valentine was locked in an intense battle for second with Jeff Kennedy, Jeff Tharp and Bobby Moyer than was only decided when contact between several cars forced the drivers to check up with two laps to go. Tharp benefited from the melee to finish second ahead of Kennedy, Valentine and Moyer.

TJ Leslein also found victory lane for the second time of the season in Hobby Stock action, stalking leader Jim Turpin until a slight bobble on a restart with two laps to go gave Leslein the opportunity he needed to take the lead. Turpin finished second ahead of Ed McIntyre, Larry Benn and Jeff Rienert. Chad Hallahan dominated the Fun Cars from his pole position, topping BJ Schmitt and Ray Fawcett at the checkers.

Racing action continues this Sunday July 22nd at the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway, when drivers take to the track for their final tune-up before the 48th Annual Dubuque County Fair. Fair week will provide drivers and fans with a double-header of racing action, with NASCAR Weekly Racing Series points events taking place on both Wednesday July 25th and Sunday July 29th. Hot laps for all five divisions of NASCAR stock cars scheduled for 6 pm with racing to follow. Highlights from all SPI promoted events are shown on the Race Report on Fox 28/40 Sunday mornings at 10:30 am. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at

1. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
2. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
3. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
4. 61r Jon Rogers Freeport IL
5. 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
6. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
7. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
8. 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
9. 11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
10. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
11. 95 Ed Sanger Postville
12. 87 Clint Hines Taylor Ridge IL
13. 37 Rollie Frink Davenport
14. 35 Dave Englekens Clinton
15. 33 Dan Galant Davenport
16. b27 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
17. 9 Curt Hansen Dike
18. b56 Brian Webb Davenport
19. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
20. 1b Kevin Miller Freeport IL
21. 41j Jeremiah Hurst Dubuque
51 Mel Abels Freeport IL

1. 63 Scott Olson Preston
2. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
3. 3 Jason Schueller Dubuque
4. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque
5. 39 Bob Bollen Freeport IL
6. 33w Steve Wetter Platteville WI
7. 15 Sean Rupp Dubuque
8. 14 Tim Nesteby Dubuque
9. 5d Bob Dominacki Bettendorf
10. 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
11. 10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
12. g1 Mike Garland Morrison IL
13. 11 Mike Burbridge Delhi
14. 27 Mark Schulte Delhi
15. 2** Jan Messer Manchester
16. 70
17. 41 Dennis Dugan Colesburg
18. 20 Cory Burmeister Glen Haven WI
19. 4 Jerry Miles Dubuque
20. d1 Rich Smith Bettendorf
18b Josh Brestrup Dubuque

1. 35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
2. 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
3. 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
4. 22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
5. 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
6. 43g Tom Garner East Dubuque IL
7. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
8. 20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
9. 71s Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
10. 18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
11. 21 Dan Welp East Dubuque IL
12. 13 Dennis Pergande Dubuque
13. 4 Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL


75 Duane Wagner Dickeyville WI

1. 38 TJ Leslein Durango
2. 33 Jim Turpin Shullsberg WI
3. 28 Ed McIntyre Delhi
4. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
5. 97 Jeff Reinert Farley
6. 30 Mark Massey Farley
7. 61 Scott Reichers Belmont WI
8. 8k Terry Merkes Farley
9. 52 Pat Coleman Dubuque
10. 20 Dan Albright Lisbon
11. 1 Tom Boyes Dubuque
12. 20x Jarvis Eastlick Platteville WI
13. 70 KC Ansel Dubuque
14. 6 Jed Freiburger Dubuque
15. 23g Randy Grant
16. 23 Jason Udelhofen Platteville WI
17. 11x Ryan Naab

1. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
2. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
3. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
4. 11p Tom Pluemer Dickeyville WI
5. 6 Todd Moore Dubuque
6. 89 Kelly Welter Farley
7. b4 Brian Dirks Anamosa
8. 11 Ann Brown Dubuque

Back to the Archives