Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 15, 2001 02:39 PM UIN: 16262997


IMPERIAL, PA… The Mid Atlantic Championship Series (MACS) Late Models made
their third visit to Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway Saturday night,
and when the checkered flag waved, Saxonburg's Ed Ferree claimed the "Penn
National 50" for his second series win.
Tom Schirnhofer of Emsworth ended a more than one-year dry spell by
collecting the Limited Late Model victory. Larry Kugel of Calcutta, OH
reigned supreme for the eighth time this season in the E-Modifieds, and
Carnegie's Stacie White captured his first career Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure
Stocks win.
Starting fourth, Ferree flew to the lead on the very first lap. Pole
sitter Jim Lepro ran second for the first ten circuits until Doug Crawford
took the spot. Mark Banal and Lou Bradich also joined the mix behind Ferree.
As the first caution waved for separate incidents involving John Flinner and
Bradich on lap eighteen, Ferree was still in command with Crawford second,
Banal third, Lepro fourth and D.J. Miller fifth. When the race restarted,
eyes were focused on hard-charging Tim Hitt. After coming from last to win
the B-Main, Hitt was methodically working this way through the field and
found himself in the top five by the halfway mark. Ferree, Crawford and
Banal continued show the way with Hitt to fourth on lap 26. The caution flag
appeared often in the second half of the event, but Ferree never wavered in
taking his spec motor mount to his fourth win of the season at PPMS. Banal
moved by Crawford for second following a late race restart, and would finish
in the runner-up spot. Crawford, Hitt, and Keith Barbara completed the top
five. Six through ten were: Mike Johnson, Flinner, Lynn Geisler, Chris
Shuey, and Lepro. Heat races for the 35-cars were won by Crawford, Banal and
Matt Urban. Monarch Oil Hard Charger - Hitt won the B-Main. A hard crash
involving Cory Conley and Ricky Heim brought out the red flag during the
first qualifying heat race. Conley was transported to the hospital as a
precautionary measure, and Heim was uninjured.
The Limited Late Model feature saw Tom Schirnhofer lead from start to
finish. George Kowatic was second, Al Atallah third, Brian Laraway fourth,
and Jon Hodgkiss fifth. Mike Morgan, Danny Rich, Jim Stephans, Tony Musolino
and Pete Loria were sixth through tenth respectively. Atallah and Laraway
won the preliminaries. Rich was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger.
Larry Kugel showed his dominance in taking the E-Modified feature. Vince
Laboon was a strong second, Mike Anderson third, Matt Smith fourth and Scott
Gunn edged Kurt Halbedl for fifth. Kugel was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger,
and Anderson won the heat race.
After five years of trying, Stacie White prevailed in winning his first
career Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stock feature. It wasn't easy, as he held
off the late race charges of point leader Rich Apolito to get the job done.
Charlie DiLoreto was third, Craig Kamicker fourth and Daryl Robison fifth.
Completing the top ten were: Dave Beck, Doug Foster, Bob Heim, Brian Scheller
and A.J. Poljak. DiLoreto was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. White and
Robison captured the heat races.
This Saturday, July 21st, will find the QPI Tools Late Models, Limited Late
Models, E-Modifieds, Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks, and Amateur Stocks all
in action. Gates

open at 5pm with racing at 7pm. The following week, July 28th, is
"Christmas in July" to benefit Racers for Tots with a Demolition Derby after
the races. In just three weeks, the MACS Series returns for the Nick Garin
Memorial. For further information on any of our upcoming events you can call
the business office at 724-853-RACE or visit us on the web at

MACS Late Models
Heat Race Winners: Doug Crawford, Mark Banal, Matt Urban
B-Main: Tim Hitt Provisionals: Jim Yoder, Ben Miley
Feature (50 Laps): 1) Ed Ferree, Saxonburg 2) Mark Banal, St Clairsville OH
3) Doug Crawford, Castle Shannon 4) Tim Hitt, Weston WV 5) Keith Barbara,
S. Park 6) Mike Johnson 7) John Flinner 8) Lynn Geisler 9) Chris Shuey
10) Jim Lepro 11) Matt Urban 12) Joe Johnson 13) Jim Zarin 14) Jim Yoder
15) Mike Blose 16) Glen Ray 17) DJ Miller 18) Jason Cisson 19) Steve
Baker 20) Mark Moats 21) Brian Ruhlman 22) Ben MIley 23) Lou Bradich 24)
Brad Goff
DNQ - **** Barton, Tom Myers, Jack Pencil, Bob Wearing Jr., Dave Wade, Bob
Williams, Bill Adler, Larry Wright, Matt Sherlock, Cory Conley, Rick Heim

Limited Late Models
Heat Race Winners: Al Atallah, Brian Laraway
Feature (20 Laps): 1) Tom Schirnhofer, Emsworth 2) George Kowatic, Moon
Twp. 3) Al Atallah, Carnegie 4) Brian Laraway, Irwin 5) Jon Hodgkiss 6)
Mike Morgan 7) Danny Rich 8) Jim Stephans 9) Tony Musolino 10) Pete
Loria 11) Bob Damron 12) Vince Teatino 13) Bobby Castelveter 14) Louie
Bradich 15) Mark Kelly 16) Tom Bateman 17) Gary Cellone 18) Drew Koteles
(DNS) 19) Wayne Tessean (DNS) 20) Curtis Youst (DNS)

Heat Race Winner: Mike Anderson
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Larry Kugel, Calcutta OH 2) Vince Laboon, Pleasant
Hills 3) Mike Anderson, Harmony 4) Matt Smith, Charleroi 5) Scott Gunn,
West Mifflin 6) Kurt Halbedl 7) Jeff Johnson 8) Fred Varney 9) Jeff
Broniszewski 10) Ralph Hysong (DNS) 11) Ray Brown (DNS)

Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks
Heat Race Winners: Stacie White, Darryl Robison
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Stacie White, Heidelberg 2) Rich Apolito, Carnegie
3) Charlie DiLoreto, S. Fayette 4) Craig Kamicker 5) Darryl Robison, Beaver
Falls 6) Dave Beck 7) Doug Foster 8) Bobby Heim 9) Brian Scheller 10) AJ
Poljak 11) Jimmy Arnold 12) Gary Smith 13) Shawn Bryan 14) Neal Isiminger
15) Mark Jaworski 16) Joe Anthony 17) Wayne Johnson 18) Gary Rodgers 19)
Ryan Marks

Back to the Archives