Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Merchant Put His Ford in Victory Lane to Score the SUPR win
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 15, 2001 02:28 PM UIN: 16262997
Merchant Put His Ford in Victory Lane to Score the SUPR win
Sue DuRoy July 14, 2001 Pike County Speedway
One hundred and twenty nine race cars filled the pits at Pike County
The first heat for SUPR Dwight Falcon took the early lead and held it till
the end followed by Kenny Merchant and Rodney Sheridan. David Ashley had
smooth sailing for the second heat and took the win over Wade Cleveland, and
Chris Wall. Third heat Kennith Crowe took the lead. Yellow flew when David
Burkhaulter hit the guard rail in four. Crowe went on top take the win
followed by Brant Tirello, and Larry Riter. In the fourth and final heat
Bubba Mullins took the lead. David Knight brought out the yellow when he hit
the wall in three. Mullins went on to win followed by Scott Slay and Curt
Lipsey. Donald Watson took the first last chance race while Ryan Plaisance
and Dave Siegert battled for second over and over. Siegert finished second.
Larry Riter scored the second last chance win.
David Ashley started from the pole in the SUPR race. Wheel to wheel,
lugnut to lugnut and sheet metal to sheet metal. AS the flag waved it was
Ashley took the lead. On the start Curt Lipsey, Donald Watson and Dennis
Duncan tangled in two. A complete 2x2 restart again it was Ashely with the
lead. Dwight Falcon and Kennith Crowe put Ashley in the middle for a three
wide battle for the lead. But Ashley popped out of the middle like a hotdog
out of a bun and into the lead. Merchant moved into fifth. Yellow flew again
when Duncan broke in three. On the restart Kenny Merchant moved to second on
lap four and chased Ashley down. When the two came up on lap traffic Merchant
put his Ford down low while Ashley took the high side of lap car Donald
Watson. Merchant took the lead and led the rest of the race. Merchant and
Ashley lapped car after car and finished first and second. Marlon Wild third
and Rob Litton fourth.
Novice B main Gary Petit took the lead followed by Joel Brown. Brown got
under Petit they touch but where both okay. Joel took the lead, but Petit
took it right back and went on to score the win followed by Joel Brown and
Larry Disotell.
Novice A main Ryan Williams took the lead followed by Billy Mitchel.
Mitchel suffered mechanical problems and had to retire to the pits. Williams
continued to lead and scored the win followed by Fred Hastings and Austin
Butler in a borrowed car. Stephen Polk fourth and Jerry Arnold fifth. Gordon
McDaniels and Billy Mitchel took the heat wins.
Jerry Cassano, Gregg Hollingsworth and Billy Collette sheared the heat
wins for UMP Modified. Hollingsworth got the early lead followed by Bates. A
couple laps into it Bates spun bringing out the yellow and earning a trip to
the rear. On the restart it was Hollingsworth followed by Collette. Jeff
Martello ran third and Jerry Cassano four. Cassano worked his way to second
then tried to get under Hollingsworth for the lead. In turn two Cassano spun
and went in the pits. On the restart Hollingsworth went on to take the
checkered followed by Billy Collette, Jeff Martello, Jason Taylor and Davin
Brad McKey and Matthew Simeon took the heat wins for street stock.
Simeon took the lead on the start followed by Brad McKey. Scotty Case moved
into second and worked on Simeon. Simeon held Case off. Bobby Tate blasted
past Case to take second. IN turn two the leader Simeon did a compete 360 no
yellow came out. Yellow flew again when Carl Bourgeois lost his fuel cell in
the middle of turn three. Tate lead from that point to take the win followed
by Randy Jamison who shot up into second in the final laps. Third Brad McKey,
fourth Tommy Cannon and fifth Matthew Simeon.
Ryan Whitehead and Jimmy Stephens took the heat wins for pure stock.
Chad Coon took the lead from the pole but Jimmy Stephens got beside Coon and
lap after lap they ran side by side for the lead first Coon by a whisker then
Stephens. Stephens on the last lap got the lead and took the win followed by
Coon who was Dqed at tech moving Zane Barcelona into second. Justin Bowman
third, Randy Brownell fourth and Ryan Whitehead fifth.
Donald Collins and Billy Gordon shared super stock heat wins. Collins
took the lead on the start followed by David Knight. Knight drifted high in
two and Robert Morel took over second. Charles Sibley moved to third and
Gordon fourth. Sibley, Gordon and Knight ran three wide for second. Billy
Gordon took over second then tried to chase down Collins, as the laps slid
away Gordon came within 1 car length of Collins, but couldn't make the pass.
Collins went on to victory lane followed by Gordon, Robert Morel, Charles
Sibley and David Knight.

Back to the Archives