Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River Speedway, July 14
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 15, 2001 02:17 PM UIN: 16262997

Duck River Speedway, July 14
Mark Haddon drove around Heat Race winners Tommy Davis and Junior Daniels to pick up his third victory of the 2001 season. Davis and Daniels held on to second and third with a tenacious Mike Grissom settling for fourth ahead of Bryan Reed.
Open Wheel
1) Mark Haddon
2) Tommy Davis
3) Junior Daniels
4) Mike Grissom
5) Bryan Reed
6) Tim Demunbreun
7) Dwayne Waid
8) Carl Crowell
9) Mark Barnes
10) Jason Maurer
David Seibers rolled to his seventh 2-BBL Late Model feature win of the season as Rick Curren and Josh Lunsford were second and third. Curren won the heat race.
2-BBL Late Model
1) David Seibers
2) Rick Curren
3) Josh Lunsford
4) Billy Barnett
5) Bubba Paul
6) Brandon Scott
7) Charlie Cates
8) Tim Smith
9) Jason Gregg

Another great Super Stock feature (so what else is new!) saw heat winner Rudder Harper charge to his first (apparent) victory of the year. However, Harper was protested by Larry Landers and when the ensuing tear down inspection was not allowed, Landers was awarded the win. Jay George picked up his eleventh Top 5 finish as he trailed Landers across the finish line with Greg Curl and Farris Lovette trailing George. Tash Bruce (after Harper’s Disqualification) and Landers were the heat race winners.
Super Stock
1) Larry Landers
2) Jay George
3) Greg Curl
4) Farris Lovette
5) Tash Bruce
6) Clyde Bruce
7) Dean Travis
8) John Fletcher
9) Butch Pruitt
10) Nathan Norris

Johnny Crowell became a nine time feature winner by besting 5 time winner Steve Kennedy and Jeff Roberson. Kennedy and Crowell were the heat winners.
Outlaw Pony
1) Johnny Crowell
2) Steve Kennedy
3) Jeff Robeson
4) Keith Layne
5) Tom Russell
6) Bo Owens
7) Mike Dale
8) Bobby Stephens
9) Clay Lawrence
10) Dion Gordon

David Gentry slipped by his car owner and early leader Jimmy Nowlin to grab his second win of the weekend and fifth of the season at Duck River, in the Late Model division. Gentry was the fastest qualifier with a lap of 13.549.
Late Models
1) David Gentry
2) Jimmy Nowlin
3) Henry Hanger
4) Tom Higgens
*(Only 4 Cars finished)

Michael Chumbly was tested by heat winners John David Todd and David Wallace but Mr. Pure Pony prevailed for his eleventh(!) feature win of 2001. Todd was the runner-up with Wallace edging Anthony Dodson for third.
Pure Pony
1) Michael Chumbley
2) John David Todd
3) David Wallace
4) Anthony Dodson
5) Dudley Rogers
6) Gary Reid
7) Andy Rogers
8) Jimmy Callahan
9) Stanley James
10) Allen Rogers

"Rookie Pony" driver Josh Hale garnered his first win of the year by topping 2 time winner Clint Crowell and Chance Rogers. Dean Rader and Hale were the heat race winners.
"Rookie" Pony
1) Josh Hale
2) Clint Crowell
3) Chance Rogers
4) Earl Dodd
5) Gary Will

In the special Super Stock Powder Puff event, Patti Norris beat Cindy Travis in the seven car event while Connie Roberson topped A.J. Dale in the 10 car Pony Car Powder Puff race.
Powder Puff Super Stock Winner: Patti Norris

Powder Puff Mini Stock Winner: Connie Robeson

Back to the Archives