Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   It's A Hoffman Holly-Day At New Egypt
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 14, 2001 11:44 PM UIN: 16262997
It's A Hoffman Holly-Day At New Egypt

New Egypt, NJ (July 14) - Keith Hoffman of Whitehall, PA, brought home an
early Christmas present, winning his second Modified main of the season
Saturday night during Advantage Financial's Christmas in July program at New
Egypt Speedway.

"We had to make a change to be competitive with Pauch and Brightbill,"
Hoffman admitted in victory lane. "So we decided to run the four-coil car
which should put us in contention for the rest of the year."

A red flag slowed the action on the first lap of the Modified 30,
eliminating former winner Brian Weaver, then five-time winner Billy Pauch
kissed the wall on lap 3, barely eluding a caution. Hoffman, meanwhile, was
storming to the front, showing second by lap 6, then grabbing the lead from
John Miloszar the next time by. Hoffman was strong on the point, in a ride
that's only seen the Jersey track on one other occasion. But there was
plenty of trouble brewing behind the Hitman: Frank Cozze and Kenny
Brightbill, both Mod winners this year, were hot to hunt Hoffman down. And
it wasn't long before Pauch, rebounding mightily from the earlier misstep,
was also in the picture. The four titans battled furiously - in, out and
sideways - for the final 10, in a race that had the grandstands rockin'. But
Hoffman wasn't to be denied, cruising under the checker to record number two
for 2001. Brightbill, Pauch and Cozze shadowed Hoffman over the line, with
Freddy Dmuchowski hanging in for a fine fifth place finish.

It was torment for Ryan Godown and triumph for Rich Scagliotta in the
Sportsman feature event. Godown had a great run going in the main until a
right-rear flat laid him low on lap 17. Scagliotta, of Bound Brook, NJ,
inherited the point and held it to the end of the race, which was cut short
at the posted time limit. Scagliotta scored his second of the year, his
first since April 7, over division points leader Matt Papiez, Stan Ploski
III, Brian Godown and J.C. Mears. Mike Lyons crossed the line third but was
disqualified for a technical infraction.

A new winner graced victory lane in the Street Stock event, as Mario Page of
Beachwood, NJ, assumed control at the halfway mark and sailed in for his
first career win. Former winner Billy Bauma was second, with George Quinlan,
Bill Gerber and Pat Freiberger completing the top five.

The Herman's Trucking Lightning Lap Awards for fastest lap in a feature
event were won by Brightbill (Mods, 18.378), Ryan Godown (Sportsman, 19.233)
and Quinlan (Street Stock, 21.232).

Primed by the generosity of Advantage Financial president Gene Stravinsky,
fans donated $3,148 and more than 3,500 toys to the U.S. Marines' Toys for
Tots drive in a wildly successful Christmas in July fundraiser that broke
last year's record. In return, Stravinsky gave more than 40 big-ticket
prizes -- including TVs, VCRs, DVD and CD players, stereo systems and
bicycles - back to fans who supported the toy drive. Santa and his elves
were on site to distribute the Christmas bounty.

Next week, Reclamation Inc. of Kingston, NY, presents Twins Night, with twin
20s for the Modifieds on the track and all twins admitted free at the
spectator gate, with proof of birthday. Racing starts at 6:30 p.m., with
gates opening at 4 p.m. Adult admission is $15, children 7-12 are $5, and
kids 6 and under are free. For more information, call the track at (609)

1st Heat: 1.Bitner 2.Hoffman 3.Pauch 4.Laureno 5.Ostwald 6.Worthington
2nd Heat: 1.Miloszar 2.Grosso Jr. 3.Bohn 4.Dmuchowski 5.Martz 6.Tanner Jr.
3rd Heat: 1.Weaver 2.Van Gorder 3.Brightbill 4.Cozze 5.Drayton 6.Hendershot
B Main: 1.Butler 2.Adams 3.Hager 4.Taylor Jr. 5.Radd 6.Velenger (Fan Prov:
Feature (30 laps):
1.Keith Hoffman 2.Kenny Brightbill 3.Billy Pauch 4.Frank Cozze 5.Fred
Dmuchowski 6.Bob Drayton 7.Rick Grosso Jr. 8.Sam Martz 9.Donnie Radd 10.Mark
Bitner 11.Bob Worthington 12.Ron John Koczon 13.Doug Ostwald 14.Tim Tanner
Jr. 15.Scott Van Gorder 16.Art Adams 17.Eddie Bohn 18.Gary Velenger 19.John
Miloszar Jr. 20.Tom Hager 21.Lee Taylor Jr. 22.Mike Hendershot 23.Roger
Laureno 24.Brian Weaver 25.Gary Butler
DNQ: Steve Moss, Larry Archer, Phil Cox, Darren McCaughey, Bill Dubovick,
Ralph Rue, Larry McVay, Rich Scagliotta, Tom Carberry, Korey Keimig, Bob
Bauma, Rocco Infante.

1st Heat: 1.McCloughan 2.Mears 3.Geiges 4.Leote 5.Pearson
2nd Heat: 1.Foster 2.Ploski III 3.Roth 4.B. Godown 5.Morrison
3rd Heat: 1.Scagliotta 2.G. Hager 3.M. Papiez 4.J. Papiez 5.Pfister
4th Heat: 1.Lyons 2.Meisner Jr. 3.R. Godown 4.Tomasko 5.Tinnes Jr.
1st B Main: 1.Swain 2.Buffalino 3.Reutter Jr. 4.Toth
2nd B Main: 1.Wasson 2.Carpenter 3.Ely 4.Flesch
Feature (20 Laps):
1.Rich Scagliotta 2.Matt Papiez 3.Stan Ploski III 4.Brian Godown 5.J.C.
Mears 6.Jack Swain 7.Brian Pearson 8.Brien Ely 9.Kenny Roth 10.Phil
McCloughan 11.Jeff Geiges 12.Dominick Buffalino 13.Gary Hager 14.Mike Toth
15.Tom Tomasko 16.Bruce Leote 17.Ryan Godown 18.Kyle Morrison 19.Joe Papiez
20.Joe Tinnes Jr. 21.Phil Meisner Jr. 22.Keith Foster 23.Chris Wasson 24.Rob
Pfister 25.Jeff Carpenter 26.Mike Reutter Jr. 27.Chuck Flesch DQ Mike Lyons
DNQ: Doug Liedl, Gene Stravinsky, Rick Holsten, Dave Hoffman, Donnie Kline,
Keith Fleming, Mick Search, Jim Scherer, Rich McTighe, Larry Kline, Mike
Mongiello III, Tom Solderich, Dave Woolston, Rick Raisner, John Dixon, Scott
Butler, Rich Kuiken, Darrell Delnero, Tom Sickler, Scott Hyland.

1st Heat: 1.Bauma 2.Quinlan 3.Apgar 4.Mongiello 5.Hansen 6.Horner
2nd Heat: 1.Page II 2.Gargiulo 3.Roveda 4.Reed 5.Jm. Hewitt 6.Ensinger
3rd Heat: 1.Freiberger 2.Unfried 3.M. Page 4.Gerber 5.Fleming 6.Cheney III
B Main: 1.Byrne 2.Melton 3.Bauer 4.Nixon 5.Guker III 6.Whitehouse
Feature (15 laps):1.Mario Page 2.Bill Bauma 3.George Quinlan 4.Bill Gerber
5.Pat Freiberger 6.Billy Bauer 7.Rich Page II 8.Steve Mongiello 9.George
Unfried 10.Ralph Gargiulo 11.Carol Whitehouse 12.Bryan Reed 13.Brian Nixon
14.Wayne Hansen 15.Jim Hewitt 16.Tim Apgar 17.Robert Melton 18.Kory Fleming
19.Spider Ensinger 20.Blair Guker III 21.Al Cheney III 22.Richie Byrne
23.Tim Horner 24.Jake Roveda
DNQ: George Idell Sr., Joel Quick, Evan Berardi, Ron Barnstead, Bob Vaccaro,
Kevin Bifulco, Jason Seredy, John Hewitt, Brian Wagner, Tom Butchko, George

Back to the Archives