Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Albany-Saratoga Speedway Results for July 13, 2001
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 14, 2001 11:43 PM UIN: 16262997
Albany-Saratoga Speedway

Results for July 13, 2001

MALTA - Imagine running downstairs on Christmas morning, opening the
biggest present under the tree and then finding out you don't have the
batteries to operate it. That's how Dave Camara felt Friday night at
Albany-Saratoga Speedway. After weeks of preparation, Camara finally
brought out his new Teo Pro car, but the new Kevin Enders small block blew a
head gasket during warmups.

But rather than get frustrated, Camara brought his old car out of the
hauler, and went on to post his first victory on the season in the 35-lap
modified feature. Camara, the defending track champion, became the 11th
different winner in the modified division at Albany-Saratoga Speedway this
season. Camara admitted after the race that he had been so excited about
bringing out the new car that he couldn't sleep the night before. But the
way the old car performed Friday, he probably slept like a baby.

The first seven laps of the feature belonged to the Proctor family, as
John came off the pole and led the first four laps before Ron put the Ron
White small block into the lead. The first caution came out on lap eight,
when Jack Cottrell, who was looking for his second straight win, Mike Ronca,
Frank Hoard Sr. and Todd Ryan tangled in the third turn, with Cottrell
ducking in the pits for a new right front tire.

Vermont driver Don Mattison, who had started sixth, used the restart to
close up on Proctor, and then put his Green Machine into the lead following
a restart on lap 11. Deeper in the pack, Camara was following Ken Tremont
Jr. through traffic, and they finally cleared the pack on lap 13, when
Tremont took the number two spot away from Ron Proctor.

Tremont, working the bottom, started to gain ground on Mattison and got
the lead on lap 19, when Mattison drifted too high in the fourth turn. The
next time around, when Mattison again went high, Camara hugged the inside
barrier and came out with second place. It was obvious that Camara had the
quicker car, and just two laps later, he again used the inside lane to make
his move, charging past Tremont to get the lead for good.

Tremont used the entire race track in the final 10 laps in an attempt to
regain the lead, but the inside was the place to be, and that's where Camara
stayed, picking up his sixth career win at Malta. Tremont was second, with
Mattison third, his best finish ever at Albany-Saratoga, Don Ackner fourth
and Cottrell up for fifth. Completing the top 10 were Tim Laduc, Andy
Bachetti, Ron Proctor, Mike Perrotte and Jason Becker.

Jimmy Becker drove to his second career victory in the 20-lap sportsman
feature, winning a spirited battle with the No. 26 car, which everyone at
the track thought was being driven by Elmo Reckner. Becker grabbed the lead
on the fifth lap, but the No. 26 started to build momentum on the high side,
and even though the car began smoking on lap 14, the No. 26 stormed into the
lead. The advantage was short-lived, however, as Becker got the lead back
the next time around, and held on for the win.

The No. 26 finished second, but was later disqualified when officials
discovered that car owner Dave Sargent had been behind the wheel. Sargent
had missed the first two months of the season because of an injury and had
put Reckner behind the wheel, but Sargent didn't inform officials he was
driving Friday, forcing the disqualification. That moved John Harrison into
second, with Frank Hoard Jr. third, Mike Ballestero fourth and Ryan Odasz

Dan Madigan notched his first win of the season in the 20-lap pro-street
stock feature, which had a 20-minute delay when the lights at the speedway
went out because of an overheated generator. Madigan, who had started
sixth, got the lead midway through the event and easily pulled away from
Carl Vladyka to get the victory.

Glen Evans was also a first-time winner, taking the checkered flag in
the hobby stock feature, while Jason Duncan (four-cylinder) and Dave Kennedy
(six-cylinder) continued to dominate the cruiser division.

Albany-Saratoga Speedway will be back in action Friday night, with the
double point Midseason Championships. Racing will begin at 7 p.m.

MODIFIEDS: DAVE CAMARA, Ken Tremont Jr., Don Mattison, Don Ackner, Jack
Cottrell, Tim Laduc, Andy Bachetti, Ron Proctor, Mike Perrotte, Jason
Becker, Vince Quenneville Jr., Mike Ronca, Matt DeLorenzo, Ron Dwyer, Brian
McKenzie, Jim Ryan, Chuck Higley, John Proctor, Brian Gerrain, Wayne Jelley,
Bob Ogren, Frank Hoard Sr., Todd Ryan, Gene Munger.

SPORTSMAN: JIMMY BECKER, John Harrison, Frank Hoard Jr., Mike Ballestero,
Ryan Odasz, Jason Herrington, Sput Shaw, Gerry Conroy, Brent Bouplon, Mike
Boomhower, Jack Gentile, Keith Nichols, Tom Proctor, Bob Matthews, Tim
Hartman, Randy Salisbury, Gary Gates, Rich Ronca, Derrick McGrew, Stan
Lemiesz, Tony Ballestero, Paul Cirincione, John Bellinger. DQ: Dave Sargent.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: DAN MADIGAN, Carl Vladyka, Bob Schmidt, Joe Santoro, Mike
Paquin, Steve Burega, Adam Tranka, Charlie Koenig, Rich French, Jeff Sukup,
Randy Brownell, Dave Uline, Ed Pieinazek, D.J. Mabb, Dean Charbonneau,
Tigger Driscoll, Chris Maxon.

HOBBY STOCKS: GLEN EVANS, Curt Condon, Adam Stoddard, Lori Cary, Gary
Michaud, Chris Reckner, Mike Ostrander, Roy Fifield, Ron Tollner, John
Filarecki, Fred Harris, Grant Rice, Mike Tholin, Dave Daniels, Brad Breel,
Bob Smith, Vince Santoro, Jim Monroe.

SIX-CYLINDER CRUISERS: DAVE KENNEDY, Chris Busta, Foster Ribseman, Ron
Earfrato, W. Jon Smith, Luke MacIsaac, No. 10, Tim Pelech, Mike Carnavale,
Jeff Monroe.

FOUR-CYLINDER CRUISERS: JASON DUNCAN, Chuck Gauthier, John Richter, Kevin
Van Chance, Mitch Gries, Jon Atwell, Bill Lehman, Mike Minick, Mike Burdo,
Trent Shaver, Jim Monroe Jr., Elmer Montville.

Back to the Archives