Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Alabama State Championship for 362 Late Models
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 14, 2001 11:55 AM UIN: 16262997
Alabama State Championship for 362 Late Models

Lewisburg, Tennessee's David Gentry slipped by early leader and fastest
qualifier Jay Brinkley (14.461) on lap five then rode off into the
sunset much like a western gunfighter who had just vanquished his
opponent(s). David picked up $2,000 for his effort plus he was awarded
$500 for the best combined finishes at NAS and last Saturday night at
Duck River Speedway in Wheel, Tennessee. Rollin' Nolan Smith got by
Brinkley with nine laps to go but never had a shot at the high flying
Gentry as the feature ran the last twenty four laps caution free. The
drive of the night perhaps belongs to Florence, Alabama's Dale Ledlow
who, after a poor qualifying effort started fifteenth on the field then
worked his way through a fine field of Late Models and wrestled third
away from Brinkley with four laps remaining. Jay Brinkley held on to
fourth ahead of Flyin' Byron Michael, who also came from the rear after
a lap three spin sent the hard charger to the back. Brinkley and Michael
picked up an additional $300 and $200 respectively for their combined
finishes in the Tennessee State Championship race at Duck River and the
Alabama State Championship at NAS.
Late Models
1) David Gentry
2) Noland Smith
3) Dale Ledlow
4) Jay Brinkley
5) Byron Michael
6) Chris Ragan
7) Chris Tays
8) Jimmy Nowlin
9) William Burns
10) Dwayne Oakley

The final tune up for this coming Friday night's (June 20) $1,000 to
win Alabama State Championship for Mini Stocks (Mini Madness 26) saw a
great battle ensue between nine time winner Shane Parker and Mark
McCullough, with McCullough getting around the class points leader as
the duo came off turn four heading for the white flag. Mark held back a
last lap charge by Parker to garner that elusive first win of the year
at NAS. Logan Mize was third with Cotton James and Ryan King rounding
out the Top 5. McCullough and Keith Holden were the heat winners.
Mini Stocks
1) Mark McCullough
2) Shane Parker
3) Logan Mize
4) Cotton James
5) Ryan King

Heat winner and points leader Randy Todd led the first five laps of the
Open Wheel main event before Columbus, Mississippi ace Jason Hollis took
the point. Hollis and Todd put on a great battle that ended with Hollis
becoming the second "first time" winner of the night. Derek White pushed
both front runners to take third.
Open Wheels
1) Jason Hollis
2) Randy Todd
3) Derek White
4) Wayne Jones
5) Steve Reed

Points leader Dwayne Parsons and heat race winner Tim Nash waged a race
long battle in the Renegade feature with Parsons taking his fifth
victory of the year. Hash was runner up with Roger Brewer grabbing the
third spot.
1) Dwayne Parsons
2) Tim Nash
3) Roger Brewer
4) Doug Cross
5) Marty Jones

Lynn Wallace made it "Three" first time winners at NAS by besting Jimmy
Pitts and Tim Harris for the Street Stock feature win. Wallace and Pitts
were the heat race winners.
Street Stock
1) Lynn Wallace
2) Jimmy Pitts
3) Tim Harris
4) Len ****s
5) Eric Hughes

Racing continues this Friday (July 20) night with a $1,000 to win $50
to start special event for the Mini Stocks.
Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives