Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Bureau County Speedway Friday the 13th
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 14, 2001 10:16 AM UIN: 16262997
Bureau County Speedway Friday the 13th Results Kathy Costerisan

Sportsman Feature - 1 Steve Oeder, Princeton, 2 Bryan Moon, Wyanet, 3
Kory Rokey, Wyanet, 4 Gary Wetsel, Princeton, 5 Don Bell, Sheffield, 6
Wally Stodghill, Buda, 7 Scott Cimei, Magnolia, 8 Kevin Hoffman,
Princeton, 9 Chip Hickman, Walnut, 10 Steve Wetsel, Bureau, 11 Jason
Anderson, Princeton, 12 Steve Hageman, Mendota.

Sportsman Heat Two - 1 Steve Oeder, 2 G. Wetsel, 3 Anderson, 4 Hickman
Sportsman Heat One - 1 Steve Wetsel, 2 Rokey, 3 Moon, 4 Hoffman, 5
Stodghill, 6 Bell.

Bomber Heat One - 1 Justin Rutledge, Princeton, 2 Eric Balensiefen,
Princeton, 3 Craig Hoffman, Princeton, 4 Gary Clark, Princeton, 5 Nathan
Balensiefen, Sheffield, 6 Jeremy Reed, Tiskilwa, 7 Rob Riley, Ohio, 8
Jeff Frank, Princeton.

Bomber Heat Two - 1 Jim Thompson, Mineral, 2 Adam Odell, Dover, 3 JD
Rutledge, Ohio, 4 Chris Hicks, Tiskilwa, 5 Ande Bivins, New Bedford, 6
Eric Whittington, Princeton, 7 Aaron Carpenter, Annawan, 8 Jared
Coppejans, Annawan.

I.M.C.A. Modified Heat One - Mark Verbeck, Annawan, 2 Dave McCutchan,
Princeton, 3 Matt Moon, Wyanet, 4 Tom Jensen, Rutland, 5 Matt Olson,

I.M.C.A. Modified Heat Two - 1 Marty Thompson, Mineral, 2 Ron Coletrain,
Sparland, 3 Tim Kimrey, Mendota, 4 Jack Rebholz, Lacon, 5 Jim Smith,

Street Stock Heat One - 1 Greg Leadley, Princeton, 2 Randy Lucas,
Princeton, 3 Brad Carrington, Wyanet, 4 Jim Prokup, Dalzell, 5 Gary
Leadley, Princeton, 6 Heather Thacker, Walnut.

Street Stock Heat Two - 1 Buddy Boyd, Polo, 2 Keith Lucas, Princeton, 3
Richie Bell, Sheffield, 4 Brian Lucas, Princeton, 5 Cliff Morse,
Princeton, 6 Paul Buffington, Compton.

I.M.C.A. Late Model Heat One - 1 Marty Thompson, Mineral, 2 Kevin
Skipper, Fulton, 3 Jason Jaggers, Wyanet, 4 Dan Bardell, Ladd, 5 Larry
Yardley, Dixon

I.M.C.A. Late Model Heat Two - 1 Bill Tuckwell, Metamora, 2 Mike
Cothron, Moline, 3 Todd Sandusky, Coal Valley, 4 Bryan Moon, Wyanet, 5
Steve Morgan, Orangeville

Things were going along pretty well at Bureau County Speedway
Friday night until the sun went down. When the lights were switched on,
a transformer on the back stretch blew up. This knocked out most of the
track lights and the score board. This also cancelled the rest of the
nights races.
One feature was completed before the lights went out. This means
that next Friday night race fans will get to see nine feature races,
plus the heat races. The four features that weren't run Friday, will be
the first races on the program next Friday night. They will be followed
by the heats and then the regularly scheduled features.
Steve Oeder of Princeton was the winner in the nights only feature
in the Sportsman division. Oeder started out the night by winning one
of the heat races. He started the feature in the eighth place starting
position. Kevin Hoffman led the first four laps. Steve Wetsel, who had
also won a heat race, took over the lead and stayed out in front for
four laps. The caution came out on lap 8. On the restart, Oeder got
under Wetsel and pulled away from the field. Wetsel dropped back to
third, when Bryan Moon got by him. Wetsel's night ended on lap 15 when
his steering broke.
Kory Rokey and Gary Wetsel were running side by side for most of
the race. Rokey got around Wetsel to finish third behind Moon.
The kids were the lucky ones at the race track Friday night.
Union Bank donated the coins for the kids coin scramble during
intermission. The kids had to sort through sawdust to find the coins.
The luckiest kid at the track was four year old Drew Pranka of
Princeton. He won a new bicycle which was donated by the M & H Racing
team (55 Bomber) and Cherry Supper Club.
A new bike will be given away during each of the remaining races
at Bureau County Speedway. Several of the race teams have volunteered to
donate the bikes for the kids.

Back to the Archives