Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Butler Motor Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 08, 2001 10:42 PM UIN: 16262997

Quincy MI (July 7, 2001) - The clouds were thick over the Butler Motor Speedway on Saturday night but after a brief shower during hot laps the remainder of the evening was dry. The earlier showers left for a tacky surface which made for some great racing on the 3/8th's mile high banked oval for mid-season championship night. George Lindsey came into the evening just 165 points out of the Late Model points lead behind Tim Wilber and Terry Sroufe who are tied for the lead. Lindsey made up some ground after taking home the feature win on Saturday night in the Late Model division. Chad Blonde also captured his second feature of the year at Butler in the Sprint Car division. Two time track champion Glenn Heath took home the Street Stock feature in only his first night out for the season after a door to door battle with Eric Wilson for the last 3 laps of the event.

Lindsey started on the pole for the 25 lap feature beside Rick Swartout. Lindsey took the early lead with Swartout and Tim Wilber in tow. On lap five the caution came out for the cars of Ken Stoker and Steve Langdon which spun coming out of turn four. This put the field nose to tail with Lindsey once again jumping out to the lead. On lap 12 the battle was for 10th position as current point leaders Tim Wilber and Terry Sroufe battled for position. Wilber would keep the position. Mark Dowdy battle with the car of Rod Patterson for many laps before finally getting by on lap 17. Dowdy would later have mechanical problems that would end his night early.

The Adrian Michigan driver, George Lindsey, captured the feature win over Swartout, Bentley Shaw, Patterson, John Olsen, Bob Flinn, Wilber, Linc Stevens, Sroufe and Randy Archer rounded out the top 10. In the first heat race it was Bob Coats taking the win over Swartout, Flinn, Stevens and Marv Burroughs. In heat two it was Archer over Lindsey, Rich Neiser, Sroufe and Wilber. Heat three saw Dowdy take the win over Mike Rogers, Olsen, Shaw and Patterson. The B main was won by Mike Danke over Langdon, Stoker, Jim O'Neil and Mark Pifer.

Chad Blonde started beside Mark Aldrich for the 25 lap Sprint Car feature. Aldrich would jump out to take the early point with Blonde right behind. On lap one a caution was thrown for the cars of Bob Thoms and Steve Zabonick with both going off on the hook. On the restart Blonde jumped out to the lead. Ken Mackey was working his way through traffic and was finally able to get by Aldrich for the third position on a lap six restart. On lap 14 the car of Scott Bailey spun in turn four bringing out the caution. On the restart it was Blonde and Mackey nose to tail. On the restart Mackey tried to dive under Blonde to take the lead but Blonde was too much for Mackey.

Further back in the field Terry Wilber and Chuck Wilson were waging battle for the fifth position with Wilson finally making the move on lap 14. Greg Wheeler was the man to watch as the laps were winding down. Wheeler started in the 14th position but by lap 19 was to sixth and by the finish was to the third position. Litchfield Michigan's Chad Blonde took the feature win over Mackey, Wheeler, Marv Pifer, Aldrich, Wilson, Barry Roscoe, Charlie Baker, Gregg Dalman and Corey Bevard rounded out the top 10.

Barry Roscoe took home his first ever victory in the first Sprint heat. He was followed by Pifer, Thoms, Jeff Rankin and Bevard. The second heat went to Wilson over Mackey, Aldrich, Scott Bailey and Mike Schumaker. Heat three went to Baker followed by Blonde, Gerry Hart, Wilber and Wheeler. Gregg Dalman took the B Main win over Sean Robinson, Mike Koss, Steve Mackey and Zabonick.

In the Street Stock feature it was Randy Nichols and Glenn Heath lined up on the front row. Nichols jumped out to the early lead. Jeff Wadworth was working his way to the front from the seventh position and was to third by lap five. By lap eight Wadsworth was able to get by Heath for the second position. By lap 11 Wadsworth was gaining on Nichols in lapped traffic and on lap 12 they were nose to tail but on lap 14 Wadsworth slid high in turn four and lost several positions. On lap 15 Nichols suffered mechanical problems that forced him to the pits. On lap 17 a caution bunched the field up with Heath, Wilson and Wadsworth right there. Over the next three laps it was a door to door battle with Heath and Wilson with the crowd on their feet it was Homer Michigan's Glenn Heath taking the win by just a few feet over current points leader Wilson. Wadsworth finished third followed by Rick Spieth, Randy Patton, Don Kittle, Rusty Schlenk, Mark George, Justin VanWyck and Jeff Beaty rounded out the top 10.

Brock Batters captured his first ever win in the first Street Stock heat followed by Patton, Tim Swan, Jack Redding and Heath. The second heat went to Chuck Merritt followed by Beatty, Steve Kidney, Sheryl Dishaw and Shawn Galinis. Heat three was won by Wilson over Grady Jarrell, Nichols, Wadsworth and Kitttle. The B Main went to Spieth with George finishing second with Schlenk third, VanWyck fourth and Tom Hosmer fifth.

Next Saturday night will be the All Star Circuit of Champions and Street Stocks. Be sure to check us out on the web at

Back to the Archives