Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Finally Randy Burrows Wins Career 1ST SLM Race
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 08, 2001 10:49 AM UIN: 16262997

Finally Randy Burrows Wins Career 1ST SLM Race

Die hard Cleveland Speedway racefans witnessed a special serving of Randy Burrows just deserts as the Chattanooga racer won his career first Super Late Model feature race. Burrows shined with a bit of lady-luck Saturday night after fast qualifier (14:313 seconds) Dewayne Smith and fellow front row starter Mike Tinker were regulated back a row after a failed starting attempt in the first heat race. This put fifth fastest qualifier Burrows on the pole along side of Jody Teffteller. Burrows took command and quickly had to begin fending off Smith, until Mike Tinker got by Smith for second after a bobble in turn four set the fast qualifier back a spot. In the second heat Lamar Scoggins show the way as the second fastest in qualifying, earning the outside pole after winning over reigning track champion Andy Dill and David Smith. As the green flew Scoggins kept his mount to the high side trying to keep pace with Burrows on the quicker low side. Scoggins stayed high and began defending his second place to Tinker. Jake Lowry was the first out of the race as he slowed his mount from it’s seventh place run. De. Smith got by Tinker for third as Scoggins lowered his pace to the bottom line attempting to reel in the leader. Andy Dill got entwined with Tinker on the front stretch racing for fourth sending Tinker spinning outta control for the races second caution period. As the laps waned down towards the checkers Burrows wouldn’t be denied and finally received retribution for all his and his raceteams hard work. An emotional Burrows wheeled his white “Alive 95, Wholesale Group Inc., Allstate Insurance, Ocoee Construction Service” #95 racecar into victory lane for the first time ever. Jerry Coffman raced past David Smith for fifth as the checkers flew. Scoggins was second, De. Smith third and Tinker was fourth.

Super Late Model:
1.Randy Burrows (# 95) of Chattanooga
2.Lamar Scoggins (# 32) of Georgetown
3.Dewayne Smith (# 21) of Cleveland
4.Mike Tinker (# 22) of Ringgold GA
5.Jerry Coffman (# K1) of Soddy Daisy
6.David Smith (# 22D) of Chattanooga
7.Eddie Benefield (# 10) of Cleveland
8.James Gamble (# 27) of Ooltewah *
9.Andy Dill (# 39) of Georgetown
10.John Owenby (# J32) of Cleveland

Claimer Late Model: Winner – Glen Seaton III (# 92) of Cleveland
2.Bobby Doss (# 28), 3.Chris Powell (# P9), 4.Mark Cross (# 3), 5.P.D. Doss (# 1)

Hobby: Winner – Glen Seaton Jr. (# 92) of Cleveland
2.Richard Dixon (# 3), 3.James Nichols (# K3), 4.Jim Twiggs (# 99), 5.Shawn Reece (# 16)

Pony Stock: Winner – Daniel Burnette (# 5) of Chattanooga TN
2.Donnie Webb (# 77), 3.Scott Ledford (# 39), 4.Travis Winters (# T20), 5.David Doss (# 28)

Street: Winner – Anthony Hawkins (# 3) of Cleveland TN
2.Donald Forgey (# 71), 3.Herbert Chambers (# 31), 4.Jason Seaton (# 92), 5.Raymond Lowery (# 41)

Back to the Archives