Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Albany-Saratoga Speedway Results for July 6, 2001
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 07, 2001 12:57 PM UIN: 16262997
Albany-Saratoga Speedway

Results for July 6, 2001

MALTA - Two days after the 4th of July, The Rocket finally ignited at
Albany-Saratoga Speedway. Jack Cottrell, The Rock City Falls Rocket, ended
one of the longest slumps of his racing career Friday night with a victory
in the 35-lap modified feature at the historic Malta oval. Cottrell, a
former late model champion who learned most of his early racing lessons at
Albany-Saratoga Speedway, outran Gene Munger to become the 10th different
winner in the modified division this season. The win was Cottrell's first at
Albany-Saratoga Speedway since June 8, 1996.

Cottrell's modified racing career has been a roller-coaster ride. One of
just a few New York drivers to ever win features at all three Albany-area
tracks - Albany-Saratoga, Fonda and Lebanon Valley speedways - Cottrell had
the distinction of winning the first-ever DIRT asphalt series race. But he
also sat out a year after suffering a broken back in an accident at Lebanon

In recent years, he's curtailed his racing operation back to one night a
week, further limiting his opportunities for success, and last season, he
left the CVRA to follow the now-defunct USNA Tour. But this year, he's got
his Kendall Oil-sponsored modified back up with the leaders at
Albany-Saratoga Speedway. During one five-race stretch this season, from May
25 to June 22, he finished in the top five in four of five features, and
everyone knew it was just a matter of time before he found his way back to
victory lane.

His biggest threat was Munger, who was also looking for his first win of
the season. The fresh powerplant under the hood of the Richardsdale
Farms-sponsored machine carried Munger to a third-place finish on June 29,
and he gave Cottrell a real battle on Friday. But Cottrell finished with a
.0612-second margin of victory, and also turned the fastest lap of the race,
stopping the automatic timer in 18.971 seconds on lap 17. Jim Ryan got up
for third, with Andy Bachetti fourth and defending overall CVRA point
champion Dave Camara fifth.

Although Camara has been one of the steadiest finishers at
Albany-Saratoga Speedway this season, he's still winless heading into the
second week of July.The rest of the top 10 consisted on Don Scarborough,
Mike Perrotte, Ken Tremont Jr., Matt DeLorenzo and Mike Ronca. Heat winners
were Ryan, DeLorenzo and Jason Becker, with Bob Ogren taking the consy.

Jason Herrington drove to his first career victory in the 20-lap
sportsman feature. Taking advantage of a good starting position, Herrington
took control of the race early and easily pulled away from **** Bisson to
get the win, becoming the 10th different winner in that division. John
Bellinger continued his impressive streak in the John Kollar-owned
sportsman, finishing third, with defending track champion Tom Proctor fourth
and John Harrison fifth.

The sportsman feature was run without a caution, and lasted just six and
a half minutes.

Fred Little chalked up his second straight victory, and third of the
season, in the 20-lap pro-street stock feature. Little came from deep in the
pack to run down Dan Madigan and Bob Schmidt, who finished second, and
third, respectively. Jeff Sukup was fourth, with Charlie Koenig fifth.

Teen-ager Lori Carey, the only female driver at Albany-Saratoga
Speedway, drove to her second win of the season in the hobby stock feature,
ruining a strong run by Curtis Condon. Condon qualified through the hobby B
main and started deep in the pack, but charged up to the No. 2 position by
the end of the 15-lap feature. Don Daniels finished third.

Jason Duncan won the four-cylinder cruiser division feature, while Dave
Kennedy took the checkered flag in the six-cylinder division.

Albany-Saratoga Speedway will be back in action Friday with Armed
Services night, honoring the men and women who served to protect our country
during times of peace and times of strife. The racing card will also include
an enduro. Racing will begin at 7 p.m.

MODIFIED FINISH: JACK COTTRELL, Gene Munger, Jim Ryan, Andy Bachetti, Dave
Camara, Don Scarborough, Mike Perrotte, Ken Tremont Jr., Matt DeLorenzo,
Mike Ronca, Tim Laduc, Vince Quenneville Jr., Don Ackner, Wayne Jelley,
Scott Noel, Jason Becker, Brian Gerrain, J.R. Heffner, Frank Hoard Sr.,
Chuck Higley, Bob Ogren, Don Mattison, Todd Ryan, Brian McKenzie, Ron

SPORTSMAN: JASON HERRINGTON, **** Bisson, John Bellinger, Tom Proctor, John
Harrison, Rich Ronca, Mike Ballestero, Frank Hoard Jr., Jack Gentile,
Derrick McGrew, Tim Hartman, Elmo Reckner, Sput Shaw, Paul Cirincione, Gerry
Conroy, Gary Gates, Jake Zak, Tony Ballestero, Jim Becker, Tim Adair, Randy
Salisbury, Keith Nichols, Bob Matthews.

PRO-STREET STOCKS: FRED LITTLE, Dan Madigan, Bob Schmidt, Jeff Sukup,
Charlie Koenig, Carl Vladyka, Ed Pieniazek, Matt Anatriello, Adam Tranka,
Chris Maxon, Steve Burega, Joe Santoro, Bill Smith, Tigger Driscoll, Dave
Uline, Mike Paquin, Rick French, Dave Shippee.

HOBBY STOCKS: LORI CAREY, Curt Condon, Don Daniels, Jon Coon, Chris Reckner,
Jim Monroe, Gary Michaud, Mike Tholin, John Morris Jr., Mike Ostrander, Ken
Towne, Cliff Brooks, John Filarecki, Dave Daniels, Bob Smith, Glen Evans,
Vince Santoro, Roy Fifleld.

Gaies, Elmer Montville, Jon Atwell, Mike Burdo, John Richter, Chuck
Gauthier, Dan Uber, Joe Naccarato, Mike Minick, Kevin Van Chance.

Earfrato, Tim Pelech, Luke MacIsaac, Foster Ribseman, Jeff Monroe.

Back to the Archives