Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 07, 2001 12:45 AM UIN: 16262997

EAST WINDSOR, N.J. ~ Billy Pauch of Frenchtown broke a winless streak that
began last September as he won his 99th career Modified feature race at the
East Windsor Speedway Friday night. Many in the large crowd roared their
approval as Pauch turned around a season of frustration that has feature
mechanical woes and other on-track problems.

Tad Cox of Doylestown, Pa., who was returning from a vicious crash the
week before, jumped to the lead at the initial green flag, but Pauch needed
just a few laps to power into the lead. Pauch stayed out front through the
initial circuits, but soon had plenty to contend with as defending champ
Jimmy Horton of Neshanic Station powered into second by the 10th lap. Horton
then matched Pauch stride for stride in the final 15 circuits, often times
pulling side-by-side with Pauch in traffic, but was never able to take the
lead for good.

Following Pauch and Horton across the finish line were Fritz Epright of
Whitehouse Station, Doug Hoffman of Allentown, Pa. and Cox.

G.R. Smith of Folsom passed many cars in taking the lead of the companion
Sportsman 20-lapper on the tenth lap, but was not able to pass a post race
inspection after the race and that gave the win to Mike Lyons of Hightstown.
Rich Stinson of North Branch, Ringoes' Ryan Godown, John Romano of
Englishtown and Steve Ramsey of Trenton completed the top five.

For a majority of the Street Stock 15-lapper, Art Bifulco of Monmouth
Junction fought off the advances of Frank Dorry, Jr. of Ringoes often
battling side-by-side for several laps. On the 11th circuit, however, Dorry
was able to make the winning pass and then raced on to his first career win.
Pat Freiberger of Allentown was second as the checker flag waved, with Phil
Retter of Easton, Pa., Billy Bauer of Flemington and Jackson's Rob Ormsbee
completing the top five. Bifulco faded to sixth.

The East Windsor Speedway returns to action this Friday evening (July 13)
with the Modifieds in the spotlight in a 25-lap main event. Sportsman racers
have a 20-lapper planned, while the Street Stocks will battle in a 15-lapper.
Big Block Modified entries should note that they are now allowed to run big
dirt track tires as long as they are Hoosier Tires and they can also use
aerodynamic "sail panels" as long as they are no higher than the highest peak
of the roof. Big Block Modifieds must weight at least 2,500 pounds.

Along with the stock cars, this Friday night's card will also feature
youngsters in action in the annual "Kids' Big Wheel Races." While the
children will take to the track during intermission, qualifying races for the
racecars will begin at 7:30 p.m.

More information can be obtained by calling the speedway hotlines at
609-448-8510 or 732-521-0910. The speedway website is

July 6, 2001


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Pauch; Horton; Hoffman

FEATURE - 25 Laps - 1. BILLY PAUCH, FRENCHTOWN; 2. Jimmy Horton; 3. Fritz
Epright; 4. Doug Hoffman; 5. Tad Cox; 6. Fred Dmuchowski; 7. Art Taylor; 8.
Mark Tranquilli; 9. Stan Frankenfield; 10. Mike Franz; 11. Brian Jones; 12.
Ryan Watt; 13. Scott Vangorder; 14. John Salvatore; 15. Larry McVey; 16. Gene
Stravinsky; 17. Kenny Brightbill; 18. John Oliver; 19. Mike Johnston; 20.
John Protinik; 21. Ryan Kerr; 22. John Willman; 23. John Megill


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Nonnemacher; Ramsey; Godown CONSOLATION: Pratt

FEATURE - 20 Laps - 1. MIKE LYONS, HIGHTSTOWN; 2. Rich Stinson; 3. Ryan
Godown; 4. John Romano; 5. Steve Ramsey; 6. Jim Weiss; 7. Jim Falzini; 8.
Jimmy Spence; 9. Stan Janiszewski; 10. Richie Pratt; 11. Art Liedl; 12. Rick
Holsten; 13. Rob Shuster; 14. John Snook; 15. Jim Rossell; 16. Gene Devos;
17. Rob Gallmayer; 18. John Dixon; 19. Keith Nonnemacher; 20. Jeff Acolia;
21. Doug Liedl; 22. Mike Gibbons; 23. John Bush; 24. **** Robbins; 25. Larry


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Art Bifulco; Dorry

FEATURE - 15 Laps - 1. FRANK DORRY, JR., RINGOES; 2. Pat Freiberger; 3. Phil
Retter; 4. Bill Bauer; 5. Rob Ormsbee; 6. Art Bifulco; 7. Al Cheney; 8.
Whitey Miller; 9. Jim Hewitt; 10. John Hewitt; 11. Kim Cooke; 12. Kevin
Bifulco; 13. Al Burdge; 14. Chip Grant; 15. Art Avery; 16. Carol Whitehouse;
17. Paul Marra, Jr.; 18. Jim Hoelterling; 19. John Micek; 20. Scott Lamantia

Back to the Archives