Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Heats complete for Friday's General Aluminum 100 at Raceway 7
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 06, 2001 12:03 AM UIN: 16262997
Heats complete for Friday's General Aluminum 100 at Raceway 7

Conneaut, OH (July 5) - The United Dirt Track Racing Association Late Model drivers completed their qualifying Heat events on Thursday night at Raceway 7, setting the top 16 starters for the Second Annual General Aluminum 100. The Jay's Auto Wrecking Steel Block Late Models were also part of the program, with Jay Watson from Conneaut, Ohio scoring the feature win.

Kentucky driver Steve Francis scored the win in Heat 1 to earn the pole position for the General Aluminum 100 on Friday night. Starting to his outside will be the current UDTRA point leader Rick Eckert from York, PA, the winner of Heat 2. Tennessee's Scott Bloomquist was the winner of Heat 3, to earn third starting position for the main event, with Jimmy Mars from Wisconsin earning fourth starting position with his win in Heat 4. A field of 55 UDTRA Late Models participated in the program.

Racing action will resume on Friday with two B-Main events to round out the starting field for the main. The highlight of the evening will be the running of the Second Annual "General Aluminum 100." A full program of MHC Inc. E-Mods and Fame Manufacturing Street Stocks will also be in competition.

Jay Watson controlled the entire 20-lap distance to claim the feature win in Jay's Auto Wrecking Steel Block Late Models. From the pole position, Watson grabbed the lead at the start and would not be headed in the entire distance. The battle was heated for second place throughout the event, as they would race three-wide at one point. Tom Bonanno, Merle Terry, and Dave Hess, Jr. all ran in second as a part of the mid-race battle, before Doug Eck would eventually take over the position. Eck had started in 20th position, and would get runner-up honors. Terry was third, ahead of Bill Henry and Jim Dandy, Jr. Dandy and Watson were the Heat race winners.

On Friday, the gates will open at 5:00, as the UDTRA drivers will participate in an autograph session. Warm-up laps will begin at 7:00, with racing starting at 7:30. Raceway 7 is located six miles south of Interstate 90 on Ohio Route 7. For more information, please call 814-967-4230 for the office, or 440-594-2222. For the most complete source of Raceway 7 information, please visit the track's web site at

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Upcoming events:

Friday, July 6 * - UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series Late Models, The General Aluminum 100 $20,000 to win. Plus E-Mods and Street Stocks.

Friday, July 13 - Rigby Ford Mid-season championships for all four divisions. Special rules apply.

Friday, July 20 - Coca Cola Christmas in July Night. Annual Topless Challenge for Super Late Models, $2500 to win. Four division racing.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Raceway 7 results for Thursday, July 5, 2001.

UDTRA Late Models - Car Count - 55.

Fastest Qualifier, Randle Chupp, 18.631.
Heat winners - Steve Francis, Rick Eckert, Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Mars.
Starting field for Last Chance Race 1 - Ryan Markham. Dan Schlieper. Dale McDowell. Davey Johnson. **** Barton. Steve Shaver. Freddy Smith. Steve Boley. Matt Urban. Brian Ruhlman. Matt Miller. Greg Lucas. Jerry Johnson. Rusty Whitmore. Frank Poniatowski. Chevy Scott. Scott James. Rich Gardner. Mark Banal. Bryan Durig.
Starting field for Last Chance Race 2 - Chris Hackett. Brent Rhebergen. Randy Korte. Ron Davies. Jay Watson. Bill Cunningham. Mark Osburn. Dan Armbruster. Wren Turner. Mickey Wright. Mike Johnson. Kevin Santee. Tony Lombardi. Brad Fiesler. Bill Reed. Greg Fenno. Paul Davis. Kirk Bradley. Mike Balzano.
Starting field for General Aluminum 100 - Steve Francis, Rick Eckert, Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Mars, Chub Frank, Bob Close, Wendell Wallace, Rob Blair, Wendell Wallace, Chub Frank, Rob Blair, Bob Close, Randle Chupp, Donnie Moran, Bruce Hordusky, Todd Andrews, Ray Cook, Joe Izzo, Jim Dandy, Jr., Rick Aukland. Note, an undetermined number of cars will transfer from the B-Mains to this race.

Jay's Auto Wrecking Steel Block Late Models - Car Count - 22.
Heat winners - Jim Dandy, Jr., Jay Watson.
Feature - 1)Jay Watson. 2)Doug Eck. 3)Merle Terry. 4)Bill Henry. 5)Jim Dandy, Jr. 6)Bryan Emory. 7)Tom Bonanno. 8)Dave Hess, Jr. 9)Mark Ashcraft. 10)Chuck Steinle, Jr. 11)Terry Porter. 12)Chris Brockway. 13)Ward Schell. 14)Dwayne Pond. 15)Mike Stoneman. 16)John Buzzard. 17)Tom Denzinger. 18)Jim Hyde. 19)Todd Shrefler. 20)Andy Boozel. 21)Tim Cole. 22)Wendell Pinckney. Note, this was a non-point event.

Back to the Archives