Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   David Breazeale Takes Second Win of the Year
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 03, 2001 06:47 PM UIN: 16262997
David Breazeale Takes Second Win of the Year

Columbus, Mississippi-There is a driver that will soon be a marquee name on
the Mississippi racing seen and his name is David Breazeale from Four
Corners, Mississippi. The burgeoning Super Late Model driver has been
dominating since he became a regular competitor at Columbus Speedway on June
9th. Breazeale has racked up two wins, a strong second place finish against
the Southern All Stars, and another second place finish in his last four
outings. "Breazeale is going to be a superstar," said Columbus Speedway
promoter Johnny Stokes after Breazeale claimed the win Saturday night.

The Super Late Model drivers were out in mass Saturday night as the best
drivers in the region were on hand. Action got started off with "The Raging
Rebel" David Breazeale claiming the Pole Qualifying
honors over the 30-car field on hand. Breazeale drew a six for the field
inversion factor and would have to start the 30 lap main event on the
outside third row. The feature would see Breazeale wheel his GRT chassis
Monte Carlo to the front of the pack using the bottom of the track in the
early stages of the event to take the lead. Breazeale would lead the
remainder of the event "in the zone" to take his second Columbus Speedway
feature win of the year over a potent pack of pursuers. Finishing a strong
second was Rick Rickman with Louisville's Shawn Edwards having another
impressive outing to claim a podium finish. Rounding out the top five over
the 26-car starting field were Columbus racing legend Eddie Rickman and
Ethel's Kenny Gentry. The remainder of the top ten was a smattering of
Columbus and Northport drivers as Northport's Tim Parker was sixth followed
by Hilltop Racing's Randy Mayfield, Northport's Danny Hayes, Columbus driver
Joe D Hollis, and Northport's Todd Gray completing the top ten finishers.

The Pro 4 division had their Summer Championship event and Steve Glasgow
took the Championship win and trophy. Following Glasgow across the stripe in
the unlimited four-cylinder powered division were Northport's David Goins,
Danny Hayes, Tommy Brasher, and Reform's Jimmy Beachler. The Mini Stock win
went to Cedar Bluff, Mississippi's Scott Gable followed by Buddy Glover,
Jarrod Milligan, Columbus' Ryan Rigdon, and West Point's Sybil Busbin. The
Mini Stock drivers will have their Summer Championship this coming Saturday

The Pro Street win once again went to Millport, Alabama's Bill Sudduth as he
claimed another win and extended his points lead. The runner up was Detroit,
Alabama's Frank Cox with Mike Benton, Rusty Duncan, and Columbus' Bobby
Nichols rounding out the top five. The Street Stock win went to current
point's leader Lee Ray of Columbus. Ray topped a strong field of 22 entrants
and was followed by Jimmy Anderson, Columbus' Terry King, Jimmy Rogers, and
West Point's Danny Gable.

The Mississippi Modified event was like most this year at Columbus Speedway,
another checkered flag for Pickensville, Alabama's Jason Hollis. "Midnight"
Matt Price continues to adjust to open wheel racing and picked up a nice
second place finish. Former Late Model driver Brian Rickman of Columbus was
third with Northport's David Eaton and Rodney Etheridge completing the top

The Wild two person Cruiser class had a new team visit Victory Lane as "The
Two Rednecks" team of Will and Nick House took the win in a feature that had
to be red flagged due to one of the cars catching on fire. Brooks and Cody
Swink survived the 10 lap main event to cross the line second followed by
the team of Bob and Edward Caulder. Completing the top five finishers in the
popular class were TK King and Tom McReynolds, and Brady Sanders and Josh
Edwards in fifth.

Columbus Speedway will hold a Full Racing Program this Saturday night
highlighted by the Summer Mini Stock Championship. All divisions will be in
action with racing scheduled to begin at 8pm. For Columbus Speedway event
information please call 662-241-5004 or visit the Columbus Speedway Internet
home at

"The Two Rednecks" Will and Nick House

Back to the Archives