Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 02, 2001 02:40 AM UIN: 16262997

Afton, NY... J.R. Hurlburt, of Otego, picked up the
win in the DIRT 358 Modified Main on Friday night at the Afton Speedway.
Jim Witko, Jr., of Lake Ariel, PA, took the lead at the start of the
30 lap Modified main, with Hainkins native Steve Walsh hot on his heels.
Brian Davis, of Mountain Top, PA, brought of the first caution on lap
number three, looping his #119 machine in the third turn.
As the field returned to green flag racing, Witko held on to the lead
while Walsh battled side by side with Berkshire's George Hoffmier, Jr., for
the number two spot. Hoffmier took over the spot as the cautions came out for
a trio of incidents on laps seven, eight and nine.
Hoffmier, who started sixth, powered out to the lead as the green flag
flew, and Hurlburt followed through into second. Hurlburt put the pressure
on Hoffmier, as the two ran hard and clean inside and out for the next 13
laps, until Hurlburt got a good run on the low side on lap 24 to take over
the lead.
Hurlburt when on for the win, his fourth this season, followed by
Hoffmier, Witko, Davis, and Mitch Gibbs.
In DIRT Sportsman feature action, Rockdale native Tim French took off
from his pole starting position to lead the field wire to wire en route to
capturing his second win of the season.
Arnie Slade, of Guilford, has been the man to beat this season in the
Sportsman division. Slade started ninth in the 20 lap main, and made his way
up to second by the fifth lap. Slade pressured French for the lead, but could
not get a bid on the lead. This was Slade's seventh runner up finish out of
ten Sportsman feature events. Whats even more impressive is the other three
finishes for Slade are all wins, making his worst finish of the season a
Deposit's Chad Cook finished third, with Walton's Butch Klinger and
Joe Rando, from Gloversville, completing the top five.
Jason Youngs, of Unadilla, was the early race leader in the 20 lap Pro
Stock feature event. Pole sitter Youngs took the lead at the drop of the
as Deposit's Pat Nolan and Guilford's Todd Hurlburt followed through while
outside pole starter Roger Lewis fell off the pace for a short bit.
Hurlburt quickly made his way past Nolan into second, and put the heat
on Youngs for the top spot. Meanwhile, Harold Humphrey, who has been having
quite a whirlwind year, moved up to third from his sixth starting spot and
started to pressure Hurlburt for second.
Humphrey took over the number two spot after a lap five restart, and set
his sights on the Youngs machine. One lap later Humphrey made the move and
over the lead spot.
Afton's Wade Decker picked his way up through the pack from his ninth
starting position, and climbed up into the number two spot ahead of Youngs as
they reached the half-way point. Humphrey managed to hold off the hard
efforts of Decker, and go on to pick up the win, his third of the season.
Decker, Youngs, Neil Palladino and Mike Decker completed the top five.
Denny Decker, of Deposit, captured the victory in the 15 lap Pure Stock
feature event.
Decker started fifth in the field, and moved by Groton's Sean O'Conner
into the lead as the race's first caution came out on lap number four.
gave chase for the next eight laps, until losing the number two position to
rookie driver Shaun Walker, of Masonville, with just two laps left to go.
Decker went on to pick up the win by about a 4 car length margin, with
Walker in for second, followed by O'Conner, Binghamton's Butch Green, and Buck
Mills, of Guilford.
In the Four Cylinder Stock 15 lap feature event, Norwich's Scott 'Bones'
Johnson came out as the top dog at the end of the night, picking up his first
feature win of the 2001 season.
16 year old Afton native Jason Jaindl held the point from the start
he was involved in a lap six accident with Unadilla's Jamie Banta and
Ralph Cuozzo, Jr.
Russell Hendrickson, Jr., of Harpursville, inherited the lead, as
who started eighth, moved up into the second spot. Johnson tried high and
low to
get a run on Hendrickson, and with two laps left to go, he saw opportunity
as Hendrickson bobbled slightly in turn three. Johnson made the move and
the lead and the victory.
Hendrickson finished second, followed by Skip Pickwick, Dennis Vroman,
George Crippen.
Sherburne's Duane Knapp seemed to have things going his way in the Dwarf
Car 12 lap feature event. Knapp took the lead from his pole starting
position with
the 'Flying Fossil' Gordie Isham, of Windsor, giving chase.
The duo ran first and second, pulling away from the rest of the field,
until they tangled in turn three on lap seven, ending a good run for both
Berkshire's Louie Gordinier, driving his new Modified Lite style car,
the lead, and went on to pick up the win. Troy Van Allen, Floyd Clark Jr, Tim
O'Neill and Alan Barker completed the top five.

358 MODIFIED RESULTS: J.R. HURLBURT, George Hoffmier Jr, Jim Witko Jr, Brian
Mitch Gibbs, Mike Calpperton, Jeff Rudalavage, Ed Strada, Steve Walsh, John
Siedlecky, Mike Price, Rich Price, Skip French, Pete Lyon, Brad Schaffer, Pete
Nowicki Jr, Jim Witko Sr, Jeremy Smith, Allen Shiffler.

SPORTSMAN RESULTS: TIM FRENCH, Arnie Slade, Chad Cook, Butch Klinger, Joe
Ladd Yeomans, Jessica Zemken, Chris Ostrowsky, Jeff Holt, Don Hart Jr, Dave
Crandall, Billy Price, Craig Pritchard, Bob Conklin, Ronnie Centner Jr, Chad
O'Hara, Craig Pope, Ken Titus (DNS), Billy Harris (DNS).

PRO STOCK RESULTS: HAROLD HUMPHREY, Wade Decker, Jason Youngs, Neil Palladino,
Mike Decker, John Walker, Todd Hurlburt, Jason Schlafer, P.J. Goodwin, James
Cornell, Gus Gould, Winnie Winchester, Roger Lewis, Russ Card, Jason Bartsch,
Pat Nolan, Jeremy Clark, Brian Steigerwald.

PURE STOCK RESULTS: DENNY DECKER, Shaun Walker, Sean O'Conner, Butch Green,
Buck Mills, Bob Stilson, Rob Loucks, Dennis Valentine, Kurt Decker, Charlie
Holcomb, Craig Hawley.

Dennis Vroman, George Crippen, Jamie Banta, Ed Leslie, Rob Coulman, Ralph
Cuozzo Jr, Todd Smith, Ron Cummings, Ralph Jennings Jr, Jason Jaindl, Danielle
Smith, Paul Harrington.

Alan Barker, Ed Knapp, Duane Knapp, Chris Thompson, Gordie Isham, Terry
Gordinier, Steve Tourje, Tim Ross (DNS).

Back to the Archives