Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 02, 2001 02:39 AM UIN: 16262997

Thorold, Ontario Despite a delay to rain showers race fans enjoyed a great night of racing with two first time 2001 winners making the trip to Victory Lane May 30th. In their second visit of the 2001 Season, Blair Young won the 4 cylinder feature while veteran Steve Devos won the Pro Stock feature. Repeat winners were Chad Brachmann, Lee Webber and Fred Carleton in the Sportsmen, Dwarf Car and 358 Modified divisions respectively in the night presented by the Midas Auto Service Experts in St. Catharines and Welland.

Fred Cade was first to lead the 35 lap 358 Modified feature before Fred Carleton took control along the backstretch of lap 2. Carleton was quick to get to the front from his third starting spot as was fellow second generation driver Scott Wood who started sixth. Carleton had pulled away from the field but by lap 10 Wood closed in on the leader. At the halfway point the leaders began to come up on traffic but it didn't seem to slow them down as by lap 20 the two had opened up almost a half lap lead on the field. Carleton was able to get through the slower cars and by lap 25 had begun to pull away from Wood - the race still caution-free. Lap 27 saw Andy Green slow off the pace taking away a great run for the driver. With the race still green Wood started to close in on Carleton once again until the race was slowed on lap 33. Pete Bicknell who started from 15th uncharacteristically lost control of his car in turn 4 - dropping out of third spot. Carleton resumed control on the restart and in the two lap sprint to the finish opened a 10 car lead on Scott Wood who settled for the runner-up spot. Billy Krull, Todd Gordon and Rich Vinson rounded out the top 5 while Fred Cade, Rick Richner, Don Spatorico, Rob Krull and Greg Panunte closed out the top 10.

Brad Gravestock set the pace at the start of the 25 lap Sportsmen feature before Brian Elliotson took control. Elliotson opened up a good lead on the field before caution slowed the pace on lap 6. John Hagerman then took control on the restart only to have the field slowed on lap 8 once again. Rob Ledingham took control of top spot on the restart and immediately pulled away to a 10 car lead on the field. Another caution on lap 12 slowed the field with Randy Chrysler now challenging for top spot. Chrysler took control on the backstretch with Chad Brachmann taking control in turn 4. A multi-car incident on lap 14 again slowed the pace with Brachmann in control once again. A late caution again slowed the leader but in the dash to the checkered the now 5 time winner kept the advantage over Ledingham who was able to beat Chrysler to the line. Tim Jones and Rob Pietz rounded out the top 5 while John Hagerman, Joe Meisel, Wayne Conn, Garry Moreash and Gary Kruchka finished out the top 10.

Gord McKey was first to lead the 5 lap Pro Stock feature before Brian Halliwell took control in the first circuit. Rick Baker as also quick in the early going and soon challenged the leader before caution slowed the pace on lap 6. Baker who took control of top spot on the restart dramatically slowed coming out of turn 4 to complete lap 8 slowing the field with caution once more. Halliwell returned to top spot on the restart with Bill Bleich soon to challenge. From third spot Steve Devos made quite a move along the backstretch to take top spot - almost threading the needle between the two front-runners. Through to the finish Devos was able to hold on to the lead despite an ill-handling car. Bleich and rookie Mike Ward were the top 3 with Shawn Keus and Jeff Dayman rounding out the top 5.

The 15 lap dwarf Car event saw Carl Ballinger out front at the start with Bill Perry taking control along the backstretch of the third circuit. Caution on lap 6 slowed the field after a multi-car front stretch incident with Ballinger in control once again. On the move was defending champion Lee Webber. Lap 7 saw Webber take control of top spot. In the lat stages Webber led the field through slower cars with Bill Perry challenging to regain the lead. At the finish though Webber was out front by 5 car lengths over strong-running Perry. Jeff Johnson, rookie Wayne Robbins and Ray Webber closed out the top 5.

The start of the 15 lap 4 Cylinder event was delayed after pole-sitter Norm Mark slowed coming out of turn 4 to get the initial green flag. Once the action did start Blair Young took control of the lead and set quite a pace in pulling away from the field. By the halfway point Young was into lap traffic but still maintained a lap advantage on the field. Caution would slow the pace on lap 11 after Rick Sager lost control of his car in turn 4. Through to the finish it was Young out front with Mike Baxter in the runner-up spot. Mike Giberson, Brian Lawrie, and Lauren Collings as the top 5.

David Chevrolet Oldsmobile - sponsor of Merrittville Speedway's 50th Anniversary Oldsmobile Alero Pace Car - presents a full card of racing Saturday July 7th with the Dwarf Cars featured in Twin 15 lap Events. Gates will open at 5:30 with the first heat at 7:30. For further info call 905-892-8266 or visit

Midas Auto Service Experts Race Results

35 lap 358 Modified Results - Fred Carleton, Scott Wood, Bill Krull, Todd Gordon, Rich Vinson, Fred Cade, Rick Richner, Don Spatorico, Rob Krull, Greg Panunte, Pete Bicknell, Dan Miller, Ken Cosgrove, Sam Crogan, Chris Ricker, Paul Ashton, Andy Green, Jamie Turner, Fred Carleton Jr, Dwayne Winnfield, Don Turner.

25 lap Sportsmen Results - Chad Brachmann, Rob Ledingham, Randy Chrysler, Tim Jones, Rob Pietz, John Hagerman, Joe Meisel, Wayne Conn, Garry Moreash, Gary Kruchka, Boyd MacTavish, Chad Chevalier, Brian Elliotson, Jack McKinney, Rob Knapp, Glen Styres, Bob Davidson, Pete Cosco, Jeff Leggat, Brad Gravestock, Adam Ferri, Brad Rouse, Shawn Sliter, Tim Lipsitt.

15 lap Pro Stock Results Steve Devos, Bill Bleich, Mike Ward, Jeff Dayman, Ken Sargent, Stan Zanchin, Gord McKey, Al Moffat, Chris Ellis, Dan Gilbert, Brad Molloy, Brian Halliwell, Rick baker, Mike Martin, John Low

15 lap Dwarf Car Results Lee Webber, Bill Perry, Jeff Johnson, Wayne Robins, Ray Webber, Mark Brighton, Dave Ackler, Chris Rimmen, Carl Ballinger, Mike Green, Jim Varble, Ken Robins, Kellie Mason, Doug Summerhayes, Nol King, Frank Blajzczak, Derek Breedin, John Wrobel, Wally Billing, Scott Billing.

12 lap 4 Cylinder Results Blair Young, Mike Baxter, Mike Giberson, Brian Lawrie, Lauren Collings, Jake Adair, Kelly Hallet, Roger Shenstone, Doug Erskine, Chris Chato, Marc Hallet, B52, Larry Erskine, 111, Craig Erskine, Rick Sager, Rick Beales, Norm Mark, Ted Hallet

Back to the Archives