Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 02, 2001 02:36 AM UIN: 16262997

Paul Ashton was victorious at Gasport Speedway Sunday Night in
the 358 Modified Syracuse Qualifier. The program was presented by
Competition Speed and Supplies. The win gives Ashton the guarenteed spot
for Super Dirt Week in October.
Paul Ashton started along side neighbor Kenny Winfield in the 30
lap 358 main with Ashton taking the lead from the start and the Mods
battled 3 wide behind Ashton allowing him to open up a nice lead.
Ashton's pace was slowed on laps 3 and 6 as Scott Harris lost the handle
on his racer. As the action resumed the hot spot was for 2nd as
Winfield ran hard with Fred Carleton, Ken Cosgrove, and Pete Bicknell.
Lap 7 Winfield was 2nd with Carleton deciding with Bicknell for several
laps side by side with Bicknell taking 3rd on lap 14 and 2nd on lap 21.
By the time Carleton and Bicknell ended their charge together Ashton
opened up a lead he would not give up to pick up his first Gasport 358
win. Bicknell was next followed by Carleton, Winfield and Greg Panunte
rounded out the top 5. Ashton also claimed the heat win. In the
20 lap Sportsman action Dwayne Winfield and Brian Page led the field to
the green with Winfield as the leader. Lap 3 Adam Ferri spun in turn 2
for the first of several cautions. Winfield would hold the lead for 2
more laps and was passed by Brad Rouse who would hang on the remainder
for his first win this season. Points leader Rob Pietz was next in lne
followed by: Brian Page, Adam Ferri, and Darrell Ebersole. Pietz and
Jeff Leggett were the heat winners.
Aaron Vasas and Greg Ayres led the 15 lap Street Stock feature
to the green with Vasas taking the lead. The yellow flew early and often
as the high winds contributed in drying out the track causing dust and
also the blinding sunset made conditions difficult during the feature.
Vasas traded the lead with Dave Vogt several times. Lap 12 Nick Micallef
made an nice inside move to take the lead and continue for the win. Vogt
was the runnerup followed by Chris Crawford, Gord Edwards, and Greg
Ayres. Fred Korton, Ayres and Micallef won the heats.
In Mini Stock action, Brian Lawrie and Blair Young started on
the point in the 15 lap main with Lawrie as the leader but the truck of
Jake Adair spun on lap 2. Lawrie would hold the lead for a couple laps
and was passed by Norm Mark who then led for several laps and was passed
by Jamie Gilbert who would not give the lead back and would pick up
another win this season. Mark was 2nd followed by Mike Baxter, Adair and
Lawrie. Lawrie and Mark won their heat events.
A Demo Derby was held and the winner was Ed Dmytrow Jr.
Hot Laps: The Pro Stocks had the night off as their was a tour event at
Utica Rome. Up next at Gasport will be July 8th and that will be the
annual Pt Colborne and Wainfleet Firefighters Tug O War vs the drivers
and the 358 Modifieds will be joined by the Sportsman, Pro Stocks,
Street Stocks and the Mini Stocks. Pit gates will open at 4:30 with
grand stands at 5:00 and racing at 6:30. Cogeco Cable will cover the
feature action. For more information call Gasport at (905)834-4797 or
visit on-line at:
SPORTSMAN FINISH: BRAD ROUSE, Rob Pietz, Brian Page, Adam Ferri,
Darrell Ebersole, Wayne McKie, Paul Gaboury, Dwayne Winfield, Kevin
Sharpe, Jason Pietz, Lloyd Wilson, Wayne Conn, Jeff Leggett, John
McKenney, and Guy Bougie.
358 MODIFIED FINISH: PAUL ASHTON, Pete Bicknell, Fred Carleton, Kenny
Winfield, Greg Panunte, Ken Cosgrove, Dan Miller, Alex Hoag, Fred
Carleton III and Scott Harris.

Back to the Archives