Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted July 01, 2001 02:10 PM UIN: 16262997

Denny Eckrich continues to be on a roll at the West Liberty Raceway, taking home his third NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature win of the season on Saturday June 30th.

Tom Christensen used the pole position to fend off Dave Eckrich during the opening laps of the event, succumbing to Dave’s charge following a lap three restart. Denny spent the opening laps mired in heavy traffic, advancing his tenth place starting position by only one during the first three laps. Lap six proved pivotal for the eventual winner, when he was able to free himself from a cluster of cars competing for the eighth spot that included former track champions Ray Guss Jr and Gary Webb and begin his charge to the front. Hammer down, Eckrich overtook Christensen for third by lap twelve before setting his sights on the leaders. With the help of lapped traffic, Denny caught the leaders five laps later; passing Zook on lap seventeen before setting up the winning pass on lap twenty. Diving underneath his brother in the first turn, Denny nosed ahead down the backstretch and survived a similar move on the other end of the racetrack before taking the lead on lap 21. Unchallenged the remainder of the race, Denny cruised to a five car length victory over Dave, with Webb climbing to third at the checkers ahead of Steve Johnson and Christensen.

Russ Olson planted his racecar on the bottom of the track to score his second Miller Time Modified feature win of the season. Working his way up from the ninth spot, Olson was able to avoid a heavy traffic jam on the high side during his charge to the front, overtaking leader Scott Stecher on lap six. The event’s first caution allowed Dan Chapman to close in on the leader, providing fans with an intense duel for the lead for the next four laps, with Chapman hanging his right rear on the cushion to keep his momentum up while Olson used the shorter way around the track by hugging the inside berm. Olson was a nose ahead when the seventeenth lap was complete, allowing him to retain the top spot when the final caution slowed the field less than one lap later. Unchallenged on the restart, Olson benefited when Darrall Brick moved underneath to challenge Chapman for second. Chapman held on ahead of Brick, Scott Megonigle and Stecher. By finishing one position ahead of Megonigle, Brick has knotted top of the season long points battle, with both drivers scoring 452 points after eleven events.

Norman Bean also scored his second win in 2001 by topping the Pro Stock action. Taking the lead away from last week’s victor Jody Metzger on the fourth lap, Bean survived a classic high/low battle for the lead that played out the entire second half of the race. Brian VanDusen used the only caution of the race on lap seven to his advantage, out jumping Metzger on the restart before getting underneath Bean one lap later. The two cars ran virtually side-by-side for much of the remainder of the fifteen-lap event before Bean nudged slightly ahead on the white flag lap. Not giving up, VanDusen took a final shot as the cars entered the final corner of the race, but slid up to fall in line, two car lengths back at the checkers. Metzger held on to cross underneath the checkers third, ahead of John Maher and Andy Eckrich.

CJ Ormsby backed up last weeks Hobby Stock win by capturing his second trophy of the season. Ormsby dragraced Matt Bodman down the backstretch on the third lap to take the lead and went unchallenged for the final seven laps as the race went start to finish caution free. Bodman held on to second ahead of Todd Hansen, Matt Fulton and Orlen Stark.

Racing action continues at the West Liberty Raceway this Saturday night, July 7th with the only 2001 appearance of the NASCAR O’Reilly’s All Star Tour at the West Liberty Raceway. Highlighting the evening will be a 50-lap feature for the ORASS Late Models, Miller Time Modifieds, Pro Stocks and Hobby Stocks will also be in competition. An early start time of 6:15 for hot laps is scheduled to accommodate all the additional action. For more information, please contact Simmons Promotions at 319-378-1385 or on the Internet at For raceday updates and instant results upon completion please call your local McLeod USA InTouch directory category #3740.
Late Models
1. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
2. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville
3. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
4. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
5. 57 Tom Christensen West Liberty
6. 3x Skip Frey Ely
7. 18z Rusty Zook Riverside
8. 12 Ray Guss Jr Milan IL
9. 33 Kurt Stewart Ainsworth
10. 77 Kurt Kile West Liberty
11. 45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch
12. 88 Kevin Kile West Liberty
13. 32 Tom Cannon Iowa City
14. 21h Brian Harris Davenport
15. 3t Todd Davis Iowa City
16. 2 Monte Ohrt West Branch
17. 74 Ron Boyse Kalona
18. 8m Mark Ward Muscatine
19. 13k Denny Petersen Tipton
20. ez33 Nick Marolf Moscow
21. 7 Andy Nezworski Davenport
22. 8 Chuck Mayerhofer Dixon IL
23. m32 Marty Beckler Hills
24. 30 Dan Brockert Muscatine
25. 6 Jay Chenoweth Wapello
26. 23d Dana Wells Moscow
27. 4 Bobby Sexton West Branch
28. 31 Brian Morgan Muscatine

51 Matt Furman Iowa City
66 Fred Remely Blue Grass
28 Jeff Bair Solon
c4 Lee Seydel Iowa City
69 Todd Hormel West Liberty
h20 Paul Watters Waterloo
17 Clayton Jensen Iowa City
25 Mike Beuter Tipton
02 Robert Hillyer Wellman

1. b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
2. 1 Dan Chapman Clarence
3. 22 Darrall Brick West Branch
4. m2 Scott Megonigle Cedar Rapids
5. 55 Scott Stecher Muscatine
6. 64 Bret Frieden Cedar Rapids
7. 30 Gus Hughes Monticello
8. 96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
9. 2h Rick Hixson Orion IL
10. 71z Ramon Partida West Liberty
11. 34 David Hemsted Lone Tree
12. 19 Terry Lawson New Liberty
13. 45 Steve Kohli Iowa City
14. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
15. 12 Terry Walker Riverside
16. 2 Jim Vest Wellman
17. 42 John Brumely Muscatine
18. 56 Bob Fier Iowa City
19. 44 Wade Lee Muscatine
20. 25 Dustin Lovell Rochester
21. 17 Shane Stewart Washington
22. 18 Matt Ruess West Liberty
23. 60 Robbie Verbeck Annawan IL
24. 72 Rich Lewis Kewaupee IL
25. 54 Doug Picray Monticello
26. 15 Allen May Elmwood IL

20 John Fellman Blue Grass

1. 62 Norman Bean Muscatine
2. 21 Brian VanDusen Atalissa
3. 9m Jody Metzger Muscatine
4. 69 John Maher West Branch
5. 56 Andy Eckrich Cosgrove
6. 60 Matt Brockert Muscatine
7. 36 Jason Gingrich West Liberty
8. 77 Darrin Plett Davenport
9. 11 Troy Philpott Muscatine
10. 25 Chad Simpson Marion
11. 17 Gary Beuter Tipton
12. 34 Ken Hansen Vinton
13. 7 Dale Franklin Marion
14. 44 Tom Struve Palo
15. 33 Randy Franzen Marion
16. 24 Monte Hayden Wilton
17. 32 Chris Simpson Marion
18. 2r Rusty Daufeldt Blue Grass
19. 42 Larry Pearson West Liberty
20. 5 Larry McCall Mechanicsville
21. 99 Ricky West Muscatine
22. 00 Jerome Gray Muscatine

30 Dan Brockert Muscatine
29 Bruce Miller West Liberty
9z Dan Werner Muscatine

1. 99 CJ Ormsby West Liberty
2. 0b Matt Bodman Muscatine
3. 21 Todd Hansen Muscatine
4. d1 Matt Fulton Blue Grass
5. 1 Orlen Stark West Liberty
6. 9 Dave Elliot Muscatine
7. 57j Jeremy Thompson Ainsworth
8. 2b Bill Butteris Lisbon
9. 66 Jason Erwin Muscatine
10. 0 Stan O'Brien Muscatine
11. 11 Chris Maurer West Liberty
12. 72 Doug Yates Monticello
13. 51 Ron Doolittle Davenport
14. 97 Robert Barnes Letts
15. 00 Michael Dominguez West Liberty

15 Jarrod Collins West Liberty
94 Jason Lange

Back to the Archives