Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Finally The Lawman Mike Tinker Gets Cleveland Victory
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 24, 2001 05:01 PM UIN: 16262997
Finally The Lawman Mike Tinker Gets Cleveland Victory
Jason Spraker Wins Pony Championship Race
It been a long time for Ringgold GA racer Mike Tinker but perseverance finally paid off as “The Lawman” wheeled his white and blue #22 “Tinkers Garage, Hair Taimers, Port City Racing South, Dependable Security Systems” Super Late Model by early race leader Dewayne Smith and reigning track champion Andy Dill for his first Cleveland victory in over a decade. In Budweiser King of Speed Qualifying, De. Smith clocked a blistering pace at 14:289 to get the pole for the first of two heat races. Smith held off 1999 Southern All-Star Champion Jamie Perry and Tinker for the “A” Main features pole position. Dill earned the outside pole slot by winning the second heat. Current SLM points leader David Smith followed with Chris Beavers ruled in third. As the field took the green De. Smith took command an all seemed well in hand for his first victory of the season, then Perry happened. Attempting to take the lead Perry lost control of his mount, blasting hard into the inside concrete retaining wall. The impact was hard enough that Perry went under his own power to Bradley Co. Hospital. As De. Smith took the restart Tinker began his charge as he overpowered Dill for second. Smith tried to hold his line but couldn’t deny Tinker into the lead. Fourth fastest qualifier Kent Hicks used Eddie Benefield’s mount after blowing the motor on his second lap of qualifying. Hicks was able to raced to fifth as the checkers flew for Tinker just behind Randy Burrows. De. Smith finished a strong / dismal third with Dill securing the runner-up position.

In the special 30 lap Pony Stock MidSeason Championship Jason Spraker of Cleveland piloted his #25 “Wampler’s Towing, Ocoee Bonding Co.” sponsored 4 cylinder racecar to victory. The defending race champion and current points leader Justin Winters started on the outside pole position and quickly took the lead. Defending his title would be short lived as the leader pulled in the pits with mechanical problems on a lap 2 restart. David Doss inherited the lead and seemed to on his way to capturing the title is older brother Josh did two years ago. Chad Elliott trying to track down the leader ended his second place run blowing the motor in his mount. Travis Winters came from the back after an early race incident to try and chase down Doss. Unfortunately for Doss his championship hopes would come to an end as he wrecked into the wall in turn two. Wendall Ingram inherited the lead until Spraker charged by for the winning pass. Winters got by Ingram for second but it was too late to get to the leader as he took the checkers for the first time this season. Brian Truelove and Barney Stiles rounded out the top five finishers.

Super Late Model:
1.Mike Tinker (#22) of Ringgold GA
2.Andy Dill (# 39) of Georgetown
3.Dewayne Smith (#21) of Cleveland
4.Randy Burrows (# 95) of Chattanooga
5.Kent Hicks (# 10) of Cleveland
6.Todd Morrow (# T1) of Cleveland *
7.James Gamble (# 27) of Ooltewah *
8.Chris Beavers (# 03) of Cleveland
9.Jake Lowry (#44) of Georgetown
10.David Smith (# 22D) of Chattanooga

* Rookie of the Year Continder

Pony Stock Mid Season Championship
1.Jason Spraker (#25) of Cleveland
2.Travis Winters (# T20) of Benton
3.Wendall Ingram (# 24) of Cleveland
4.Brian Truelove (# 39) of Cleveland
5.Barney Stiles (# B5) of Chattanooga
6.Mark Bishop (# 93) of Cleveland
7.Bobby Beavers (# 74) of Cleveland
8.Lindsey Doss (# 00) of Cleveland
9.Mandy Shaw (# 16) of Ooltewah
10.Donnie Webb (# 77) of Cleveland

Claimer Late Models: Winner – Chris Powell (# P9) of Cleveland
2.Glen Seaton III (# 92), 3.Randy Stanfield (# 28), 4.P.D. Doss (# 1), 5.Elgin Gray (# 32)

Hobby: Winner – Doug Works (# 35) Cleveland
2.James Nichols (# K3), 3.Jim Twiggs (# K3), 4.Lynn Roark (# 5), 5.Jon Woodward (# 37)

Street: Winner – Donald Forgey (# 71) of Cleveland
2.Herbert Chambers (# 31), 3.Jim Erwin (# J8), 4.Jason Seaton (# 92), 5.Jimmy Shields (# 10)


Back to the Archives