Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River Speedway results from Saturday, June 23
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 24, 2001 09:46 AM UIN: 16262997
Duck River Speedway results from Saturday, June 23

In perhaps the most thrilling Late Model finish of the season, four time feature winner David Gentry and Shannon Davis battled the final six laps in a nose to tail, side by side duel that will long be remembered by those in attendance. With two time track champion David Thompson and Nashville Speedway pavement ace, Allen Carter shadowing the two leaders the final laps, Davis finally nosed out front on lap 23. Gentry then battled back and on the final circuit dove under Davis going into turns three and four and taking the lead back from Davis, but as the duo exited four with the checkered flag in site, Shannon Davis dropped low and scooted back under Gentry to beat him at the stripe by less than a foot! If that wasn’t enough, Carter slipped around Thompson for third in the waning laps as both were waiting for the lead duo to slip up.
Thompson’s teammate Todd Minor was fifth in his first start of 2001 at Duck River Speedway. David Gentry set quick time with a 13.658 clocking.
Late Models
1) Shannon Davis
2) David Gentry
3) Allen Carter
4) David Thompson
5) Todd Minor
6) David Sells
7) Bo Judge
8) Tony Morris
9) Henry Hanger
10) Tom Higgens
In Open Wheel Racing, David Gentry was again the focus of attention as the five time winner charged past pole sitter Bryan Reed then held off the advances of Bob Jarrett and Mike Grissom to garner his sixth victory of the year and win the Mid Season Championship race. Late Model Mid Season Championship feature winner, Shannon Davis was fourth with Jeff Ray recovering from an early race spin to grab fifth. Gentry and Reed were the heat race winners.

Open Wheel
1) David Gentry
2) Bob Jarrett
3) Mike Grissom
4) Shannon Davis
5) Jeff Ray
6) Tim Demonbreun
7) Eric Pirtle
8) Josh Dement
9) Bryan Reed
10) Bruce Davidson

David Seibers won his sixth feature of the season in the two-barrell Late Model class. Newcomer Rick Curren made a valient effort coming through the field to finish second ahead of points leader Josh Lunsford. Seibers won the 9 car heat race.
2-Barrell Late Models
1) David Seibers
2) Rick Curren
3) Josh Lunsford
4) Dean Travis
5) Dwayne Waid
6) Billy Barnett
7) Bubba Paul
8) Brandon Scott
9) Charlie Cates

If there has ever been a ho hum Super Stock race at the "Duck", no one remembers because as usual this group puts on a slam bang, Rock ‘em Sock ‘em sideways (and every other way) travelin’ dirt show that fans will not get up and take a break during. Saturday night was no exception as first Mike Johnson, then Jaybird Marlin and Clyde Bruce then finally Tash Bruce (just to name a few!) all experienced unpleasant and asundry problems while challenging for the front spot. Larry Landers escaped the mayhem to win a very close battle with Jay George to pick up the Super Stock Mid Season Championship. George is getting ever so close to his first win of 2001, as the Chevrolet Monte Carlo chaufuaer picked up his ninth Top 5 finish of the season. Greg Curl experienced problems in the heat race and started dead last in the feature before working his way into a fine third place finish. Chad Williams was fourth with Chris Ruth grabbing his first Top 5 finish of the season in the fifth spot. Landers and Mike Johnson were the heat race winners.
Super Stock
1) Larry Landers
2) Jay George
3) Greg Curl
4) Chad Williams
5) Chris Ruth
6) Jarrod Waid
7) Tash Bruce
8) Bryan Biddy
9) Jaybird Marlin
10) Clyde Bruce
Johnny Crowell motored to his seventh Outlaw Pony feature win of the year Saturday nigh while Blake Carter pushed the veteran Crowell but settled for second. Jeff Roberson had yet another fine run to finish third. Carter and Crowell were the heat race winners.
Outlaw Pony
1) Johnny Crowell
2) Blake Carter
3) Jeff Roberson
4) Keith Layne
5) Gwinn Jones
6) Steve Kennedy
7) Bo Owens
8) Tammy Johnson
9) Terry Whitley
10) Deon Sanders
You can always, "count" on your fingers and Michael Chumbley. The Pure Pony points leader motored to his tenth victory and 15th top 5 finish of the year at Duck River Speedway, in winning the mid season championship race.
Pure Pony
1) Michael Chumbley
2) Anthony Seibers
3) Doug Chumbley
4) Tony Patterson
5) Stanley James
6) David Wallace
7) Tony Gentry
8) Joseph Storey
9) Joe Morgan
10) Tom Russell

John Johnson won his second feature of the year in the "Rookie" Pony division by besting Lee Farless and Tim Giles. Johnson and Giles were the heat winners.
"Rookie" Pony
1) John Johnson
2) Lee Farless
3) Tim Giles
4) Joshua Nichols
5) Tiffany Jones

Racing continues this coming Saturday evening (June 30) with the final tune up before the big "Spirit of Freedom" Tennessee State Championship for 362 All Steel Late Models on July 7, paying $2,000 to win and $100 to start. This show will be run in conjunction with North Alabama Speedway’s "Spirit of Freedom" Alabama State Championship for 362 All Steel Late Models (July 7) that will also pay $2,000 to win and $100 to start. For those Late Model Drivers desiring to run both State Championship shows you will be eligible for the $500, $300, $200 Bonus for the Top 3 in Points for the two combined races.
Dennis Bowling

Back to the Archives