Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 24, 2001 01:21 AM UIN: 16262997
June 22, 2001

STRONGSTOWN, PA - Three drivers were celebrating in Dog Hollow Speedways
winners circle for the first time in 2001 Friday night, while it rained in
nearly every portion of the state Friday evening, but it didn't rain in
Strongstown. Fans are still wondering, "WHY?"
Dave Satterlee of Rochester Mills won his first #1 Cochran Late Model
feature of the season, while Houtzdale's Jerry Timchak won his first Hugill
Sanitation Limited Late Model main and Jim Boyer of Indiana topped the
street stock feature on Hugill Sanitation Trophy night. It was each drivers
first win of the season at the speedway. Taking his second win of the year
was Fallentimber driver John Kuzemchak in the pure stocks.
Rick Strong led Jim Yoder into the first turn at the start of the late model
feature. The Strong One looked to be headed for a career first win at the
speedway, and sat through four cautions.
A caution on lap 13 for debris slowed the event, something Strong didn't
want to see. On the restart, Satterlee went to his patented groove, the high
sidem ad drove by Strong. As the pair went into the first turn they were
door-to-door, Satterlee was high and Strong was low with Satterlee having a
slight advantage as they worked into turn three. Satterlee tried to protect
the inside from Strong, the pair touched, both cars got out of shape, but
they recovered and never lost their positions. Once he was safely in the
lead, Satterlee went on to get his first win of the season. Jimmy Bernheisel
nabbed second at the line, Strong was third, Rodney Phillips was fourth and
Rick Davis was fifth. Satterlee and Davis won the prelims.
Jerry Lower was the man who led the first portion of the limited late model
feature, coming from his third starting spot to lead. While Lower led, Jerry
Timchak was sitting in second, hounding the leader, but working lap 12 Lower
broke, giving the lead over to Timchak. Timchak was setting sail until a
caution on lap 15 regrouped the field. When the green was ready to fly
again, Shawn McGarvey was on his bumper.
On the restart McGarvey tried to get under Timchak, but Timchak protected he
low groove so McGarvey went high. The pair ran door-to-door the rest of the
way with Timchak picking up his first career limited late win at DHS.
McGarvey was second, Jim Parson was third, Dwayne Taneyhill was fourth and
Duane Bash completed the top five. McGarvey and Heath Gaston won the heats.
Tom Snyder made his first 2001 visit to DHS a memorable one. He beat John
Weaver into the first turn at the start and led the first four laps. Jim
Boyer worked his way from fourth and into the lead on lap five with an
inside pass. The racing came to a screeching halt on lap 9 when Leroy
Pershing flipped wildly down the backstretch. He was ok but his car received
heavy damage. On the Restart, Bill Lyons and Shawn Mogle moved into second
and third and set their sights on Boyer. The Indiana driver was pressured to
the finish but held on for his first win of the season. Lyons, Mogle, Weaver
and Mike Laughard completed the top five. Snyder was fourth, but was
disqualified for refusing a post race teardown. Heat wins went to Boyer and
Bill Sigafoes led Terry Nihart into the first turn to start the pure stock
feature, and set his sights on a win. Fourth place starter John Kuzemchak
worked his way towards the front, and finally took the lead from Sigafoes on
lap ten. Once in control of the event, Kuzemchak was uncontested and took
his second win of the year. Sigafoes, Nihart, Tim Laughard and Matt Summers
completed the top five. Kuzemchak and Laughard won the prelims.
DOG TRACKS: Seventy-two teams braved the threatening weather, including: 18
late models, 18 limited late models, 19 street stocks and 17 pure
stocks.Dozens of children participated in the first ever bike races at
DHS.The second round of the Thunder Dog Challenge will be held this Friday
for all four divisions, including the late models, limited late models,
street stocks and pure stocks.The School Bus' return on July 6 and the MACS
Late Models visit on July 13.Gates open this week and every week at 5 in the
pits 6 for spectators and racing is at 7:30 sharp.For more information check
the web site at
#1 COCHRAN LATE MODELS: 1. Dave Satterlee, Rochester Mills; 2. Jim
Bernheisel, Lebanon; 3. Rick Strong, Indiana; 4. Rodney Phillips, Punxsy; 5.
Rick Davis, Indiana; 6. Jim Yoder, Selinsgrove; 7. Tony Raneri, Johnstown;
8. John Britsky, Clymer; 9. Paul Michny, Pine Flats and Duane Stiner,

HUGILL SANITATION LIMITED LATE MODELS: 1. Jerry Timchak, Houtzdale; 2. Shawn
McGarvey, Coalport; 3. Jim Parson, Bellwood; 4. Dwayne Taneyhill, Bellwood;
5. Duane Bash, Clymer; 6. Denny Petyak, Gallitzen; 7. Dan Lee, Windber; 8.
Bob Kelly, Hollidaysburg; 9. Dave Day and 10. Scott Stien, Cherry Tree.

STREET STOCKS: 1. Jim Boyer, Indiana; 2. Bill Lyons, Shelocta; 3. Shawn
Mogle, Ernest; 4. John Weaver, Commodore; 5. Mike Laughard, Strongstown; 6.
Randy Campbell, Hollidaysburg; 7. Bill Pluta Jr., Carinbrook; 8. Phil
Leddon, Punxsy; 9. Ron Wallace, Johnstown and 10. Jim Laighard, Strongstown.

PURE STOCKS: 1. John Kuzemchak, Fallentimber; 2. Bill Sigafoes, Blairsville;
3. Terry Nihart, Ebensburg; 4. Tim Laughard, Strongstown; 5. Matt Summers,
Vandergrift; 6. Charlie Boring, Bolivar; 7. George Scanlan, Ebensburg; 8.
John Mazey, Bolivar; 9. Matt Luther, Ebensburg and 10. Neil Berndt, Northern

Back to the Archives