Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Armbruster tops Triple Nickel at Raceway 7
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 23, 2001 10:43 AM UIN: 16262997
Armbruster tops Triple Nickel at Raceway 7

Conneaut, OH (June 22) - Dan Armbruster survived a late race charge from **** Barton to pocket the $5,000 top prize in the first round of the Triple Nickel, at Raceway 7 on Friday night. The 50-lap Maloney Tool and Mold Super Late Model feature event went right down to the wire, with Armbruster surviving the late battle to take the victory. The winner in the Jay's Auto Wrecking Steel Block Late Model feature was Tom Bonanno from Conneautville, PA, wiping out an early season run of bad luck. Mike Hess from Waterford, PA was the feature winner in the MHC Inc. E-Mods. In the Fame Manufacturing Street Stocks, Euclid, OH driver Brian Douglas was the winner. On the sixth night of racing, every winner earned their first victories of the season.

The 50-lap kickoff to the Triple Nickel event for the Maloney Tool and Mold Super Late Models had Jeff Hoffman taking the lead at the green flag. Fourth starting Dan Armbruster pulled up to challenge before the first yellow flag waved on lap 13. Another extended period of green flag racing would be next, as Hoffman continued to lead Armbruster and Randle Chupp. The battle for position by the top three was intense, as Chupp and Armbruster swapped second just past halfway. With the leaders working race traffic on lap 31, Armbruster was able to make the pass to take the lead. **** Barton had advanced through the field from 17th starting spot, moving to second on lap 35. Armbruster had a comfortable lead that was wiped out by a yellow flag on lap 44, just the second one of the event. With another restart on lap 45, the battle for the top spot was hot and heavy during the final five laps. Barton led lap 46 at the line, with Armbruster nosing ahead the next time by. Armbruster would control the final laps in scoring the win, with Barton a close second. Bob Close made a late charge to finish third, with Ken Trevitz a solid fourth. After starting 24th, Ron Davies charged through the pack to finish fifth. Rob Blair came from 23rd starting spot for sixth, with Hoffman, Dave Lyon, Greg Fenno, and Mike Wonderling completing the top ten. With a field of 47 Late Models in the pit area, Heat race winners were Randle Chupp, Jeff Hoffman, Dan Armbruster, and Bob Close. Last Chance Race winners were **** Barton and Rich Gardner. McKean County Raceway hosts the remainder of the Triple Nickel on Saturday.

Tom Bonanno was awarded the victory in the 20-lap feature for the Jay's Auto Wrecking Steel Block Late Models. Numerous yellow flag periods in the early going found the race called short by the time limit, with just 8 laps complete. Jay Watson, Dwayne Pond, Doug Eck, and Merle Terry rounded out the top five. Bryan Emory, Watson, and Jim Davis were Heat winners.

Mike Hess survived a late race battle with Ron Roncaglione to score his first 20-lap MHC Inc. E-Mod feature win of the season. Roncaglione faded in the closing laps, as the battle was for second between J.B. Dandy and Brent Rhebergen. But then they made contact on the final lap, it was Todd Roncaglione, Bill Watson, and Ron Roncaglione making up the top four, with Dandy fifth. Heat race winners were Ron Roncaglione, Kevin Decker, and Bob Craig.

The 15-lap Fame Manufacturing Street Stock feature went down to the final lap, with Brian Douglas taking the win with a last lap pass of Chuck Sullivan. Douglas had completed a charge from the tail, after pitting on lap 10. Darrell Bossard had led a large portion of the event, but settled for third. Mike Boyd was fourth, with Kevin White fifth. Heat winners were Rich Howell, Sullivan, and Douglas, with Chip Davis winning the Last Chance Race.

Raceway 7 will be back in action with a pair of programs in the coming weekend. The weekly four-division racing program will take place on Friday, June 29, with the Late Model winner earning $2,000, sponsored by Corry Laser. There will be fireworks, and a demo derby as well. On Saturday, June 30, a truck and tractor pull will be presented. The gates open at 5:30, with racing starting at 7:30. Raceway 7 is located six miles south of Interstate 90 on Ohio Route 7. For more information, please call 814-967-4230 for the office, or 440-594-2222. For the most complete source of Raceway 7 information, please visit the track's web site at

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Upcoming events:
Friday, June 29 - $2000 to win Super Late Model sponsored by Corry Laser. Four-division racing, plus Fireworks and a Demo Derby.
Saturday, June 30 * - Special Saturday truck pull. Truck pull by NWT&T Pull Association.
Thursday, July 5 * - Two-day UDTRA Pro Dirtcar Series Ohio Nationals. Time trials and heats for Super Late Models. Full program for Steel Block Late Models.
Friday, July 6 * - UDTRA Pro DirtCar Series Late Models, The Second Annual General Aluminum 100 paying $20,000 to win. Plus E-Mods and Street Stocks.

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Raceway 7 results for Friday, June 22, 2001

Maloney Tool and Mold Late Models - Car Count - 47.
Heat winners - Randle Chupp, Jeff Hoffman, Dan Armbruster, Bob Close.
Last Chance Race winners - **** Barton, Rich Gardner.
Feature - 1)Dan Armbruster. 2)**** Barton. 3)Bob Close. 4)Ken Trevitz. 5)Ron Davies. 6)Rob Blair. 7)Jeff Hoffman. 8)Dave Lyon. 9)Greg Fenno. 10)Mike Wonderling. 11)Rich Gardner. 12)Brian Ruhlman. 13)Brent Rhebergen. 14)Jim Dandy, Jr. 15)Tony Lombardi. 16)Mickey Wright. 17)Rick Isadore. 18)Bill Cunningham. 19)Jerry Johnson. 20)Matt Lux. 21)Randle Chupp. 22)Rusty Whitmore. 23)Miles Stitzinger. 24)Matt Urban.
Did not qualify, Brad Fiesler, Mike Johnson, Rob DeGolier, Bruce Hordusky, Keith Zimmerman, Mark Osburn, Lee Patrick, Kirk Bradley, Kevin Santee, Brady Wonderling, Jim Mazur, Wren Turner, Steve Halpainy, Frank Poniatowski, Chris Hackett, Todd Andrews, John Hagerty, Ward Schell, Andy Kania, Bryan Durig, Dave Kister, John Watson, Rick Briggs.

Jay's Auto Wrecking Steel Block Late Models - Car Count - 24.
Heat winners - Bryan Emory, Jay Watson, Jim Davis.
Feature - 1)Tom Bonanno. 2)Jay Watson. 3)Dwayne Pond. 4)Doug Eck. 5)Merle Terry. 6)Jim Dandy, Jr. 7)Tim Glass. 8)Bill Henry. 9)Steve Hollabaugh. 10)Chuck Steinle, Jr. 11)Bryan Emory. 12)Brian Huffman. 13)Jim Davis. 14)Mike Stoneman. 15)Terry Porter. 16)Tom Denzinger. 17)Andy Boozel. 18)Todd Shrefler. 19)Joe Gillespie. 20)Dave Hess, Jr. 21)Wendell Pinckney. 22)Tim Cole. 23)Dan McDonald. Did not race, John Buzzard.

MHC Inc. E-Mods - Car Count - 25.
Heat winners - Ron Roncaglione, Kevin Decker, Bob Craig.
Feature - 1)Mike Hess. 2)Todd Roncaglione. 3)Bill Watson. 4)Ron Roncaglione. 5)J.B. Dandy. 6)Kevin Decker. 7)Brent Rhebergen. 8)Kari Petrosky. 9)Jeff Shank. 10)Bill Taylor. 11)Tony Hyde. 12)Robert Bland. 13)Jim Frontz. 14)Chuck List. 15)Ryan Goff. 16)Mike Potosky. 17)Bootie Petsko. 18)Pat Otteni. 19)Hugo Litwiler. 20)Dale Applebee. 21)Bob Craig. 22)Jim Abbott. 23)Don Watson. Did not start, John Andrew, Jim Long.

Fame Manufacturing Street Stocks - Car Count - 26.
Heat winners - Rich Howell, Chuck Sullivan, Brian Douglas.
Last Chance Race winner - Chip Davis.
Feature - 1)Brian Douglas. 2)Chuck Sullivan. 3)Darrell Bossard. 4)Mike Boyd. 5)Kevin White. 6)Tim Mann. 7)Lynn Preston. 8)Rich Bates. 9)Karen Shank. 10)Mike Hochschild. 11)John Hobbs, Sr. 12)Jim Van Cise. 13)Darren Buell. 14)Jim McFadden. 15)Pat Gorton. 16)Chip Davis. 17)Brian Watson. 18)Jeremy Stafford. 19)Russell Cressley. 20)Mike Andrew. 21)Jake Fenton. 22)Rich Howell. Did not start, Ted Westover.
Did not qualify, Barb Bellinger, Raymond Pack, Bruce Burlingame.

Back to the Archives