Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Wilskey Wins On State Fair Raceway Oval
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 23, 2001 10:42 AM UIN: 16262997
Wilskey Wins On State Fair Raceway Oval

Continuing to show she has mastered State Fair Raceway in Yakima, WA, the
Lake Stevens, WA hot shoe racked up yet another win on the three-eights mile
clay oval. Chasing, but never catching her in the 30 lap feature event,
Jason Solwold of Burlington, WA and Jayme Barnes of Everett, WA were able to
join her in podium finishes with second and third place finishes

After setting fast time and winning the dash, Wilskey never looked back from
her pole position start in the feature event, quickly opening nearly a
quarter lap lead by the 6th circuit and was tapping on the rear nerf bar of
the last car a couple of laps later.

Traffic allowed Solwold to close the gap to about 10 car lengths mid race,
only to see Wilskey's #8 pull away again as she put the last two cars a lap

Barnes and Jeremy Cooper of Creswell, OR diced for third for several laps in
the first half of the race, and Scott Adams was working to mid-pack picking
off cars one by one. Adams, of Roseburg, OR, had the best passing job of the
night, gaining 6 positions.

A lap 19 yellow for a spun car put the field on Wilskey's tail tank, but
within three laps she again had opened up a 20 car length lead over Solwold
and the pack. A good battle developed between Jay Cole, Shelton, WA, Roger
Crockett of Rio Linda, CA and Everett, WA's Rick Fauver for 7th place with
Crockett getting the spot at the finish line.

With three laps to go, the top wing side panel started laying over on
Barnes' #9 but the effect was not enough to allow Cooper to catch him before
the checkered.

At the line, the top five read Wilskey, Solwold, Barnes, Cooper, and Jeff
Thompson of Harrisburg, OR.

B-Main action came to a halt on lap five with 5 cars sitting in turn three
with two going off on the hook. Canada's Scott Aumen of Duncan, BC
maintained his green flag lead on the re-start, and through two more
yellows, to take the win.

Crockett chased the winner the entire 15 laps, catching him in the corners
at times but never gaining the momentum to make the pass for first place.
Richie Peterson looked to be a contender for a top spot until the great
Falls, MT based driver headed to the pits with hydraulic problems on lap 6.

With Peterson out, Adams took over third place to the checkered behind
Crockett as Glenn Borden, Jr. of Raymond, WA and Bellingham, WA's John
Huggins filled out the top five.

In heat race action, Shane Matthews of Marysville, CA went wire to wire to
take the first win of the night. Barry Martinez of Lynnwood, WA and
Springfield, OR driver Kevin Journey gave the fans a great race to watch as
they battled for second place. Following Martinez and Journey into A Main
spots were Wilskey and Cole.

Heat two went to Donny Fry of Montesano, WA with Fauver, Brandon Harkness of
Acme, WA, Barnes and Thompson the top five.

The final heat had Jay R. Harkness out front at the green and going the
distance for the win. The Bellingham, WA driver was followed by Solwold,
Rick Smith of Mt. Vernon, WA, Cooper and Tony Menard out of Nanaimo, BC

The dash saw pole sitter Martinez out with rear end problems before the
green flag had even been waved. The win went to Wilskey who was followed by
Solwold, Thompson, Barnes, and Cooper to set the front six line up for the
feature event.

hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour action moves to Portland Speedway,
Portland, OR on Saturday, June 23, 2001.


Fast Time - Shawna Wilskey - 15.467
Heat 1 - Shane Matthews, Barry Martinez, Kevin Journey, Shawna Wilskey, Jay
Cole, Roger Crockett, Mike Grable, Melissa Yates, Jeff Osburn, Randy Van
Heat 2 - Donny Fry, Rick Fauver, Brandon Harkness, Jayme Barnes, Jeff
Thompson, Scott Adams, Richie Peterson, John Huggins, John Tharp, Kelsey
Heat 3 - Jay R. Harkness, Jason Solwold, Rick Smith, Jeremy Cooper, Tony
Menard, Scott Aumen, Glenn Borden, Jr., Steve Kilcup, Jim Cress.
Dash - Wilskey, Solwold, Thompson, Barnes, Cooper, Martinez.
B-Main - Aumen, Crockett, Adams, Borden, Huggins, Grable, Van Aagten,
Osburn, Cress, Peterson, Yates, Tharp, Kilcup, Carpenter, Joe Ramaker.
A-Main - Wilskey, Solwold, Barnes, Cooper, Thompson, Martinez, Crockett,
Cole, Fauver, Aumen, Smith, Adams, B. Harkness, Matthews, Menard, Borden, J.
Harkness, Fry, Huggins, Grable.

Back to the Archives