Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 18, 2001 12:58 AM UIN: 16262997

Pete Bicknell claimed the first 358 Modified feature at Gasport
in their first appearance since 1995. Bicknell led all 30 laps from the
pole position. The St. Catharines native sat beside Greg Panunte at the
start and Bicknell took the lead with Larry Lampmn taking over the
second spot as Lampman battled for 2nd with Panunte. Bicknell opened up
a full straight lead by lap 6. Lap 9 the yellow flew for Luke Carleton
who spun in turn 3. The restart would see a big multi car pileup in turn
1 to stop the field. Bicknell, Lampman and the rookie Panunte would have
the field in tow. The yellow flew on lap 11 as Ken Winfield, Jamie
Turner, Luke Carleton and Rob Krull got together in turn 3. The restart
would see Fred Carleton take over 4th and give chase. The field ran the
final 19 laps with Bicknell getting the win followed by Panunte,
Lampman, Fred Carleton and Danny Miller roundng out the top 5. Lampman,
Fred Cade and Miller won the heats. Brian Page and Brian
Elliottson led the 20 Sportsman field to the green with Page as the
early leader with Rob Pietz hot on their tails in 2nd. Lap 3 Pietz made
the inside pass on Page to take the top spot. Pietz was soon followed by
Darrell Ebersole and Adam Ferri. who battled for the runnerup position.
By lap 6 The lead was a full straight over Ebersole and Rob Ledingham
who joined the fray. The yellow flew on lap 9 for Paul Gaboury and Jeff
Leggett as they go together in turn 3. The restart saw Ledingham
takeover 2nd but Ebersole keeping things close behind the leader Pietz.
Lap 15 it was a 1car length advantage for Pietz over Ledingham but the
cauition flew for Jason Pietz as he spun in turn 3. In the following 4
laps Pietz would hod off the charges of Ledingham, Ebersole, Randy
Chrysler and Brad Rouse. Ledingham and Leggett were the heat winners.
A 17 car Pro Stock field was led to the green by Bill Bleich and
Ken Sargent as Sargent would lead all 15 laps to capture the win.
Cautions few on lap 2 as Danny Gilbert and Jerry Deschamps came together
and on lap 12 as Mark Schulz went off turn 1. Gilbert held off a strong
charge of Joe Stefanski, Steve Devos, Bill Bleich and Roger Chrysler.
Sargent and Jon Miller were the heat winners.
The 15 lap Street Stocks were led to the gren by Fred Korton and
John Dietz with Korton running stron and looking to be dominant. Lap 2
Bill Wade got together with Matt Gillingham and Dale Cooper. The restart
would see Korton holding off Dietz and Gordie Edwards. But on lap 7
Dietz head off turn 2. Visitor Alex Morris worked his way thru the field
around traffic. Lap 8 Mark Loveland pulled into the runnerup spot and
give Korton all he could want and would finally take over from Korton
with 2 to go as Loveland went on for win number 5 of the season. Next in
line were Korton, Morris, Edwards and Micallef. Korton, Lovelad and Greg
Ayres were the heat winners.
The 15 lap Mini Stocks was led to the green by Alex Wheeldon
and Rob Wagner. It turned into a caution filled event as the track was
watered during intermission to get some moisture back into the surface.
Wagner would lead all 15 laps to pickup hs 1st feature win ever. Jake
Adair followed next along with Jamie Gilbert, Blair Young and Mike
Baxter. Gilbert and Wagner were the heat winners.
Late Note: The winner of last weeks special Mechanics race was John
Ridley " SORRY JOHN"
PIT NOTES: The Pro Stocks ran their All Canadian Championship Qualifier
and Ken Sargent will start at least 6th but can move up with a faster
time trial on August 5th. Bonuses were paid to all feature winners by
Mel Swart retired Member of Parliment. Double points were awarded in all
classes tonight. Roger Chrysler suffered heavy damage in his Pro Stock
heat as he was mounted by Steve Devos as the Pro Stocks ran hard and
fast. Next week will be the Hoosier Tire Mr. DIRT Pro Stock Tour and 30
to 40 full fendered racers will be expected. Also visiting will be the
Mid State Vintage Antique Car Club and a 30-40 car count can be expected
also alng with a full program. The Sportsman are not on the schedule but
will be part of the program as well. It will also be autograph night as
the can meet and greet their favorites on the track during intermission.
The pits will open at 4:30 Sunday with the grandstands at 5:00 and
racing at 6:30. For more information call Gasport at (905)834-4797 or
visit Gasport on the internet at:
MODIFIED FINISH: PETE BICKNELL, Greg Panunte, Larry lampman, Fred
Carleton, Dan Miller, Ken Cosgrove, Alex Hoag, Billy Krull, Scott Wood,
Todd Gordon, Rob Krull, Fred Cade, Don Spatorico, Kenny Winfield, Russ
Zimmerman, Luke Carleton, Don Turner, Jamie Turner, Paul Ashton, Boyd
MacTavish and Fred Carleton III.
SPORTSMAN FINISH: ROB PIETZ, Rob Ledingham, Darrell Ebersole, Randy
Chrysler, Brad Rouse, Adam Ferri, John McKenney, Brian Page, Dwayne
Winfield, Paul Gaboury, Jeff Leggett, Brian Elliottson, Jason Pietz, Gut
Bougie and Bill Gill.

Back to the Archives