Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 17, 2001 12:22 PM UIN: 16262997
Mechanicsburg, PA
Super Sprints:
Feature (25 Laps) - 1. Todd Shaffer ($3,000); 2. Fred Rahmer; 3. Todd
Hestor; 4. Keith Kauffman; 5. Chris Knopp; 6. Mark Smith; 7. Cris Eash; 8.
Len Thompson; 9. Lance Dewease; 10. Darren Eash; 11. Greg Hodnett; 12. Dave
Ely; 13. Curt Michael; 14. Craig Keel; 15. Mike Erdley; 16. Rick Lafferty;
17. James Chesson; 18. Shawn Keen; 19. Don Kreitz Jr.; 20. Troy Whitesel;
21. P. J. Chesson; 22. Sean Michael; 23. Dave Cordier Jr.; 24. Jeff
Lap Leaders - Rick Lafferty (1-14), Todd Shaffer (15-25)
Heat Winners - Shawn Keen, Chris Knopp, Craig Keel
Consolation Winner - James Chesson

358 Sprints:
Feature (20 Laps) - 1. Carmen Perigo Jr.; 2. Tim Hershey; 3. Dale Hammaker;
4. T. J. Stutts; 5. Jeremy Gardner; 6. Adrian Shaffer; 7. Cory Haas; 8. Joe
Ilg; 9. Rick Eichelberger; 10. Mike Miller; 11. Brian Eichelberger; 12. Bob
Fisher; 13. Mark Richard; 14. Billy Johns; 15. Scott Ausherman; 16. Denny
Gross; 17. Dean Kline; 18. Rick Horn; 19. Bill Albright; 20. Eric Stambaugh;
21. Duaine Smith; 22. Brian Marriott; 23. Chad Layton; 24. Kevin Drury.
Lap Leaders - Dean Kline (1-17), Caren Perigo Jr. (18-25)
Heat Winners - Dale Hammaker, Jeremy Gardner, Mike Miller, Brian Marriott
Consolation Winners - Eric Stambaugh, Billy Dietrich

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 17, 2001 12:25 PM UIN: 16262997
After suffering through a winless 2001 season at Williams Grove Speedway,
Millerstown's Todd Shaffer now finds himself the hottest driver of the year
at the Mechanicsburg half-mile.
Shaffer became the first driver to score back to back wins in sprint car
competition at the Grove in winning Friday night's 25 lap super sprint
Shaffer, who started ninth, drove to the inside of race-long leader Rick
Lafferty in the third and fourth turns of the 15th lap to take the lead.
Shaffer then survived two late-race cautions with defending four-time Grove
champion Fred Rahmer right on his heels to take the checkered 1.23 seconds
ahead of the Salfordsville racer for his second week in a row.
"I want to thank the track crew here for putting this new clay on," said
Shaffer jokingly. "If I would have known this I would have paid to put the
clay on a long time ago."
"We caught a good break on the start again and that means a lot. On the red
I seen that Fred (Rahmer) was right behind me so I knew he was good. This is
a Wolfgang Chassis, Doug Wolfgang he built this car for me They say this Don
Ott motor needs to be overhauled, but we hate to pull it's way past
Despite the two late race cautions Shaffer was never seriously challenged
en route to his 23rd career victory at Williams Grove. Shaffer earned $3000
for his second victory of the season and joined Lance Dewease as the only
repeat winners at the Grove this year.
Rahmer's runner-up effort allowed him to close on Dewease in the Cindy Rowe
Auto Glass point standings. Hestor held off his team mate Keith Kauffman for
third and Chris Knopp turned in a strong performance to complete the top

Dean Kline led the first 17 laps of the 358 feature before a flat right
rear tire sent him to the pits. Carmen Perigo Jr., who started fourth, took
over at that point and withstood a last lap challenge from Tim Hershey and
Dale Hammaker to get the win in the 358 sprint feature. T. J. Stutts and
Jeremy Gardner rounded out the top five.

Back to the Archives