Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Jeff Taylor wins York Triathlon Modified race at Sharon
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 17, 2001 11:58 AM UIN: 16262997
Jeff Taylor wins York Triathlon Modified race at Sharon

Hartford, OH (June 15) - Defending York Triathlon Racing Series Modified champion Jeff Taylor from Saltsburg, PA picked up his first Series victory of the season in the Fourth Annual Coy Brothers Classic on Friday night at Sharon Speedway.

Taylor started the 40-lap main event in third starting spot before advancing to the top position, surviving six caution periods during the event. Five of the six cautions were for minor incidents, but one incident was serious. Arlan Coy from Salem, OH suffered a bad wreck on the backstretch where his car rolled and suffered very heavy damage. He emerged from the crippled mount uninjured.

Taylor's win was the eleventh of his Series career, dating back to his victory in the first-ever Series event at Challenger Raceway on August 11, 1996. He ranks second in All-Time victories, still seven behind Jim Dandy, Jr.

Finishing second in the main event was Russ Dunn from Fenelton, PA, advancing from seventh starting position. Todd Roncaglione from Linesville, PA finised third, after starting 11th. From 13th on the grid, Cambridge Springs, PA driver Jim Frontz advanced to fourth, with 12th starting Jeff Rudrick from Columbiana taking fifth. Bob McCann was sixth, with Larry Walters, Bob Diver, Paul Phillips, and Fred Bratchiecompleting the top ten. Jim Abbott finished the main event in 11th position after starting 25th, and claimed the Hendrickson Fabrication and Performance Hard Charger Award.

With 34 York Modifieds on hand, Stahl Plumbing Heat Race victories went to Scott Stiffler, Jeff Taylor, Bob McCann, Jim White, and Jeff Sharp. Jeff Johnson and Scott Jones were B-Main winners. Jeff Sharp was the winner of the Coy Brothers Trucking Dash.

Todd Roncaglione emerged from the event as the York Triathlon Series point leader, by a scant one point over Bob McCann. Bob Diver sits third in Series points, ahead of Jim Frontz and Scott Stiffler. The Coy Brothers Trucking Dash Point Standings are led by Jeff Sharp over Scott Stiffler, as Jeff Taylor and Bob McCann are tied for third. Jeff Johnson and Scott Jones are tied atop the Series B-Main point standings.

There will be no rest for the Triathlon Modified drivers, as they are right back into action on Sunday, June 17. The event will be held at Tri-City Speedway in Franklin, PA. Tri-City is located six miles north of Franklin on PA Route 417, and the track phone is 814-676-1681. For more information on the York Triathlon Series, please contact Series President Ken Wilson at 412-257-1103 days, or 724-745-3142 evenings. For the most complete source of York Triathlon Series information, visit their web site at

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
York Triathlon Series Modified Results for Saturday, June 15, at Sharon Speedway.

Stahl Plumbing Heat 1, top three qualify - 1)Scott Stiffler. 2)Bob Diver. 3)Todd Roncaglione. 4)Ron Jaeger. 5)Kari Petrosky. 6)Scott Edwards. 7)Chuck List.

Stahl Plumbing Heat 2, top three qualify - 1)Jeff Taylor. 2)Russ Dunn. 3)Jeff Rudrick. 4)Arlan Coy. 5)Jeff Johnson. 6)Brian Taft. 7)Carl McKinney.

Stahl Plumbing Heat 3, top three qualify - 1)Bob McCann. 2)Ron Roncaglione. 3)Jim Frontz. 4)Rick Robinson. 5)Fred Bratchie. 6)Mike Samuelson. 7)Mike Anderson.

Stahl Plumbing Heat 4, top three qualify - 1)Jim White. 2)Shawn Shingledecker. 3)Larry Walters. 4)Jim Mechling. 5)Jim Abbott. 6)Brian Crouch. 7)Bruce Crouch.

Stahl Plumbing Heat 5, top three qualify - 1)Jeff Sharp. 2)Bootie Petsko. 3)Paul Phillips. 4)Dave Ferringer. 5)Scott Jones. 6)Rich Jaeger.

Coy Brothers Trucking Dash - 1)Jeff Sharp, 2)Scott Stiffler, 3)Jeff Taylor, 4)Bob McCann, 5)Jim White.

B-Main 1, top four qualify - 1)Jeff Johnson. 2)Rick Robinson. 3)Carl McKinney. 4)Rich Jaeger. 5)Mike Samuelson. 6)Jim Abbott. 7)Ron Jaeger. 8)Dave Ferringer. 9)Scott Edwards. 10)Bruce Crouch.

B-Main 2, top four qualify - 1)Scott Jones. 2)Arlan Coy. 3)Fred Bratchie. 4)Kari Petrosky. 5)Brian Taft. 6)Jim Mechling. 7)Mike Anderson. 8)Brian Crouch. 9)Chuck List.

Provisional Starters, for York, Mike Samuelson and Jim Abbott, for Sharon, Ron Jaeger.

Fourth Annual Coy Brothers Classic Feature - 1)Jeff Taylor. 2)Russ Dunn.3)Todd Roncaglione. 4)Jim Frontz. 5)Jeff Rudrick. 6)Bob McCann. 7)Larry Walters. 8)Bob Diver. 9)Paul Phillips. 10)Fred Bratchie. 11)Jim Abbott. 12)Rich Jaeger. 13)Kari Petrosky. 14)Ron Jaeger. 15)Scott Stiffler. 16)Jeff Sharp. 17)Jeff Johnson. 18)Arlan Coy. 19)Rick Robinson. 20)Shawn Shingledecker. 21)Bootie Petsko. 22)Ron Roncaglione. 23)Mike Samuelson. 24)Carl McKinney. 25)Jim White. 26)Scott Jones.

Official Point Standings - 1) 329, 00, Todd Roncaglione. 2) 328, 94, Bob McCann. 3) 322, 23, Bob Diver. 4) 321, 94.3, Jim Frontz. 5) 319, 14, Scott Stiffler. 6) 315, 0K, Kari Petrosky. 7) tie 313, V2, Fred Bratchie and 55, Jeff Rudrick. 9) 309, 4A, Jim Abbott. 309, 6M, Carl McKinney.

Coy Brothers Trucking Dash Point Standings - 1) 39, 54, Jeff Sharp. 2) 36, 14, Scott Stiffler. 3) tie 24, 3, Jeff Taylor and 94, Bob McCann. 5) 22, 0K, Kari Petrosky. 6) tie 19, F7, Kenny Hall and 80, Mike Samuelson. 8) tie 17, 0, Ron Roncaglione and 119, Chad McClellan. 10) 16, 53, Jim White.

B-Main Standings - 1) tie 70, 27, Jeff Johnson and 71, Scott Jones. 3) tie 69, 34R, Rick Robinson and 56, Arlan Coy. 5) tie 68, V2, Fred Bratchie and 6M, Carl McKinney. 7) tie 67, 0K, Kari Petrosky and 22J, Rich Jaeger. 9) tie 66, 80, Mike Samuelson and 83C, Brian Taft.

* * * 2001 York Triathlon Series Schedule - Stahl Modifieds * * *

Friday, May 11 - Raceway 7, Conneaut, OH - Second Annual "Spring Fling 35" by Applebee Motorsports. Event was canceled by rain on rain date of June 1.
Saturday, June 9 - Tyler County Speedway, Middlebourne, WV - First Annual "Mountaineer Challenge." Event won by Carl McKinney.
Friday, June 15 - Sharon Speedway, Hartford, OH - Fourth Annual "Coy Brothers Classic." Event won by Jeff Taylor.
Sunday, June 17 - Tri-City Speedway, Franklin, PA.
Saturday, July 21 - Challenger Raceway, Indiana, PA - Sixth Annual "Evergreen Classic."
Sunday, August 5 - Tri-City Speedway, Franklin, PA.
Friday, August 10 - Raceway 7, Conneaut, OH - Third Annual "Buckeye Challenge," by General Aluminum.
Sunday, August 12 - Latrobe Speedway, Latrobe, PA.
Friday, August 24 - Sharon Speedway, Hartford, OH.
Friday, September 7 - Raceway 7, Conneaut, OH - "THE 100."
Sunday, September 9 - Latrobe Speedway, Latrobe, PA - Third Annual "Keystone Challenge."
Saturday, September 22 - Tri-City Speedway, Franklin, PA - Fourth Annual "Myrgo All Star 50" with Modified Madness.
Friday and Saturday, October 5 and 6 - Mercer Raceway Park, Mercer, PA - Second Annual Little Guys Nationals.
Saturday and Sunday, October 13 and 14 - Challenger Raceway, Indiana, PA - Fall Fest VII.

Back to the Archives