Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 17, 2001 10:11 AM UIN: 16262997


IMPERIAL, PA - Several new faces smiled in victory lane Saturday night at
Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. South Park's Keith Barbara and Jim
Lepro of Midway split the QPI Tools Late Model Twin 20's. For Barbara it was
his second win of the season, while Lepro's thrilling drive produced his
first career Late Model feature victory.

Former Pure Stock champions Al Atallah of Carnegie and Ralph Hysong Jr. from
Aliquippa both rolled to feature wins. Atallah's was his second of the season
in the Limited Late Models, and Hysong, after totaling his regular ride last
week, drove D.J. Miller's #16 to his first E-Mod win. Doug Foster, Kennedy
Township, drove a flawless race to pick up his first Pure Stock feature win
this year, and Stowe Township's Ian Tomei claimed his second Amateur Stock

Barbara had the field covered in the first half of the QPI Tools Late Model
twin bill. The second year Late Model "Throttle Jockey" proved his win three
weeks ago was no fluke in leading wire to wire. Doug Crawford and Rick Heim
battled for second most of the race with eighth starting Mark Banal fourth.
Crawford rode home a season's best second with Banal overtaking Heim in the
late stages of the race for third. Heim settled for fourth, and Jim Zarin was
fifth. Lepro, Ed Ferree, Dave Wade, Mike Cecere and Ben Miley completed the
top ten. Banal was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger, and Barbara, Heim and
Crawford won the heat races.

The second 20-lapper for the QPI Tools Late Models saw the top six finishers
from the first race inverted. Not wasting any time, Banal flew from fifth to
first on the very first lap. While Banal went forward, pole sitter Jim Lepro
had fallen to fourth place by lap four, with Zarin and Crawford sandwiched in
between he and Banal. Banal blasted away from the field, and led by a
straightaway at the halfway mark. Slowly Lepro began his charge back to the
front. With nine laps to go, Lepro passed Zarin, and set his sights on Banal.
As the race moved into the final laps, Banal got bottled up in traffic, and
Lepro, Barbara, Zarin and Ferree were closing in. Lepro was on Banal's tail
as they entered the third and fourth turns on the final lap. As they raced to
the checkered flag trying to lap Matt Sherlock, who was between them, Lepro
used his outside lane momentum to edge Banal by inches. Barbara finished
third, Zarin fourth, and Ferree fifth. Crawford, Wade, Miley, Brad Goff and
D.J. Miller completed the top ten. Bill Adler was the Monarch Oil Hard

It was the tale of two races in the 20 lap Limited Late Model feature. Danny
Rich dominated the first ten laps before Al Atallah jumped to the front and
left no doubt over the second half. George Kowatic, Rich, Mike Morgan and
Wayne Tessean rounded out the top five, and Pete Loria, Bob Damron, Tony
Musolino, Jon Hodgkiss and Brian Laraway were sixth through ten. Rich and
Tessean won the preliminaries. Sixth starting Atallah was the Monarch Oil
Hard Charger.

Matt Smith had upset on his mind in the E-Modifieds. The "Nuclear Banana" set
the pace for the first eight circuits with some exciting four wide racing
behind him before Hysong finally made what proved to be his winning pass.
Larry Kugel then pressured Hysong to the checker, but settled for second as
Russ Matejka, Mike Anderson and Smith also chased Hysong to the finish.
Finishing sixth was Jeff Broniszewski. Scott Gunn was seventh, and Vince
Laboon, Bobby Watt and Jeff Bametzrider rounded out the top ten. Monarch Oil
Hard Charger Kugel, and Gunn won the heats.

Doug Foster and Rich Apolito put on a show in the Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure
Stocks. Foster led the first four laps before Apolito went in front from laps
five through seven. Foster moved back into the lead on the ninth lap and held
off Apolito's challenges for the victory. Darryl Robison, Charlie DiLoreto
and Stacie White were third through fifth respectively. Six through ten were:
Neal Isiminger, Gary Smith, Joe Anthony, A.J. Poljak and Mark Jaworski.
Anthony was the Monarch Oil Hard Charger. Foster and Apolito took the heat

Ian Tomei held off the late race charge of Adam Chytil and Bobby Siemon to
win the Amateur Stock feature. John Cain was fourth and Joshua Langer fifth.

This Saturday, June 23rd, the Limited Late Models will run a 25 lap special
with the QPI Tools Late Models, E-Modifieds, Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks
and Amateur Stocks also in action. Gates open at 5pm with racing at 7pm. For
more information call (724) 853-RACE or visit our web site at


QPI Tools Late Models -
Heat Race Winners: Keith Barbara, Rick Heim, Doug Crawford
1st 20 Lap Feature: 1) Keith Barbara, South Park 2) Doug Crawford, Castle
Shannon 3) Mark Banal, St. Clairsville OH 4) Rick Heim, Pittsburgh 5) Jim
Zarin, Coraopolis 6) Jim Lepro, 7) Ed Ferree, 8) Dave Wade, 9) Mike Cecere
10) Ben Miley, 11) DJ Miller, 12) Jason Cisson, 13) Brad Goff, 14) Mark
Moats, 15) Matt Sherlock, 16) Lou Bradich, 17) Bill Adler, 18) Bobby Bertges,
19) Chuck Moury 20) Joe Campbell 21) Bob Moskey, 22) Len Dobrosielski, 23)
Gary Gellner, 24) John Flinner (DNS)

2nd 20 Lap Feature: 1) Jim Lepro, Midway 2) Mark Banal, 3) Keith Barbara, 4)
Jim Zarin, 5) Ed Ferree, 6) Doug Crawford, 7) Dave Wade, 8) Ben Miley, 9)
Brad Goff, 10) DJ Miller, 11) Bill Adler, 12) Rick Heim, 13) Lou Bradich, 14)
Jason Cisson, 15) Mike Cecere, 16) Bobby Bertges, 17) Matt Sherlock, 18)
Chuck Moury, 19) Joe Campbell, 20) Mark Moats, 21) Bob Moskey, 22) Gary
Gellner (DNS) 23) Len Dobrosielski (DNS), 24) John Flinner (DNS)

Limited Late Models
Heat Race Winners: Danny Rich, Wayne Tessean
Feature (20 Laps): 1) Al Atallah, Carnegie 2) George Kowatic, Moon Twp, 3)
Danny Rich, Imperial 4) Mike Morgan, Scott Twp. 5) Wayne Tessean, Austintown
OH 6) Pete Loria, 7) Bob Damron 8) Tony Musolino 9) Jon Hodgkiss 10) Brian
Laraway 11) Gary Cellone, 12) Tom Duratz 13) Curtis Youst 14) Louie Bradich
15) Mark Kelly 16) Jay Collins 17) Jim Rozum

Heat Race Winners: Larry Kugel, Scott Gunn
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Ralph Hysong Jr., Aliquippa 2) Larry Kugel, Calcutta OH
3) Russ Matejka, Monaca 4) Mike Anderson, Harmony 5) Matt Smith, Charleroi
6) Jeff Broniszewski 7) Scott Gunn 8) Vince Laboon 9) Bobby Watt 10) Jeff
Bametzrider 11) Kurt Halbedl 12) Andy Diamond 13) Eric Markle 14) Fred Varney

Isiminger's Pennzoil Pure Stocks
Heat Race Winners: Doug Foster, Rich Apolito
Feature (15 Laps): 1) Doug Foster, Kennedy Twp 2) Rich Apolito, Carnegie, 3)
Darryl Robison, Beaver Falls 4) Charlie DiLoreto, S. Fayette 5) Stacie White,
Heidelburg 6) Neal Isiminger 7) Gary Smith 8) Joe Anothony, 9) AJ Poljak 10)
Mark Jaworski 11) Brian Scheller 12) Craig Kamicker 13) Bob Betz 14) Mike
McKee 15) Dan Heinlan

Amateur Strictly Stocks Feature
1) Ian Tomei, Stowe Twp. 2) Adam Chytil, Carnegie 3) Bob Siemon, Castle
Shannon 4) John Cain, Pittsburgh 5) Joshua Langer, Oakdale 6) Bob
Schwartzmiller 7) Gabe Hahka 8) Skeets Levandosky 9) Butch Levandosky 10)
Aaron Fraser 11) Glen Knopp

Back to the Archives