Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Barton back on top at Raceway 7
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 16, 2001 01:20 AM UIN: 16262997
Barton back on top at Raceway 7

Conneaut, OH (June 15) - **** Barton regained his winning form by capturing the 25-lap Maloney Tool and Mold Super Late Model feature event on Friday night at Raceway 7. The Ashville, NY driver now ups his season record to four wins in five starts. The Jay's Auto Wrecking Steel Block Late Model feature win went to Niles, OH driver Jim Dandy, Jr. for his second victory of the season. Also notching his second win in the MHC Inc. E-Mods was Brent Rhebergen from Clymer, NY. It was Lakeview Ford Street Stock night, with Mike Hochschild gaining his fourth win in five outings in the the Fame Manufacturing sponsored division.

**** Barton was the last of four leaders in winning the 25-lap feature for the Maloney Tool and Mold Super Late Models. Rusty Whitmore led a pair of laps before giving way to Rick Isadore. The lone yellow flag of the race appeared on lap 4, as Dan Armbruster passed Isadore on lap 7. Sixth starting Barton moved to second on the same lap, and quickly closed in on the leader. The battle for the lead was heavy, as Barton used an inside pass through turn four to gain command on lap 14. Barton went on to take the win over Armbruster, as Rich Gardner nosed Rob Blair for third. Isadore was fifth, as Jim Dandy, Jr., Ron Davies, Whitmore, Bill Cunningham, and Brent Rhebergen completed the top ten. Heat winners for the 33 car field were Gardner, Barton, Keith Zimmerman, and Blair, with Andy Kania the Last Chance Race winner.

Jim Dandy, Jr. gained the lead on a lap 4 restart when then leader Bryan Emory lost power en route to winning the 20-lap feature for the Jay's Auto Wrecking Steel Block Late Models. Doug Eck, Bill Henry, John Buzzard, and Tim Glass rounded out the top five. Heat wins went to Dwayne Pond, Emory, and Jay Watson.

Brent Rhebergen madea late move to the lead pay off as he collected the 20-lap MHC Inc. E-Mod feature. J.B. Dandy had led e majority of the event, but Rhebergen took the lead with a pass on lap 15, before Dandy was caught in an incident. Mike Hess madea late challenge, but settled for second behind the two-time winner. Tim Henrich, Pat Otteni, and Jeff Shank filled the top five. Heat winners were John Andrew and Hess.

Mike Hochschild took the lead on lap 10 in winning the 15-lap Fame Manufacturing Street Stock feature. Hochschild advanced from 12th starting spot to assume the lead when leader Rich Howell spun from the lead. Behind the four-time winner at the finish were Brian Douglas, Tim Mann, Darren Buell, and Ted Westover. Jodi Woodworth, Douglas, and Howell were Heat winners, as Mike Boyd won the Last Chance Race.

Raceway 7 will be back in action on Friday, June 22. A four-division program of racing will be highlighted by the running of the "Triple Nickel." The Late Model winner will earn $5,000, for this event run in conjunction with McKean County Raceway in Smethport, PA. Speedo theClown will also make an appearance. The gates open at 5:30, with racing starting at 7:30. Raceway 7 is located six miles south of Interstate 90 on Ohio Route 7. For more information, please call 814-967-4230 for the office, or 440-594-2222. For the most complete source of Raceway 7 information, please visit the track's web site at

* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Upcoming events:

Friday, June 22 - Triple Nickel, $5000 to win for Super Late Models. Four-division racing plus Speedo the Clown. (Triple Nickel to be run in conjunction with Triple Nickel event and McKean County Raceway, $5000 to win, plus a $5000 purse shoot-out for the top finishers from both.
Friday, June 29 - $2000 to win Super Late Models, sponsored by Corry Laser. Four-division racing.
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Raceway 7 results for Friday, June 15, 2001.

Maloney Tool and Mold Late Models - Car Count - 33.
Heat winners - Rich Gardner, **** Barton, Keith Zimmerman, Rob Blair.
Last Chance Race winner - Andy Kania.
Feature - 1)**** Barton. 2)Dan Armbruster. 3)Rich Gardner. 4)Rob Blair. 5)Rick Isadore. 6)Jim Dandy, Jr. 7)Ron Davies. 8)Rusty Whitmore. 9)Bill Cunningham. 10)Brent Rhebergen. 11)Mickey Wright. 12)Tony Lombardi. 13)Keith Zimmerman. 14)Rick Briggs. 15)Mark Osburn. 16)Greg Fenno. 17)Frank Poniatowski. 18)Mike Wonderling. 19)Kevin Santee. 20)Dave Lyon. 21)Jeff Hoffman. 22)Chris Hackett. 23)Bruce Hordusky. 24)Andy Kania.
Did not qualify, Brad Fiesler, Lee Patrick, Brady Wonderling, Jim Mazur, Bryan Downes, Ward Schell, Bryan Durig, Dave Kister, Scott Brady.
Updated Point Standings - 1) 1070, 28B, **** Barton. 2) 915, W11, Rob Blair. 3) 895, 61, Dan Armbruster. 4) 695, 1, Rich Gardner. 5) 690, 19, Jim Dandy, Jr. 6) 670, 33, Chris Hackett. 7) 665, 14L, Dave Lyon. 8) 635, 07R, Brent Rhebergen. 635, 11R, Rusty Whitmore. 10) 565, 4, Mark Osburn.

Jay's Auto Wrecking Steel Block Late Models - Car Count - 23.
Heat winners - Dwayne Pond, Bryan Emory, Jay Watson.
Feature - 1)Jim Dandy, Jr. 2)Doug Eck. 3)Bill Henry. 4)John Buzzard. 5)Tim Glass. 6)Dave Hess, Jr. 7)Jim Davis. 8)Brian Huffman. 9)Dan McDonald. 10)Chuck Steinle, Jr. 11)Mark Ashcraft. 12)Terry Porter. 13)Andy Boozel. 14)Tom Denzinger. 15)Bryan Emory. 16)Wendell Pinckney. 17)Dwayne Pond. 18)Jay Watson. 19)Dan Tercho. Did not start, Merle Terry, Mike Stoneman, Tom Bonanno. Did not race, Dave Pierce.
Updated Point Standings - 1) 880, 03, Doug Eck. 2) 865, 95, Jay Watson. 3) 815, 44H, Dave Hess, Jr. 4) 765, 21*, Bill Henry. 5) 715, J6, Tim Glass. 6) 705, 39, Dan McDonald. 7) 700, 14E, Bryan Emory. 8) 660, 44, John Buzzard. 9) 615, 4T, Merle Terry. 10) 605, Y9, Wendell Pinckney.

MHC Inc. E-Mods - Car Count - 17.
Heat winners - John Andrew, Mike Hess.
Feature - 1)Brent Rhebergen. 2)Mike Hess. 3)Tim Henrich. 4)Pat Otteni. 5)Jeff Shank. 6)J.B. Dandy. 7)Bill Taylor. 8)Jim Fry. 9)Robert Bland. 10)Dale Applebee. 11)Kevin Decker. 12)Jim Long. 13)Tony Hyde. 14)John Andrew. 15)Mike Potosky. 16)Bill Watson. Did not start, Hugo Litwiler.
Updated Point Standings - 1) 730, 69, Brent Rhebergen. 2) 715, 94.3, Jim Frontz. 3) 710, 0, Ron Roncaglione. 4) tie 695, 00, Todd Roncaglione and 2*, Bill Watson. 6) 680, 44, Mike Hess. 7) 555, 4, Jeff Shank. 8) 535, 11A, Dale Applebee. 9) 510, 6, Hugo Litwiler. 10) 505, 72, John Andrew. Note, this was a non-point event.

Fame Manufacturing Street Stocks - Car Count - 30.
Heat winners - Jodi Woodworth, Brian Douglas, Rich Howell.
Last Chance Race winner - Mike Boyd.
Feature - 1)Mike Hochschild. 2)Brian Douglas. 3)Tim Mann. 4)Darren Buell. 5)Ted Westover. 6)Pat Gorton. 7)Mike Boyd. 8)Jim McFadden. 9)Chuck Sullivan. 10)Chip Davis. 11)Jim Van Cise. 12)Lynn Preston. 13)Justin Kreider. 14)Jeremy Stafford. 15)Rich Howell. 16)John Hobbs, Sr. 17)Jodi Woodworth. 18)Darrell Bossard. 19)Russell Cressley. 20)Ryan Blood. 21)Mike Horton. 22)Eugene Stetson.
Did not qualify, Paul Pittsenbarger, Mike Andrew, Barb Bellinger, Kevin White, Brian Watson, Jake Fenton, Bruce Burlingame, Karen Shank.
Updated Point Standings - 1) 1040, 88, Mike Hochschild. 2) 890, 2*, Brian Douglas. 3) 785, 27B, Darren Buell. 4) 775, 22B, Darrell Bossard. 5) 735, 10, Chuck Sullivan. 6) 725, 12G, Pat Gorton. 7) 700, 27, John Hobbs, Sr. 8) 665, 63, Tim Mann. 9) 640, 95, Ted Westover. 10) tie 610, 1C, Chip Davis, and 96, Jim McFadden.

Media note: A full result story will be sent on Saturday morning.

Back to the Archives