Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 10, 2001 11:22 PM UIN: 16262997

CLEARFIELD, PA - Bernie Whetstone of Irvona ended a 32 year dry spell at by
taking the Northwest Bae Kennel Pure Stock Feature Saturday night at Hidden
Valley Speedway. Jim Yoder of Selinsgrove won the twice postponed $2000 to
win Sids Subs Late Model Memorial Day feature, while Chris Henry of
Clearfield won his first career Kneppy's Fireworks Small Block Modified
feature and Chris Peterson of Clearfield won his second four cylinder
feature. Dan Smeal of Ramey was the lone repeat winner in the 84 Lumber
Street Stocks.
The late model main saw a multi-car pile-up at the start halt the action for
about 20 minutes. Kevin Zimmerman was checked over in the ambulance but
refused transport to the hospital.
The restart saw Bobby Stokes lead the way with heavy pressure from Luke
Hoffner. Hoffner's persistence paid off and on lap 11 Hoffner moved into the
lead, and pulled Jim Yoder along for the ride. Yoder tried high and low on
Hoffner before finally prevailing on lap 19. Once in front, Yoder simply
kept first Hoffner at bay and then Duane Stiner, who pressured Yoder but ran
out of time at the finish. The top five were Yoder, Stiner, Robbie Blair and
Hoffner. Preliminary wins went to: Bobby Stokes, Luke Hoffner and Duane
Stiner. Glenn Ray won the Dash for Cash, sponsored by West Side Distributing
and Sids Subs.
The modified feature was cut to only twelve laps after the 45 minute time
limit expired. Chris Henry led the feature from to green, taking the lead
from fellow front row starter Randy Chronister. Henry held off Chronister
first and then a very persistent Mike Butterworth. Butterworth tried several
times to make his way to the winners circle at the Valley, but he kept
coming up short as Henry went on to earn his first career modified win. The
top five were: Henry, Butterworth, Chronister, Spencer Husted and Faye
Lumadue. Heat wins went to Henry and Chronister.
Pat Carflew led the street stock feature to the green flag beating Kip
Charles into the first turn. He set the early pace with Dan Smeal coming
from third to make his move on the out side by the halfway point and take
the lead. Smeal went on to collect his second win of 2001 as Carfley simply
could not muster up the extra speed to get his first win. The top five were
Smeal, Carfley, Craig Lobb, Doug Tibbens and Todd Mathews. Pat Carfley and
Doug Tibbens split the heats.
The four cylinder feature saw the front row filled with Chris'. It was Chris
Peterson who would lead Chris Farrell into the first turn. Peterson set the
pace with Farrell, and Cecilia Olson closing in and keeping the pressure on,
then Joe Leigey got into the act and tried to make a bid for the lead, but
he too came up on the short end as Peterson went to victory lane for the
second time in his career. Farrell, Olson, Leigey and Derek Rodkey completed
the top five. Dave Farrell and Joe Leigey topped the heats.
Bernie Whetstone and Rick Hemphill led the pure stock feature to the start
with Whetstone taking the lead and setting the pace. Gary Little followed
Whetstone into the first turn. Little pressured Whetstone for much of the
race, but he got tangled up with lapped traffic on the 12th lap and ended
his night. This put Frank Little in second and he began to put pressure on
Whetstone for the remaining three laps, but he too came up a tad short, as
Whetstone went on to win for the first time in 32 years. Frank Little was
second ahead of Lester Hudson Jr., Gary McElheny and Sheddy Graham III. The
Littles, Frank and Gary, won the heats.
HVS PIT NOTES: 84 teams filled the pits, including 20 late models, 17 small
block modifieds, 15 street stocks, 12 four cylinders and 20 pure
stocks.Kneppy's Fireworks of Winburn presented a beautiful fireworks display
during the evening.This week is the Allen Butler Memorial for Small Block
Modifieds. It is also Fathers day, and any dads who bring a child to the
races with them will get $2 off regular, general admission. On the schedule
with the modifieds is a regular show for the late models, street stocks,
four cylinders and pure stocks, race time is 7 p.m. gates will open at
5.Coming up on June 23 is Dale Earnhardt Night. There will be lots of Dale
Earnhardt door prizes given away.Coming up on June 24 is the only enduro of
the season, it will be a front-wheel driver, four cylinder endurance race.
Copies of the rules are available on the web site at We hope to see you at the speedway that really is
hidden.Hidden Valley!


SID'S SUBS LATE MODEL'S: 1. Jim Yoder, Selinsgrove; 2. Duane Stiner,
Houtzdale; 3. Robbie Blair, Hydetown; 4. Luke Hoffner, Turbotville; 5.
George Fultz, Beech Creek; 6. Bobby Stokes, Milton; 7. Jerry Timchak,
Houtzdale; 8. Glenn Ray, Tyrone; 9. Jeff Braim, Turbotville; 10. Dean
Colbert III, Port Matilda; 11. Eric Moore, Frenchville; 12. Keith Crossley,
Bloomsburg; 13. Rod Chappel, Danville; 14. Marc Whetstone, Irvona; 15. Bill
Eash, Johnstown; 16. Kevin Zimmerman, Reynoldsville; 17. John Brady,
Clearfield; 18. Loren Sallack, Johnsonburg; 19. Ed Brady, Clearfield; DNS.
Cody Schultz, Hyde

Butterworth, Osceola Mills; 3. Randy Chronister, Slippery Rock; 4. Spencer
Husted, West Decatur; 5. Faye Lumadue, Spring Valley; 6. Marvin Williams,
Tyrone; 7. Fred Heiss, State College; 8. Tom Holden, Sheffeld; 9. Craig
Casher, Mineral Springs; 10. Bob Garvey, Allport

84 LUMBER STREET STOCKS: 1. Dan Smeal, Ramey; 2. Pat Carfley, Curwensville;
3. Craig Lobb, Houtzdale; 4. Doug Tibbens, Curwensville; 5. Todd Mathews,
Sanborn; 6. Aaron Casher, Mineral Springs; 7. Tom Williams, Tyrone; 8. Kip
Charles, Clearfield; 9. Ray Billott, Mineral Springs; 10. Frank McVay,

FOUR CYLINDERS: 1. Chris Peterson, Clearfield; 2. Chris Farrell, Clearfield;
3. Cecilia Olsen, Clearfield; 4. Joe Leigey, Mt. Zion; 5. Derek Rodkey,
Osceola Mills; 6. Dave Unch, Curwensville; 7. Randy Luzier, Clearfield; 8.
Don Henry, Luthersburg; 9. Mark Hummel, West Decatur; 10. Shawn Luzier,

NORTHWEST BAE KENNELS PURE STOCKS: 1. Bernie Whetstone, Irvona; 2. Frank
Little, Woodland; 3. Lester Hudson, Clearfield; 4. Gary McElheny, Blandburg;
5. Sheddy Graham III, Clearfield; 6. Jason Bainey, Philipsburg; 7. Bob
Bowery, Clearfield; 8. Chris Finigan, Munson; 9. Don Geer Jr., Clearfield;
10. Craig Bainey, Philipsburg

Send a cool gift with your E-Card

Back to the Archives