Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Duck River Speedway results from Saturday Night, June 9
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 10, 2001 08:37 PM UIN: 16262997
Duck River Speedway results from Saturday Night, June 9

The return of the Late Models to Duck River Speedway saw the return of
some familiar face to the front of the pack and some new names mixed in
with the fan favorites.
Two local legends combined to set quick time as David Gentry wheeled
Jimmy Nowlin's famous #28 to quick time during qualifications with a lap
of 14.304. But when the green flag was unfurled for the start of the 30
lap main event it was Jay Brinkley in Ricky Tucker's #01 that jumped on
top and though he had plenty of company, no one appeared to seriously
challenge the Shelbyville veteran for the win. Gentry stayed on Jay's
bumper but could never get close enough to get alongside and challenge.
Behind the lead duo several drivers were on the move. Chris Tays of
Corinth, Mississippi worked his way past several racers and was going
for fifth when Chris spun and was never a factor after that. Henry
Hanger fell back at the start but it seemed as the race wore on, Henry
got quicker and began to move. Hanger picked up three spots in the final
dozen laps or so and appeared as quick as the lead duo at the features
conclusion. Hanger finished third just in front of Murfreesboro's Allen
Carter who always seems to rise to the occasion, regardless of the
competition. Two time track champion, David Thompson rounded out the Top
5 while Shannon Davis and memorial day feature winner Shane Clanton came
from the back to take the sixth and seventh spots. David Seibers, Rick
Curren and 2-barrel Late Model Points leader Josh Lunsford rounded out
the Top 10.
Late Models
1) Jay Brinkley
2) David Gentry
3) Henry Hanger
4) Allen Carter
5) David Thompson
6) Shannon Davis
7) Shane Clanton
8) David Seibers
9) Rick Curren
10) Josh Lunsford
11) Chris Tays
12) Bo Judge
13) Dean Travis
14) David Sells
15) Tony Morris
16) Jason Gregg
The Open Wheel feature was a great show with Mark Haddon out dueling
pole sitter Bob Jarrett for the lead early then withstood the challenges
of first Shannon Davis, Chad Bone and Tommy Davis and finally David
Gentry. Gentry would garner his second runner-up finish of the evening
while teammate Tommy Davis was third for the second week in a row. Bone
was fourth just in front of defending track champion Randy Zeigler.
Jarrett and Haddon were the heat winners.
Open Wheel
1) Mark Haddon
2) David Gentry
3) Tommy Davis
4) Chad Bone
5) Randy Zeigler
6) Mark Barnes
7) Mike Grissom
8) Bob Jarrett
9) Ken Martin
10) Josh Dement
The Super Stock feature was a barnburner, demolition derby, well in any
case it was a fan thriller. With twenty one racers taking the green flag
only three would finish without any major problems and even then the Top
2 would be key players in on track altercations. Mike Johnson was the
victor after he and Jaybird Marlin were involved in an early
altercation. Remember Tony Stewart driving into Jeff Gordon after the
checkered flag at Bristol this year? Enough said! Anyway Marlin will
take a short respite for his part in the slugfest. Poor choice of words?
I think not. Though this observer was not in the pits, track security
said that a free for all ensued in the pit area that led to several crew
members and at least one driver being asked to hit the showers early, so
to speak! Runner-up Rudder Harper made his return know as the exciting
Harper won his heat then led early in the feature before going to the
rear for his part in Jay George's spin then charged back through the
field in a fashion that has made Rudder a fan favorite over the years.
Butch Pruitt was third with John Fletcher and Larry Landers rounding out
the Top 5. Chad Williams won the other heat race.
Super Stock
1) Mike Johnson
2) Rudder Harper
3) Butch Pruitt
4) John Fletcher
5) Larry Landers
6) Jay George
7) Torre Gaye
8) Jarrod Waid
9) Chris Prosser
10) Chad Williams
With ten victory's and twenty Top 5 finishes between them, you would
expect Johnny Crowell and Steve Kennedy to be up front and your
expectations would not go unrewarded as these two finished a tight one -
two in the Outlaw Pony feature with Jeff Roberson, Tom Russell and Jimmy
Dale taking the three through five spots. Keith Layne and Crowell were
the heat winners.
Outlaw Pony
1) Johnny Crowell
2) Steve Kennedy
3) Jeff Roberson
4) Tom Russell
5) Jimmy Dale
6) Blake Carter
7) Jason Coggins
8) Tommy Taylor
9) Tammy Johnson
10) Bo Owens
Veteran David Wallace won his heat race then led most of the main event
before Anthony Seibers got by with six laps remaining for the win.
Wallace pushed Seibers hard but had to settle for second place in front
of eight (!) time feature winner Michael Chumbley settling for third.
Stanley James won his heat race.
Pure Pony
1) Anthony Seibers
2) David Wallace
3) Michael Chumbley
4) Jimmy Calahan
5) Andy Rogers
6) Dudley Rogers
7) Don Lester
8) Jason James
9) Bobby Richardson
10) Gary Reid
In Rookie Pony action, Chance Rogers won his second main event over
Dean Rader and Bobby Jones. Charles Brewer and Jones were the heat race

Rookie Pony
1) Chance Rogers
2) Dean Rader
3) Bobby Jones

Racing continues each Saturday evening at 6:00 PM with the Late Models
paying $1,000 to win each week and the 2-barrel Late Models(formerly
"Claimers") returning to action next weekend.

Back to the Archives