Visit The Dirt Forum for More Information

Author Topic:   Two first time winners at Butler Motor Speedway
Dirt Administrator

Total posts: 3279
posted June 10, 2001 08:31 PM UIN: 16262997
Quincy Mich (June 9, 2001) - After two weeks of rain in the area mother nature finally gave us a great day for racing at Butler Motor Speedway. The full grandstands were treated to a great night of racing with overflowing pit with 37 Sprints, 42 Late Models and 43 Street Stocks. Two drivers captured their first ever features with Coldwater Michigan's Gerry Hart taking his first feature after 21 years of racing in the Sprint Cars. Muskegon Michigan driver Dennis Lynn Jr also captured his first ever feature in the Late Models and 14 year old Jackson Michigan driver Rusty Schlenk took home his third feature in a row.

Hart started on the outside front row beside Mark Rix and jumped out to the early lead but was challenged several times by Mike Schumaker and Todd Wohlford but was able to hold on to take the feature win. Hart took the win over Schumaker, Wohlford, Greg Wheeler, Rix, Mark Aldrich, Jeff Rankin, Steve Zabonick, Jason Blonde and new high school graduate Boston Reid.

Heat wins went to Schumaker, Wohlford, Hart & Rix. B Mains were won by Reid & Ken Mackey.

In Late Model action Rich Delong started on the pole position with Rick Green on the outside. Delong took the early lead and led until lap five when Terry Wilber took over the top spot. On lap 16 Lynn took over the lead and held on for the feature win over Terry Sroufe who started 20th, Terry Wilber, George Lindsey, Tim Wilber, Toby Lepper, Mike Rogers, Brennan Bowen, Bentley Shaw and Jackie Taylor rounded out the top 10.

Heat races were won by Rogers, Tim Wilber, Taylor & Lynn. B Mains went to Mark Dowdy & Lindsey.

The Street Stocks took to the high banks of the Butler Motor Speedway for their 20 lap feature with Schlenk taking the early point until lap 12 when new high school graduate Eric Wilson passed in lapped traffic as Schlenk slid high in turn four for the lead. Wilson's night would end with mechanical problems giving the point again to Schlenk who went on to take the feature over Paul TenBrink, Ken Lynn, Justin VanWyck, Jeff Wadsworth, Mike Lynn, Don Kittle, Grady Jarrell, Don Zakizewdki and Donivan Mathe rounded out the top 10.

Heat wins went to Ken Lynn, Wilson, Joel Sherman, Jarrell & VanWyck. B Mains went to Sherman & Mathe.

Next Saturday night features another big three in one show with the Sprints, Late Models and Street Stocks. For more information visit us on the web at

Back to the Archives